Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Law Databases


For a subject overview: Law Subject Guides    |    Law Library page

Law Databases by Type

Key databases for Law Cases Legislation
Journal Databases and News Services Comprehensive legal Research Full Text Books and Loose Leaf Collections
International Legal Resources Law Reports A- Z  
Key databases for Law  
AGIS Plus Text : Attorney General's Information Service (1975 - present)
References journal articles, government documents, publications from non profit organizations and law reform commissions, on all aspects of law in Australia, New Zealand and the Asia-Pacific. Full-text for selected publications from 1999. Australian content
Help
AustLII: Australasian Legal Information Institute
Free access to Australasian legal materials. Includes legislation, decisions of courts and tribunals and treaties. Also some secondary materials including journals and law reform commission reports. Some international legal materials also available. Australian content
Help
CCH Online
This database includes full text of many loose-leaf services published by CCH. Full text of commentary, case law and legislation from CCH Australia Ltd. Covers many legal practice areas arranged by subject heading. Australian content
Help
HeinOnline
You may not download or print more than 200 pages per session
Full-text legal journals and other legal documents predominantly US, also includes major international publications and some Australia Law reviews. Also includes English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1865) and Statutes of the Realm 1235-1713.
Help
LawOne
LawOne provides searchable access to full text legislation from seven Australian jurisdictions, links through to amending and subordinate legislation, Bills, Explanatory Memoranda and Second Reading Speeches, detailed legislative histories. Commonwealth legislation updated daily, NSW legislation updated weekly, all other jurisdictions updated at least 12 times a year. Also includes Federal Cases, & TimeBase Point in Time Services (excluding the ASX Point in Time Service). Australian content
 
Lexis.com
Full text legislation, caselaw and journal articles from the U.S. and other jurisdictions (including Europe, U.K and Australasia)
Help
LexisNexis AU
Access to the Cases and Legislation, Legal Commentary and sources for specific practice areas. Includes the case citator CaseBase, Halsbury's Laws of Australia, reported and unreported judgments, and full text journal articles from selected journals
Browser settings Australian content
Help
Westlaw AU
Provides access to a collection of Australian legal materials, incluging law reports, journals and loose-leaf titles. Includes the case citator Firstpoint and Laws of Australia. Australian content
Help
Westlaw China
Westlaw China's Chinese online legal database contains 35 legal topics, more than 630,000 laws and regulations promulgated by Chinese government agencies at both the central level and the level of province, municipality directly under the Central Government and autonomous region since 1949. The database also contains more than 320,000 cases sourced from the Supreme People’s Court and local courts in 31 provinces, municipalities directly under the Central Government and autonomous regions, as well as special courts such as maritime courts. It is updated daily.
 
Westlaw International
Full text legislation, caselaw and journal articles from the U.S. and other jurisdictions (including Europe, U.K and Australasia)
Westlaw QuickGuide
Cases  
AustLII: Australasian Legal Information Institute
Free access to Australasian legal materials. Includes legislation, decisions of courts and tribunals and treaties. Also some secondary materials including journals and law reform commission reports. Some international legal materials also available. Australian content
Help
Australian Current Law - Reporter via LexisNexis AU
Provides digests of judgments from the High Court, the Federal Court and the State Supreme courts, as well as important decisions from the Family Court, Federal Magistrate's Court, AAT and selected tribunals. Coverage extends back to 1976 for cases and to 1991 for legislation. Australian content
 
BarNet JADE
Jade (Judgments and Decisions Enhanced) is a free current awareness service that collects recent decisions of selected Australian Courts and Tribunals into a searchable database. Australian content
 
CaseBase via LexisNexis AU
Australian case citator providing details of where a case has been reported and cases where the main case has been considered. Also provides subject access to cases and journal articles which discuss a specific case. Australian content
Helpsheet
FirstPoint via Westlaw AU
Combining Australian Case Citator Plus and The Australian Digest, this database cites Australian reported cases and summarises Australian case law developments
FirstPoint QuickGuide
ICLR Online
Provides access to authorised UK cases, including The Law Reports and Weekly Law Reports. Also the Citator+ index cards present relevant case information.
Terms & conditions
Law Reports - A-Z
Alphabetical list of Australian and New Zealand Online Law Reports
 
Justis & JustCite
Justis 2.0 is the online legal library of UK, EU and Irish law dating from 1163 to the present day. It is integrated with JustCite, a legal reference search engine, which provides a fully cross-referenced index to a comprehensive collection of authoritative UK and European legal information.
The ICLR reports including The Law Reports and Weekly Law Reports are now available via ICLR Online.
Terms & conditions
Lawlink
New South Wales Court and Tribunal Decisions (NSW Attorney-General's Department) Australian content
Help
Legislation  
AustLII: Australasian Legal Information Institute
Free access to Australasian legal materials. Includes legislation, decisions of courts and tribunals and treaties. Also some secondary materials including journals and law reform commission reports. Some international legal materials also available. Australian content
Help
Australian Current Law - Legislation
ACL Legislation alerts you to the latest amendments to all Acts, Regulations, Rules and other statutory instruments across all Australian jurisdictions. Coverage extends back to 1976 for cases and to 1991 for legislation. Australian content
 
Capital Monitor's University Intranet
Parliamentary and Legal information from federal and selected State Parliaments. Includes Commonwealth and NSW bills, Commonwealth Government gazettes, tax rulings, acts assented. Full-text available for many publications. Australian content
Terms and agreement

Content & coverage
ComLaw
Official source for the full-text of Commonwealth legislation and the Federal Register of Legislative Instruments (FRLI). Australian content
Help
Lawlex
Free access only to Australian legislation, (plus NSW, Qld, NT and Victoria) from Anstat. Subscription services unavailable through this site. Australian content
help
LawOne
LawOne provides searchable access to full text legislation from seven Australian jurisdictions, links through to amending and subordinate legislation, Bills, Explanatory Memoranda and Second Reading Speeches, detailed legislative histories. Commonwealth legislation updated daily, NSW legislation updated weekly, all other jurisdictions updated at least 12 times a year. Also includes Federal Cases, & TimeBase Point in Time Services (excluding the ASX Point in Time Service). Australian content
 
New South Wales Parliament. Bills list.
Free access to NSW Bills, Explanatory notes and Parliamentary Debates. Australian content
 
New South Wales Parliamentary Counsel's Office
Official website for New South Wales legislation. Australian content
 
Parliament of Australia – Bills section
Free access to Commonwealth Bills, EMs and Parliamentary Debates. Australian content
 
Statutes of the Realm via HeinOnline (1235-1713)
You may not download or print more than 200 pages per session
Full text access of English statutes. Available via the English Reports, full reprint link.
Help
Journal databases and News Sources  
AGIS Plus Text : Attorney General's Information Service (1975 - present)
References journal articles, government documents, publications from non profit organizations and law reform commissions, on all aspects of law in Australia, New Zealand and the Asia-Pacific. Full-text for selected publications from 1999. Australian content
Help
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs - Full Text via Informit (1978-present)
References journal articles and other published material in the social sciences and humanities. Selected full-text from 1994/1995. Australian content
Help
Cambridge Journals Online Terms & conditions

Alerts
Current Law Journal Content
Free access to the tables of contents pages of selected Australian and international legal journals through Washington & Lee Law School.
 
HeinOnline
You may not download or print more than 200 pages per session
Full-text legal journals and other legal documents predominantly US, also includes major international publications and some Australia Law reviews. Also includes English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1865)
Help
Informit Legal Journal Index Library
Includes AFPD - Australian Federal Police Digest; CINCH - Australian Criminology databases; Family Plus; SNIPER - Searchable Networked Intellectual Property Electronic Resource and TAXABS - Australian Taxation Abstracts Database. Australian content
Help
Factiva.com (mid-1980s - present)
Full-text news, commentary, pictures and media transcripts from Austrailan and overseas media sources
For Australian news sources, the Fairfax publications archive includes The Sydney Morning Herald 1986+, Australian Financial Review 1987+, BRW 1989+, and the News Limited archive includes The Australian 1996+.
15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage. Australian content
Search Tips
Company search tips
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals via HeinOnline
You may not download or print more than 200 pages per session
Provides access to worldwide legal literature, covering all forms of foreign (non-Anglo-American) law, including comparative law. Includes British and U.S. articles.
Terms & conditions

HeinOnline Help
International Institute for the Sociology of Law - Journal Articles
a free bibliography
 
Kluwer Law Online
A collection of Kluwer law journals spanning a vast array of legal topics.
 
LegalTrac (1980 - present)
Indexes law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Includes some Australian content and some full-text articles.
Terms and conditions
Legal Journals Index via Westlaw
Legal Journal Index indexes articles from legal journals published in the United Kingdom and Europe as well as journals covering topics pertaining to the laws of the European Community and its Member States.
 
Mediascan via Informit
Topical subject index for Australian newspapers: Sydney Morning Herald (1995-), The Age (1991-), The Australian (1991-), The Herald Sun (1991-), The Bulletin (1991-), The Courier Mail (1995-), Sunday Mail (1994-), Adelaide Advertiser (1997-), West Australian (1996-1997). Australian content
Help
OGEL:: Global Energy Law & Regulation Portal
Focuses on recent developments in the area of oil, gas, energy law, regulation, treaties, judicial and arbitral cases, voluntary guidelines, tax and contracting, including the oil, gas, energy geopolitics.
Terms & conditions
Oxford Journals Alerts
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
ResearchNow - Berkeley Electronic Press Journals
Includes access to the Berkeley Electronic Press Journals and to working paper series, preprints, monographs, and other content from institutional and subject-matter repositories hosted by bepress.
Terms & conditions
TVNews Archive via Informit Online (September 2007 - 2012
TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs programs, and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks and links to the video files.
Access problem? Delete your browser cookies and temporary internet files. (For Internet Explorer 7: Tools > Internet Options > Browsing History)
Provided access is restricted to University of Sydney staff and students, the material is used for educational purposes and the Copyright Part VA Warning Notice is displayed, possible uses of TVNews items include:
  • lecturers downloading a news items to a workstation and showing this in a class or tutorial
  • lecturers loading a number of news stories into a Learning Management System such as Blackboard or WebCT and making these available online to students
  • students viewing the items online or saving a copy on their workstation for later viewing
Australian content
Terms & conditions

Access help
Westlaw's Journals and Law Reviews
select the World Journals tab at the top
Help
University of Sydney Law School Legal Studies Paper Series via SSRN
The Series is part of a centralised database containing the scholarship of all Sydney Law School faculty members, who post their work on SSRN. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Comprehensive Legal Research  
Australian Legal Words and Phrasese via LexisNexis AU
Provides a comprehensive listing of words and phrases which have either been defined in legislation or judicially interpreted. The publication provides details of where the word or phrase has been defined and often the context in which the term is defined. Browser settings Australian content
Help
Encyclopaedic Australian legal dictionary
Butterworths Encyclopaedic Australian legal dictionary is a unique reference work containing over 25,000 definitions (legal words and phrases, including references to legislation and cases). Australian content
 
Halsbury's Laws of Australia via LexisNexis AU
Statements of legal principle covering all jurisdictions in Australia. Browse categories or sub-categories or search by legal principle, keyword, phrase, case or legislation. Updated by Australian Current Law: Reporter. Browser settings Australian content
Help
Laws of Australia via Westlaw AU
States the principles of Australian law
&nsbp;
bepress Legal Repository
The bepress Legal Repository is a network of law-related research materials. Law schools, research units, institutes, centers, think tanks, conferences, and other subject-appropriate groups post materials to specific publications (e.g., the USC Working Paper Series.
 
Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine. Also useful for links to references which cite other academic articles. Using this link via the Library website means you can get the full-text of articles in journals to which the Library subscribes.
Google Scholar settings Australian content
 
Index to Common Law Festschriften
The Index to Common Law Festschriften is the culmination of a three-year project funded by the Law Foundation and undertaken by a small team at the University of Auckland Library and Law School under the direction of Professor Mike Taggart. Includes bibliographic entries on the literature of the common law. Includes English and foreign language entries.
 
Legal Scholarship Network (LSN) - University of Sydney Law School Legal Studies Research Paper Series
This homepage forms a centralised database of the scholarship of all Sydney Law School faculty members, who post their work on SSRN. Part of the Legal Scholarship Network.
To obtain password click on 'Free Registration' Australian content
 
NELLCO Legal Scholarship Repository
Free access to working papers, reports, lecture series, workshop presentations, and other scholarship created by faculty at NELLCO member schools such as Yale, Cornell
 
Full text books and Loose Leaf Collections  
CCH
This database includes full text of many loose-leaf services published by CCH. Australian content
CCH Quick Reference Guide
Thomson Reuters CheckPoint - click "IP users sign in"
A number of loose-leaf services relating to taxation are available on this database. Australian content
Help
Criminal Law via Westlaw AU
A practical guide NSW criminal law. Includes Criminal Law (NSW) and Criminal Procedure (NSW). Australian content
Help
Elgar Online Law ebooks
Written and edited by significant figures in their respective fields, Elgar titles provide comprehensive anaylses of the topics in question. Includes access to Elgar encyclopedias and handbooks.
Terms & conditions
IEL Labour Law Online
This is online version of the 36 volume looseleaf: International Encyclopaedia of Industrial Labour Law and Industrial Relations. Includes International Monographs, National Monographs, European Works Councils, Legislation, Case Law and Codex.
Terms & Conditions
Making of Modern Law
Fully searchable legal treatises comprising over 21,000 works from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries on British Commonwealth and American law. These include casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches.
Terms & conditions
Making of Modern Law: trials 1600-1926
Based on holdings of the law libraries of Harvard and Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York, the product offers online access to these important collections.
Terms & conditions
Oxford Scholarship Online
Full text books online with a large selection of economics, finance, philosophy, religion, music, legal and political science titles.
Please click Logout when finished
Terms & conditions
Riley Solicitors Manual - online via LexisNexis AU
Includes relevant legislation and commentary on the regulation of the legal profession, professional responsibility and ethics for solicitors. Australian content
Browser Settings
Help
Tax and Accounting Online now called Thomson Reuters CheckPoint
A number of loose-leaf services relating to taxation are available on this database. Australian content
Help
Tax Knowledge eXchange via the Tax Institute
Search
Provides access to tax news, Tax Institute policy submissions, papers and presentations from seminars and conventions, podcasts, and The Tax Specialist.
When accessing materials from this site for the first time, you will need to register as a new user. Once you have created a new user profile, you must then log in from the home page to obtain access to your choice of materials. The next time you visit that site, it will recognise you as a user and automatically provide you with access based on your cookie.
Terms & conditions
Uniform Evidence Law via Westlaw AU
A practical guide to the New South Wales and Commonwealth Evidence Acts.
 
International Legal Resources  
Asian Law Online
A free bibliography from the Asian Law Centre, University of Melbourne. English language materials on Asian laws (books, chapters in books, journal articles and theses)
 
Australian Treaties Library - via AustLII
The Australian Treaties Library includes treaty texts, indexes, status lists, and explanatory material. Material is provided by the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade. Australian content
 
BNA International Tax Centre - off-campus or on-campus
Provides tax and business regulatory systems of some 40 countries, as well as an overview of the European Union, USA international taxation, and transfer pricing portfolios. Also includes Tax Guides, Tax treaties, News & commentary.
Terms & conditions
Elgar Online Law ebooks
Written and edited by significant figures in their respective fields, Elgar titles provide comprehensive anaylses of the topics in question. Includes access to Elgar encyclopedias and handbooks.
Terms & conditions
EUR-Lex
Free database of the European Community's legislation, caselaw and publications
Also available:EUR-Lex via Factiva
Help
HeinOnline
You may not download or print more than 200 pages per session
This database includes the Foreign & International Law Resources Database, Philip C. Jessup Library and the Treaties and Agreements Library. Also includes English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1865) and Statutes of the Realm (1235-1713).
Help
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (1688 - present)
The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers are vital to the historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world.
Terms & conditions
Human rights case digest
A digest of summaries of cases from the European Court of Human Rights
 
Human Rights Documents Online
Human Rights Documents Online (HRDO) will ultimately contain all human rights documents collected by the Human Rights Internet (HRI) in Ottawa in Canada since 1980. These documents emanate from 483 non-governmental human rights organizations (NGOs) worldwide, some of which have a universal scope, whilst others focus on the attainment of human rights in a specific area of the world.
Terms & conditions
IBFD Tax Research Platform
IBFD is a major database of materials on tax and related matters. It includes leading journals on international tax issues and loose-leaf services providing detailed country-specific tax information
 
International Tax Law Reports
Provide readers with judgments and decisions of major tax cases from all over the world.
Help
Justis
Justis 2.0 is the online legal library of UK, EU and Irish law dating from 1163 to the present day. It is integrated with JustCite, a legal reference search engine, which provides a fully cross-referenced index to a comprehensive collection of authoritative UK and European legal information.
The ICLR reports including The Law Reports and Weekly Law Reports are now available via ICLR Online.
Help
Kluwer Arbitration
This resource for international arbitration research contains commentary from expert authors and an extensive collection of primary source materials. Also includes ICC cases and awards.
Terms & conditions
Lexis.com
Full text legislation, caselaw and journal articles from the U.S. and other jurisdictions (including Europe, U.K and Australasia)
Help
Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Public Law
A comprehensive work covering the central and essential topics in international law.
Also searchable via the Oxford Public International Law portal
Terms & conditions
OGEL: Global Energy Law & Regulation Portal
Focuses on recent developments in the area of oil, gas, energy law, regulation, treaties, judicial and arbitral cases, voluntary guidelines, tax and contracting, including the oil, gas, energy geopolitics.
Terms & conditions
OECD iLibrary
Full text database of all OECD publications and databases
 
Oxford Public International Law portal
Search or browse the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Public Law together with Oxford Reports on International Law. Contains debate maps indexing discussions by scholars on the public international law aspects of major debates, and the new Oxford law citator.
Terms & conditions
Oxford Reports on International Law
Provides a single point of reference for all international law jurisprudence. Access to all modules: International Courts of General Jurisdiction (ICGJ), International Law in Domestic Courts (ILDC), Criminal Law (ICL), Human Rights Law (IHRL), and International Investment Claims.
Also searchable via the Oxford Public International Law portal
Terms & conditions
RIA Worldwide Tax & Commercial Law via IBFD
This covers major laws including income and corporate tax law, VAT, corporation law, trust law, commercial codes, environmental law, money laundering and other regulations affecting financial transactions, labor law, and bankruptcy. The database provides English translations of foreign legislation.

To search RIA Worldwide use the IBFD general search page as there is no separate entry into RIA Worldwide. Select the National Legislation collection.
Education licence

Terms & conditions
Tax Analysts Webservices
Provides international and US tax information, updated daily. Includes Worldwide Tax Treaties database.
Terms & conditions
Tax Notes
Tax Notes is a weekly online journal that covers major international taxation subjects. The journal provides in-depth news, analysis and commentary on international taxation issues - including legislative, judicial, administrative and policy issues from over 180 countries.
Terms & Conditions
TradeLawGuide
WTO legislation database
Terms & conditions
United Nations Treaty Collection
Website providing full text access to all treaties and international agreements entered into by any Member of the United Nations. The collection is organised into five categories or databases
scroll down to 'Access to Databases'
Not available off campus
Treaty Reference Guide

UN Treaty FAQs
Westlaw International
Full text legislation, caselaw and journal articles from the U.S. and other jurisdictions (including Europe, U.K and Australasia)
Westlaw QuickGuide
WorldLII (World Legal Information Institute) via AustLII
Provides free access to primary and some secondary legal materials from overseas jurisdictions. Includes International law databses.
 
WorldTradeLaw.net
WorldTradeLaw.net is made up of 2 parts : the Dispute Settlement Commentary (DSC) which includes summaries, commentary and analysis of WTO reports and arbitration, and other trade law resources from around the web – trade law legal texts, other trade agreement texts (GATT, NAFTA), bilateral trade agreements, other dispute settlement reports.
Terms & conditions