Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Information Technologies Databases



For a subject overview: Information Technologies Guide

Key databases for Information Technologies  
ACM Digital Library : Association for Computer Machinery(1985 - present)
Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in Association for Computer Machinery periodicals and proceedings.
Terms & conditions
IEEE Xplore
Full text access to IEEE and IEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus selected content back to 1950 and all current IEEE standards.
User Guide (pdf)
Lecture Notes in Computer Science
A medium for the publication of new developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching.
 
Proquest Computing
Computing journals in full text for research on subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets, the internet, technology management.
Password access and other problems

Proquest user guide (pdf)
Safari Tech Books
A collection of online computing and technical books for programmers and IT professionals.
User Guide

Terms & conditions
School of Information Technologies Technical Reports
Research results in journals and conferences, and as SIT Technical Reports. Australian content

Scopus
Internet Explorer 11 not supported, use alternative browser
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Terms & conditions

Interactive Tutorials
Synthesis Digital library of Engineering and Computer Science
The Synthesis Digital library of Engineering and Computer Science is composed of electronic lectures authored by an expert in the fields of Engineering and Computing science.
Terms & conditions
Web of Science Core Collections (1945 - present)
If using Internet Explorer, ensure that Compatibility View is disabled.

Includes Science Citation Index 1945 - present, Arts and Humanities Citation Index 1956 - present and Social Sciences Citation Index 1975 onwards.

The unique feature is the ability to search by cited author, finding articles that refer to the work of that person.
Terms &Conditions

Web of Science Tutorial

Citation Searching Tutorial
More databases useful for Information Technologies (A - Z)  
CIA : Computing Index Australia via Informit Online (1994 - 2001)
Subject coverage includes articles on popular computing, software, hardware, communications and computer applications. CIA ceased to be updated in July 2001 but will remain on available as an archived database. Australian content
Terms & conditions (pdf)

Helpsheet
Compendex via Engineering Village (1884 - present)
Comprehensive database of engineering research literature, containing engineering journals and conferences. Subject coverage: all engineering disciplines, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communication.
Terms & conditions

Search Tips

User Guide (pdf)
Current Contents Connect via ISI Web of Science
Subject coverage includes agriculture, biology and environmental science, arts and humanities, clinical medicine, engineering, technology and applied sciences, life sciences, physical, chemical and earth sciences, social and behavioural sciences.
Terms &Conditions

Quick Reference (pdf)
Factiva
Current affairs and company information.
For Australian news sources, the Fairfax publications archive includes The Sydney Morning Herald 1986+, Australian Financial Review 1987+, BRW 1989+, and the News Limited archive includes The Australian 1996+.
15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage.
 
Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine. Also useful for links to references which cite other academic articles. Using this link via the library website means you can get the full-text of articles in journals to which the library subscribes. Use Scholar Preferences to enable the export of references from Google Scholar to EndNote.
Google Scholar settings
 
MathSciNet
Includes bibliographic references with signed reviews or abstracts of journal articles, books, conference proceedings and symposium papers.
Terms & Conditions

Helpsheet
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
ScienceDirect
Subject coverage includes materials science, engineering &technology, environmental science, business &management science, physics, biochemistry.
Terms &Conditions
Westlaw International
Westlaw on-campus
Full text legislation, caselaw, journal articles and news from the U.S., but including Europe, U.K and Australasia.
Printing problems?
Zentralblatt MATHdatabase
Bibliographic references drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, technical reports and pre-prints. Covers the entire spectrum of mathematics, statistics and the information sciences with special emphasis on areas of application.
Help

Back to top