Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

University of Sydney Law Library

Law Databases - A to Z

This lists the web-based legal databases to which the Library subscribes.
Most are available only to University of Sydney staff and students.


3/3/11: Use this link for Lexis.com if you experience printing/downloading problems (on-campus only)

 

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

A


Database name  
ABI Inform (Full text)
Bibliographic references and abstracts, with partial full text provision, to journal articles covering tax law, business, and management
Access problems

Using ABI Inform
Australian Federal Police Database: AFPD
A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on policing, criminology, law enforcement and related field.
Informit Quick Reference Guide

Terms & conditions
AGIS Plus Text: Attorney General's Information Service
The AGIS database plus more than 120 full text legal journals from Australia, New Zealand and the Asia-Pacific region.
Journals available in fulltext
Informit Quick Reference Guide

Terms & conditions
APA-FT [Australian Public Affairs - Full Text]
Contains the journal indexing of the APAIS bibliographic database 1978-, with the addition of scanned images of the top 200 journals indexed, 1994/1995-.
Informit Quick Reference Guide

Terms & conditions
Asian Law Online
a free bibliography from the Asian Law Centre, University of Melbourne. English language materials on Asian laws (books, chapters in books, journal articles and theses)
 
AustLII
The Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII) provides free internet access to full text Australasian legal materials. It publishes public legal information - that is, primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals); and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access (law reform and royal commission reports for example) and a growing collection of law journals.
AustLII Help
Australian Administrative Law Library
Includes Administrative Law Decisions, Australian Administrative Law loose-leaf service and Australian Administrative Law Bulletin. Accessible from the desktop of computers in the Law Library.
Australian Civil Procedure and Evidence Library
Includes Cross on Evidence, Ritchie's Supreme Court Procedure NSW, Civil Procedure Queensland, Williams' Civil Procedure Victoria, Civil Procedure Australian Capital Territory and Local Courts Civil Procedure Western Australia.
Accessible from the desktop of computers in the Law Library.
Australian Corporations Law Library
Includes Australian Corporation Law - Legislation, Corporations Act, Australian Corporation Law - ASIC Releases, Australian Corporation Law - Principles and Practice, ASX Listing Rules, Australian Corporations and Securities Reports (and ACLR), Corporation Law Bulletin, Australian Corporation Practice and Bulletin, Ford's Principles of Corporations Law and Australian Consumer Credit Law and Bulletin.
CD Rom.
Accessible from the desktop of computers in the Law Library.
Australian Criminal Law Library
Includes Criminal Practice and Procedure New South Wales, Cross on Evidence, Criminal Law News, Criminal Law News Queensland, Criminal Law News Victoria and Australian Criminal Law Dictionary.
CD Rom.
Accessible from the desktop of computers in the Law Library.
Australian Current Law - Reporter
Provides digests of judgments from the High Court, the Federal Court and the State Supreme courts, as well as important decisions from the Family Court, Federal Magistrate's Court, AAT and selected tribunals. Coverage extends back to 1976 for cases and to 1991 for legislation.
via LexisNexis AU
Australian Current Law - Legislation ACL Legislation alerts you to the latest amendments to all Acts, Regulations, Rules and other statutory instruments across all Australian jurisdictions. Coverage extends back to 1976 for cases and to 1991 for legislation.
via LexisNexis AU
&nsbp:
Australian Encyclopedia of Forms and Precedents
Contains over 4,000 legal forms and precedents covering 106 areas of law.
CD Rom.
Accessible from the desktop of computers in the Law Library.
Australian Family Law Library
Includes the Australian Family Law loose-leaf service and the Australian Family Law Reports.
CD Rom.
Accessible from the desktop of computers in the Law Library.
Australian Legal Research Library
Includes Australian Current Law and Halsbury's Laws of Australia.
CD Rom.
Accessible from the desktop of computers in the Law Library.
Australian Legal Words and Phrases via Via LexisNexis AU
Provides a comprehensive listing of words and phrases which have either been defined in legislation or judicially interpreted. The publication provides details of where the word or phrase has been defined and often the context in which the term is defined.
 
Australian Local Government Library
Contains Local Government Planning and Environment New South Wales.
CD Rom.
Accessible from the desktop of computers in the Law Library.

B                                                                                                                                                                         Top of page

Database name  
BarNet JADE
Jade (Judgments and Decisions Enhanced) is a free current awareness service that collects recent decisions of selected Australian Courts and Tribunals into a searchable database. Australian content
 
BNA International Tax Centre - off-campus or on-campus
Provides tax and business regulatory systems of some 40 countries, as well as an overview of the European Union, USA international taxation, and transfer pricing portfolios. Also includes Tax Guides, Tax treaties, News & commentary.
Terms & conditions

C                                                                                                                                                                         Top of page


Database name  
Capital Monitor
Commonwealth and NSW bills, Commonwealth Government gazettes, tax rulings, acts assented.
 
CaseBase via LexisNexis AU
Australian citator for cases, statutes and journal articles. Cites over 500,000 cases, and refers to relevant journal articles from 80 law journals.
Terms and Connectors
CCH
This database includes full text of many loose-leaf services published by CCH.
CCH Quick Reference Guide
CINCH
Australian. Criminology citations focussing on crime and criminal justice
Informit Quick Reference Guide

Terms & conditions
Criminal Justice Periodicals via Proquest
Search a comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
Terms & conditions

Quick Start Guide
Criminal Law via Westlaw AU
A practical guide NSW criminal law. Includes Criminal Law (NSW) and Criminal Procedure (NSW). Australian content
Help

E                                                                                                                                                                         Top of page

Database name  
EUR-Lex
Free database of the European Community's legislation, caselaw and publications
EUR-Lex Help
Encyclopaedic Australian legal dictionary
Butterworths Encyclopaedic Australian legal dictionary is a unique reference work containing over 25,000 definitions (legal words and phrases, including references to legislation and cases). Australian content
 

F                                                                                                                                                                         Top of page

Database name  
Factiva.com
Newspapers, commentary, pictures, company information etc.
More than 8,000 overseas and Australian newspaper and newswire publications and more than 9,000 web sites.
For Australian news sources, the Fairfax publications archive includes The Sydney Morning Herald 1986+, Australian Financial Review 1987+, BRW 1989+, and the News Limited archive includes The Australian 1996+.
There is also a briefer archive on media transcripts for the ABC, SBS and Channel 9 (up to 1 year archive). Overseas media transcript archives are longer (up to 5 years). Pictures of major news events and reports also are available.
15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage. Important: Click Logout when finished.
Quick Search Tips

Advanced Search Quick Reference
Firstpoint via Westlaw AU
Combining Australian Case Citator Plus and The Australian Digest, this database cites Australian reported cases and summarises Australian case law developments
FirstPoint QuickGuide

H                                                                                                                                                                         Top of page

Database name  
Halsbury's Laws of Australia
States the principles of Australian law

Via LexisNexis AU
 
Health issues in criminal justice (CINCH Health)
A subset of CINCH. Includes mental health, medical and medicolegal issues, drugs and alcohol, suicide, HIV/AIDS, corrections health, euthanasia, and occupational health and safety.
Informit Quick Reference Guide

Terms & conditions
HeinOnline
You may not download or print more than 200 pages per session
Full-text legal journals and other legal documents predominantly US, also includes major international publications and some Australia Law reviews. Also includes English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1865) and Statutes of the Realm 1235-1713, and US Reports (1754 - 2007).

Terms & conditions

HeinOnline Help
Human rights case digest
A digest of summaries of cases from the European Court of Human Rights
 
Human Rights Documents Online
Human Rights Documents Online (HRDO) will ultimately contain all human rights documents collected by the Human Rights Internet (HRI) in Ottawa in Canada since 1980. These documents emanate from 483 non-governmental human rights organizations (NGOs) worldwide, some of which have a universal scope, whilst others focus on the attainment of human rights in a specific area of the world.
Terms & conditions

I                                                                                                                                                                         Top of page

Database name  
IBFD Tax Research Platform
IBFD is a major database of materials on tax and related matters. It includes leading journals on international tax issues and loose-leaf services providing detailed country-specific tax information
Terms & conditions
IEL Labour Law Online
This is online version of the 36 volume looseleaf: International Encyclopaedia of Industrial Labour Law and Industrial Relations. Includes International Monographs, National Monographs, European Works Councils, Legislation, Case Law and Codex.
Terms and conditions
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals via HeinOnline
You may not download or print more than 200 pages per session
Provides access to worldwide legal literature, covering all forms of foreign (non-Anglo-American) law, including comparative law. Includes British and U.S. articles.
Terms & conditions

HeinOnline Help
International Institute for the Sociology of Law - Journal Articles
a free bibliography
 
International Law in Domestic Courts
Covers international law as applied in the domestic courts of around 70 jurisdictions.
Terms and conditions
International Tax Law Reports
Provide readers with judgments and decisions of major tax cases from all over the world.
Help

J                                                                                                                                                                         Top of page

Database name  
Justis & JustCite
Justis 2.0 is the online legal library of UK, EU and Irish law dating from 1163 to the present day. It is integrated with JustCite, a legal reference search engine, which provides a fully cross-referenced index to a comprehensive collection of authoritative UK and European legal information.
Terms & conditions
K                                                                                                                                                                         Top of page

Database name  
Kluwer Arbitration
This resource for international arbitration research contains commentary from expert authors and an extensive collection of primary source materials. Also includes ICC cases and awards.
Terms & conditions
Kluwer Law Online
A collection of Kluwer law journals spanning a vast array of legal topics.
Terms & conditions

L                                                                                                                                                                         Top of page



Database name  
Law Book Online now Westlaw AU
Provides access to a collection of Australian law journals published by Lawbook Co. covering a wide range of legal topics.
 
LawOne
LawOne provides searchable access to full text legislation from seven Australian jurisdictions, links through to amending and subordinate legislation, Bills, Explanatory Memoranda and Second Reading Speeches, detailed legislative histories. Commonwealth legislation updated daily, NSW legislation updated weekly, all other jurisdictions updated at least 12 times a year. Also includes Federal Cases, & TimeBase Point in Time Services (excluding the ASX Point in Time Service). Australian content
 
Laws of Australia via Westlaw AU
States the principles of Australian law

Via Lawbook Online
Click on "research" to browse index
Lawbook Online Quick Guide

Lawbook Online Complete User Guide
Legal Ejournals
A to Z listing of legal ejournals available via the University of Sydney Library and links to free legal ejournals
 
Legal Journals Index via Westlaw
Legal Journal Index indexes articles from legal journals published in the United Kingdom and Europe as well as journals covering topics pertaining to the laws of the European Community and its Member States.
 
Legal Scholarship Network (LSN)
A legal academic series of abstracts of working papers and articles accepted for publication.


To obtain password click on 'Free Registration'
Legal Scholarship Network (LSN) - University of Sydney Law School Legal Studies Research Paper Series
This homepage forms a centralised database of the scholarship of all Sydney Law School faculty members, who post their work on SSRN.


To obtain password click on 'Free Registration'
Legaltrac
International coverage of legal journals, produced in U.S. Search results may include full text via Ingenta (appears with green background).
LegalTrac Navigation Guide
Lexis.com
Full text legislation, caselaw and journal articles from the U.S. and other jurisdictions (including Europe, U.K and Australasia)
Help

Help with browsers other than Internet Explorer
LexisNexis AU
Provides access to LexisNexis AU products including CaseBase, and a range of law reports, journals and loose-leaf services.
Browser settings

M                                                                                                                                                                         Top of page

Database name  
The Making of Modern Law
Fully searchable legal treatises comprising over 21,000 works from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries on British Commonwealth and American law. These include casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches.
Terms & conditions
Making of Modern Law: trials 1600-1926
Based on holdings of the law libraries of Harvard and Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York, the product offers online access to these important collections.
Terms & conditions
Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Public Law
A comprehensive work covering the central and essential topics in international law.
Terms & conditions
Mediascan via Informit Online
Topical subject index for Australian newspapers: Sydney Morning Herald (1995-), The Age (1991-), The Australian (1991-), The Herald Sun (1991-), The Bulletin (1991-), The Courier Mail (1995-), Sunday Mail (1994-), Adelaide Advertiser (1997-), West Australian (1996-1997).
Informit Quick Reference Guide

Terms & conditions

N                                                                                                                                                                         Top of page

Database name  
NELLCO Legal Scholarship Repository
free access to working papers, reports, lecture series, workshop presentations, and other scholarship created by faculty at NELLCO member schools such as Yale, Cornell
 
New South Wales Solicitor's Manual
via LexisNexis AU

Select 'Browse' to view table of contents.
Terms and Connectors

O                                                                                                                                                                         Top of page

Database name  
OECD iLibrary
Full-text for all OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) publications, including documents, periodicals and statistical databases.
Terms and conditions

Getting started

Q                                                                                                                                                                         Top of page

R                                                                                                                                                                         Top of page

Database name  
ResearchNow - Berkeley Electronic Press Journals
Includes access to the Berkeley Electronic Press Journals and to working paper series, preprints, monographs, and other content from institutional and subject-matter repositories hosted by bepress.
Terms and conditions
RIA Worldwide Tax & Commercial Law via IBFD
This covers major laws including income and corporate tax law, VAT, corporation law, trust law, commercial codes, environmental law, money laundering and other regulations affecting financial transactions, labor law, and bankruptcy. The database provides English translations of foreign legislation.

To search RIA Worldwide use the IBFD general search page as there is no separate entry into RIA Worldwide. Select the National Legislation collection.
Education licence

Terms & conditions

S                                                                                                                                                                         Top of page

Database name  
SNIPER: Searchable Networked Intellectual Property Electronic Resource
A bibliographic database of journal articles, conference papers, information relating to IP Australia's core business areas, namely patents, trade marks and designs
Informit Quick Reference Guide

Terms & conditions
SourceOECD now OECD iLibrary
Full text database of all OECD publications and databases
 

T                                                                                                                                                                         Top of page

Database name  
TAXABS : Australian Taxation Abstracts
A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts journals primarily in the area of taxation law but also including other areas of interest such as child support, accounting, business, finance and superannuation.
Helpsheet

Terms & conditions
Tax Analysts Webservices
Provides international and US tax information, updated daily. Includes Worldwide Tax Treaties database.
Terms & conditions
Tax Notes
Tax Notes is a weekly online journal that covers major international taxation subjects. The journal provides in-depth news, analysis and commentary on international taxation issues - including legislative, judicial, administrative and policy issues from over 180 countries.
Terms & Conditions
Taxpoint now Tax & Accounting Online

A number of loose-leaf services relating to taxation are available on this database.
Taxpoint Quickguide

Terms & conditions
Timebase see LawOne  
TradeLawGuide
WTO legislation database
Terms & conditions
TVNews via Informit Online (September 2007 - present)
TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs programs, and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks and links to the video files.
Access problem? Delete your browser cookies and temporary internet files. (For Internet Explorer 7: Tools > Internet Options > Browsing History)
Provided access is restricted to University of Sydney staff and students, the material is used for educational purposes and the Copyright Part VA Warning Notice is displayed, possible uses of TVNews items include:
  • lecturers downloading a news items to a workstation and showing this in a class or tutorial
  • lecturers loading a number of news stories into a Learning Management System such as Blackboard or WebCT and making these available online to students
  • students viewing the items online or saving a copy on their workstation for later viewing
Australian content
Terms & conditions

Access help

U                                                                                                                                                                         Top of page

Database name  
Uniform Evidence Law via Westlaw AU
A practical guide to the New South Wales and Commonwealth Evidence Acts.
 
United Nations Law Collection via HeinOnline
You may not download or print more than 200 pages per session
Includes the United Nations Treaty Series, International Court of Justice, Reports of Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders, and Reports of International Arbitral Awards.
 
United Nations Treaty Collection
Website providing full text access to all treaties and international agreements entered into by any Member of the United Nations. The collection is organised into five categories or databases
scroll down to 'Access to Databases'

Not available off campus
Treaty Reference Guide

UN Treaty FAQs

W                                                                                                                                                                         Top of page

Database name  
Westlaw
Full text legislation, caselaw and journal articles from the U.S. and other jurisdictions (including Europe, U.K and Australasia)
Westlaw QuickGuide

Printing problems
Westlaw AU
Provides access to Australian legal material including Laws of Australia, law reports, unreported judgements, journals and loose-leaf services. (CLR, ACR, Federal Court Reports, Federal Court Reports, Industrial Reports, Local Government and Environmental Reports Unreported Judgements, Uniform Evidence Law, Firstpoint, and E-commerce ) Formerly called LegalOnline.
Terms & conditions
Westlaw China
Westlaw China's Chinese online legal database contains 35 legal topics, more than 630,000 laws and regulations promulgated by Chinese government agencies at both the central level and the level of province, municipality directly under the Central Government and autonomous region since 1949. The database also contains more than 320,000 cases sourced from the Supreme People’s Court and local courts in 31 provinces, municipalities directly under the Central Government and autonomous regions, as well as special courts such as maritime courts. It is updated daily.
 
World News Connection
WNC information is compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources obtained and translated from newspapers television and radio and others
World News Connection Search Tips

Terms & conditions
WorldTradeLaw.net
WorldTradeLaw.net is made up of 2 parts : the Dispute Settlement Commentary (DSC) which includes summaries, commentary and analysis of WTO reports and arbitration, and other trade law resources from around the web – trade law legal texts, other trade agreement texts (GATT, NAFTA), bilateral trade agreements, other dispute settlement reports.
Terms & conditions

List of all Databases provided by the Library (including other subject areas)