Japanese Studies Databases (in English language)

Ask A Librarian

Go to Japanese Studies Subject Guide

See also Japanese Language Databases

Key English language databases for Japanese Studies  
BAS : Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971-present)
Indexes to articles on Asia. Subjects include Asian anthropology and sociology, arts, biography, economics, education, history, literature, philosophy and religion, politics and government, science and technology.
Note: No full-text
Terms & conditions
Encyclopedia of Japan (Kodansha)
Encyclopedia of Japan (Kodansha) is based on Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia, published in 1993. It covers a treasury of Japanese art, culture, history and society, as well as data on Japanese politics, government and economics. In addition to portraits, photographs, illustrations and prefectural maps, internet links are provided
 
ProQuest 5000
A major full-text database covering humanities, social sciences, education, health and medical, science and technology and business and management.
Terms & conditions

Quickstart guide
Expanded Academic ASAP via Thomson Gale
Contains indexes,abstracts and some full-text of journal articles. Topics covered include humanities, communication studies, social science, science and technology, women's studies, sociology, environment and public affairs.
Terms & conditions
Project Muse
Provides access to over 300 peer-reviewed humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Terms & conditions
JSTOR
Full-text of a wide range of journals, including major Asian Studies titles. Does not include the current five years of issues.
Terms & conditions
More English language databases useful for Japanese Studies (A - Z)  
ABI Inform via ProQuest
Bibliographic references and abstracts, with partial text provision, to journal articles covering business, industry and management. Journals indexed include Asiaweek, Asian Affairs, Asian Folklore Studies, Asian Philosophy, Asian Survey, Far Eastern Economic Review, Film Review, Japan Echo, Japan Quarterly.)
Terms & conditions
APA-FT: Australian Public Affairs Full Text (1978-present)
Contains APAIS: Australian Public Affairs Information Service, which indexes articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities. It also includes full-text articles 1994/1995 -, from the top 200 journals indexed. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
Asia-Studies Full-text Online
Thousands of full-text reports covering 53 countries. Subject coverage include finance, trade, environment, human resources development, best practices in government, fisheries, tourism, education and women's studies.
Search help
Current Contents Connect via ISI Web of Knowledge
Provides access to the table of contents of journals together with complete bibliographic information about each article.
Note: No full-text
Terms & conditions
Dissertation and Theses Full Text via ProQuest (full-text 1997-present)
An authoritative source for doctoral dissertations and master's theses, particularly North American theses.

Note: Very large files; may be slow to download off-campus.
Terms & conditions

Helpsheet

Factiva.com
Factiva provides news, commentary, pictures, company information and stock quotes. It contains more than 8,000 overseas and Australian newspaper and newswire publications.
Japanese characters can be used to search Japanese language newspapers.

Important: Click Logout when finished.

Access to Australia Financial Review & BRW
 
Informit Online
Contains more than 84 Australian databases inlcuding some Asian resources.
Some full-text articles available. Australian content
 
Historical Abstracts
Covers world history (1450 to the present), excluding America.
 
MLA: Modern Languages Association International Bibliography via Ebsco
Bibiographic references to scholarly works, literature, linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism in Japanese, English and other languages.
Terms & conditions
PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service via CSA
Bibliographic index to journal articles, government documents, reports, books, yearbooks on contemporary social, economic and political issues, social sciences, business and public policy. International geographic coverage. Some full-text articles available.
Terms & conditions
Scopus
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Terms & conditions
Sociofile/Sociological Abstracts via CSA
Bibliographic references and abstracts to literature of sociology and the related social sciences. Source material from over 30 languages. Some full-text articles available.
Terms & conditions
Web of Science via Thomson
Contains Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975., Science Citation Index Expanded 1945- and Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-
Terms & conditions

Back to top