Indian Sub-Continental Studies Databases

Buddhist Studies Databases

Key databases for Indian Sub-Continental Studies  
BAS : Bibliography of Asian Studies
References to articles, books and reviews, published internationally from 1971 to the present. It is especially relevant for the humanities and social sciences.
Terms & conditions
LLBA : Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts via Proquest
References to journal articles, chapters and reviews on language including Indonesian.
Terms & conditions

MLA : Modern Languages Association International Bibliography via Ebsco (1926 - present)
Contains bibliographic references to scholarly works, literature, linguistics and folklore in English, French, German, Italian and other languages on the topics of literature, literary theory and criticism, genres, linguistics and folklore.
Terms & conditions
Cologne Digital Sanskrit Dictionaries
A freely available website that provides access to some of the Sanskrit lexicons prepared by the Institute of Indology and Tamil Studies, Cologne University.
 
Digital South Asia Library
A freely available website that provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia. It includes Digital Dictionaries of South Asia, images, maps, statistics, catalogues and indexes.
 
More databases useful for Indian Sub-Continental Studies (A - Z)  
Dissertation & Theses Full Text
Major source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full text is available from 1997 to the present.

Note: It contains very large files; may be slow to download off-campus.

Terms & conditions

Help
Expanded Academic Index ASAP
Full text and abstracts to over 1500 multidisciplinary journals.

Alternative link (Use for first-time access off campus)

Terms & conditions
Factiva
Full text newspaper articles and pictures from over 8,000 international newspaper and newswire publications.
For Australian news sources, the Fairfax publications archive includes The Sydney Morning Herald 1986+, Australian Financial Review 1987+, BRW 1989+, and the News Limited archive includes The Australian 1996+.
Note: Click Logout when finished.
15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage.
User Guide

Quick Search Tips

Browser Help
Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine.
Google Scholar settings
 
JSTOR
Full text of major Classics and Ancient History journals. Does not include the current five years of issues.
Terms & conditions
Project Muse
Full text of peer-reviewed humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
Terms & conditions
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Web of Science
Contains the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Useful for subject and citation searching for any discipline.
Terms & conditions

Tutorial
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts : WPSA via Proquest (1975-present)
References to articles, books and reviews on political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for Buddhist Studies (A - Z)  
ATLA Religion Database via EbscoHost (1949 - present)
References to journal articles, books and reviews on religion, biblical studies and related fields, particularly in the West.
Terms & conditions
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full text of academic encyclopedias. It includes the Encyclopedia of Buddhism and the Encyclopedia of Religion and the .
Terms & conditions
Religious Periodicals via ProQuest
Full text of articles from academic and popular journals on religion.
Terms & conditions
Philosopher’s Index via WebSpirs (1940 - present)
References to journal articles, books and reviews on philosophy and related disciplines.
 

Back to top