Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Image Databases


Databases including images by subject grouping: Health & Medicine    |   Humanities & Social Sciences   | Sciences & Technology

Image Databases for Medicine & Health  
anatomy.tv
An interactive 3-D model of human anatomy.
Full functionality requires Windows Media player, QuickTime player or RealPlayer, and pop-up windows to be enabled in your browser. For more information, open Anatomy.tv and click FAQs
"Bad Request (Invalid Verb)" error message workaround:
Edit the URL in the address bar of your browser. Change http://www.anatomy.tv.ezproxy2.library.usyd.edu.au to http://www.anatomy.tv.ezproxy1.library.usyd.edu.au, or vice versa, then press Enter on your keyboard.


Terms & conditions

SpringerImages SpringerImages is a collection of scientific images that spans the social sciences and humanities, scientific, technical and medical fields. It includes high-quality clinical images, photos, graphs, histograms, figures, and tables. Jump from the image to the source article if the Library has access to the journal. Users can create personalized image "sets," and can easily export images for use in their own presentations or lectures. Terms & conditions

User Guide
images.MD
February 2010: Now part of the Medical & Life Science Collection in SpringerImages. If you have image sets saved in Images.MD, click through for information on how to have them emailed to you.
Terms & conditions

User guide
Image Databases for Humanities & Social Sciences  
Adam Matthews historical databases:
Adam Matthews databases contain original materials for historical research,including many images ranging from paintings, drawings, posters, maps, postcards and photographs:

Search all our Adam Matthews databases

Empire Online. Full text primary sources and images on the art, culture, literature, racism, religion and imperialism of empire from 1492 - 2007. The creators have endeavoured to find sources from all continents.

The Grand Tour . A collection of manuscript, visual and printed works - letters, diaries, printed guidebooks; published travel writing; paintings and sketches; architectural drawings, and maps for the study of travel and architecture, c1550-1850

Medieval Travel Writing The full-text and images of European travel writing manuscripts from the later medieval period, with a focus on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia.

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007

Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History. Brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Includes manuscripts, diaries and correspondence, drawings, guidebooks,postcards and photographs.

Victorian Popular Culture: Sensation, Spiritualism and Magic & Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks

Virginia Company Archives
A key source for the study of the Atlantic World and Early Colonial Period, & London's economic history in the Early Modern era. It documents: the founding and economic development of Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624; the role of the Ferrar family in the settlement of North America from Jamestown to the Bermudas; trade between Britain and America; the ethnic and gender composition of early Virginia; tensions amongst the colonists; and early relations with Native Americas.
Terms & conditions
Apabi Chinese Fine Arts Museum: Red Revolution and Excavated Fine Works Museum
Red Revolution database contains 10272 revolutionary art images in China. It includes paintings, posters, drawings, paper cuts, etc.
Excavated Fine Works Museum contains 8454 images of Chinese cultural relics.
Silverlight may require viewing details or full screen images, but it is not essential.
For further information, please contact East Asian Collection staff on level 7, Fisher Library.
 
ARTstor
Search for hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data. The images are drawn from sources such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.
Click Search and browse for images to open.
Check ArtSTOR Technical Requirements if you have problems running ArtSTOR.
Terms & conditions
Design and Applied Arts Index
Search results in DAAI include links to ARTstor images.
A comprehensive index to approximately 400 current design and design related journals. Subjects covered include industrial design, architecture, interior design, computer aided design, glass, jewellery, metal design, graphic design, typography, ergonomics, theatre design, photography, design management and design theory.
Terms & conditions
Grove Art Online Oxford Art Online
Useful for quick information on artists, art movements and the visual arts in general. Also includes links to images in external web sites.
Terms & conditions

Oxford Reference Online: Premium plus Western Civilization Collection
Includes world maps, and a visual english dictionary.
Terms & conditions
Image databases for Sciences & Technology  
AccessScience
AccessScience provides a fully searchable collection of science reference materials online. Access to all the articles and full illustrations from the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology are included, along with research updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest science news headlines, biographies, and more.
Terms & conditions
ARTstor
Search for hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data. The images are drawn from sources such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers. Good for architectural images.
Click Search and browse for images to open.
Check ArtSTOR Technical Requirements if you have problems running ArtSTOR.
Terms & conditions
JSTOR Plant Science
This provides access to foundational content vital to plant science – plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, full-text scientific literature, and related materials - botanical drawings, photographs, paintings, correspondence, books, and manuscripts. it aims to be a comprehensive online research tool for aggregating and exploring the world’s botanical resources. It is useful for those researching, teaching or studying botany, biology, ecology, environmental and conservation studies.
Terms & conditions
SpringerImages SpringerImages is a collection of scientific images that spans the social sciences and humanities, scientific, technical and medical fields. It includes high-quality clinical images, photos, graphs, histograms, figures, and tables. Jump from the image to the source article if the Library has access to the journal. Users can create personalized image "sets," and can easily export images for use in their own presentations or lectures. Terms & conditions

User Guide

Back to top