Linguistics Databases

Ask A Librarian

Return to Linguistics Guide

Key databases for Linguistics  
Expanded Academic ASAP
A multi-disciplinary database providing full text articles.
 
JSTOR
JSTOR provides full text access to the entire archive of key journals in the Humanities.
Terms & Conditions.
LDC : Linguistic Data Consortium
The LDC supports language-related education, research and theology development by creating and sharing linguistic resources: data, tools and standards.
Registration is required
LLBA : Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts via CSA (1960's - present)
A key resource for Linguistics. LLBA references abstracts to peer-reviewed journal articles, dissertations, books and book review citations. An increasing number of articles are available in full text.
Terms & Conditions
MLA : Modern Languages Association International Biography via EBSCO (1890's - present)
References scholarly works on linguistics, literature, literary theory and film. MLA contains some full text material.
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for Linguistics  
Dissertation & Theses Full Text
Access to full text doctoral dissertations and master's theses, mainly from US universities.
Terms & conditions
Google Scholar
Searches academic information on the internet and may allow access to publications subscribed to by the University of Sydney Library.
 
Lexicons of Early Modern English (LEME)
An historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically-valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods.
Terms & conditions
Libraries Australia
Searches the combined catalogues of Australian libraries and can also provide access to the British Library Catalogue, Consortium of [British] University Research Libraries, Library of Congress Catalogue, and OCLC WorldCat. Australian content
Help
Oxford Reference Online : Premium plus Western Civilization Collection
Access to guides to English grammar and usage as well as over 130 dictionaries.
Trems & conditions
Project Muse
Project Muse provides full text access to over 300 peer-reviewed humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Terms & conditions
Sociological Abstracts via CSA (1950's - present)
References articles, books and web resources on on Sociology and sociolinguistics.
Terms & conditions

Help
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
One of the largest Humanities and Social Sciences databases with coverage of Linguistics. It also provides citation analysis of authors and journals.
Terms & conditions

Help

Back to top