Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

International Business Databases (including Entrepreneurship)



Return to
International Business Guide
Entrepreneurship Guide

Key databases for International Business  
Business Source Premier via Ebsco (1922 to present)
Aggregation of business &economics journals, indexes and abstracts. Includes many full text scholarly journals. Provides company profiles for the world's 5,000 largest companies.
 
ABI Inform via Proquest (1971 - present) One of the larger databases covering business, marketing, industry, management, organisational behaviour
Terms &conditions
Informit Online
Informit Online Contains over 80 Australian databases of scholarly research, covering a wide range of subjects that includes coverage of Business and Management. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Proquest Central (1923 to present)
Multidisciplinary database ,indexes and abstracts over 10,000 publications, full-text coverage beginning as early as 1986. This is a combination of Proquest's selected databases including ABI/INFORM, ProQuest Asian Business &ProQuest European Business.
Terms &conditions
GMID : Global Market Information Database via Euromonitor
Log-in required on-campus
Tip - if search times out, try drilling down using subject headings to select topics & countries
International coverage of key business intelligence on countries and markets. It provides users with historical statistics and forecasts, analysis of consumers' lifestyles, company profiles and information sources, plus full-text market analysis.
Helpsheet
Asia-Studies Full-text currently unavailable
Reports containing statistics, research, analysis, and forecasts many include tables, charts, and/or graphs in the Asia-Pacific region. You can browse by country to find country-specific annual statistical overviews. Multi-country and Asia-wide comparisons are also available.
Helpsheet
Emerald Full Text (1994 - present)
Full text peer-reviewed journal articles covering business, management &marketing.
Terms & conditions
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Contains Science Citation Index Expanded 1945 - present, Social Sciences Citation Index 1956 - present, and Arts &Humanities Citation Index from 1975. Also allows cited reference searching to track a paper's influence.
Terms &conditions

Helpsheet
Expanded Academic ASAP via Infotrac (1980 to present)
Contains an index and abstracts to over 1500 journals including the full-text of 520 journals indexed. Topics covered include economics &business related issues.
Terms &conditions
JSTOR(Dates vary - many from the 1800s)
Access to the full text of journals from a wide range of disciplines including economics &business.
Terms & conditions
ECONLIT via Proquest (1922 to present)
Bibliographic references and abstracts to articles in journals, books, higher degree theses, articles from collective volumes (eg conference proceedings, research papers), book reviews and economic working papers.
Terms &conditions
ScienceDirect via Elsevier
A database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences including economics &business.
Terms & conditions
Factiva
Factiva provides Australian and international news, commentary, pictures in addition to company information and share price data. The database contains more than 8,000 overseas and Australian newspaper and newswire publications. For Australian news sources, the Fairfax publications archive is 13-22 years [SMH 1986+] and the News Limited archive is 8 years [Australian 1996+].
15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage. Important: Click Logout when finished.

Access to the Australian Financial Review and BRW
Helpsheet - (Company Search Tips)
Google Scholar
Free to all, but much of the material it finds is not freely available without a subscription. By using this link to Google Scholar, you can get the full-text of articles in journals to which the Library subscribes.
 
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for International Business &Entrepreneurship (A-Z)  
Annual Reports Online via Aspect Huntley (1995 - present)
Annual reports dating back to 1995 for all ASX listed/de-listed companies. All ASX-lodged announcements from October 1998, including prospectuses. Australian content
 
Connect 4
Australian listed company information. (USYD subscriptions indicated with a red star).
Includes Annual Reports 2003 - present, Boardroom (senior salary packages), Company Prospectuses 1994- present, Mergers &Acquisitions, New Issues, &Takeovers 1997 - present. Australian content
 
50 lessons
Please remember to LOGOUT
Videos of renowned business leaders and scholars discussing their real-life experiences and the most important lessons they have learned, on issues such as corporate responsibility, leadership, innovation, sales, and change management.
 
FinAnalysis via AspectHuntley (12 year history)
Detailed financial information for all companies listed on the ASX More than 400 data items are provided.
Includes Company Announcements, Charts &Prices, Peer Analysis, Annual &Interim Financials. Financial information is also available for delisted companies. Australian content
Helpsheet
Hoovers Company Records
Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.
Terms & conditions
IFS : International Financial Statistics now IMF eLibrary Data (1945 - present)
Time series database produced by the International Monetary Fund. It provides statistics for a wide range of economics and financial indicators. Data covered includes - national accounts, balance of payments, interest rates, government finance, exchange rates &commodity prices. (Australian and global information). Access to International Financial Statistics package only
Terms & conditions

User guides
Kompass
Global access to information on: 1.8 million companies, 750,000 trade &brand names, 3.6 million executive names. In Australia contains: 32,685 companies, 56,041 executive names.

Terms & conditions
Medline via OvidSP
Biomedicine (both human and veterinary) database. Includes information related to business and entrepreneurship in these areas.
Terms & conditions
OECD iLibrary
Comprises full text access to book collections, journal articles, reference titles and statistical databases in School of Business
Terms & Conditions

OECD iLibrary Getting Started [pdf]
PsycInfo via OvidSP (1806-present)
Psychology database. Includes information related to business and entrepreneurship.
Terms & conditions
World News Connection
Information compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources.
Terms & conditions

Back to top