Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

English Literature and Language Databases



Return to English Guide

Key databases for English  
AUSTLIT : Australian Literature Gateway
References to Australian authors and their works, references to criticism, correspondence and interviews as well as providing details and locations of theses dealing with Australian literature. Australian content
Help
British Literary Manuscripts Online: : Medieval & Renaissance (1100 - 1660)
Author manuscripts primarily in Middle and Early Modern English, with some Old English materials, from the collections of the British Library, the Folger Shakespeare Library, the National Art Library at the Victoria & Albert Museum, and the National Library of Scotland.
Terms & conditions
Cambridge Histories Online
Provides access to the complete series of Cambridge Histories from Cambridge University Press, browsable by 15 key subject areas including Histories of the book, literature, theatre, religion, music, language, science, and warfare, and American, British, Economic History.
Please click logout button when finished.
Terms & conditions
EEBO : Early English Books Online
Access to over 125,000 titles published in English between 1473 and 1700.
Terms & conditions
ECCO : Eighteeth Century Collections Online
Access to the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century.
Terms & conditions
Literature & Culture Collection via Informit Online (1940 - present)
Offers a number of Australia’s best known literary and art magazines that help define Australia’s literary and cultural heritage. Includes Meanjin and Media International Australia (MIA) backfiles.
Complementary access for 2012. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Tutorials:
Basic
Advanced
Literature Online : LION
Literature Online provides access to more than 350,000 works of English and American literature, 208 full-text literature journals, and to key dictionaries and encyclopaedias of literature.
Terms & conditions
MLA : Modern Languages Association International Biography via Ebsco (1890's - present)
References scholarly works on English literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics and film. MLA contains some full text articles.
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for English (A - Z)  
ABELL : Annual Bibliography of English Language Literature via Chadwyck-Healey (1920 - present)
References International scholarship, including doctoral dissertations, on English Literature.
Terms & conditions
African-American Poetry 1760 - 1900
Corpus of Afro-American poetry.
Terms & conditions.
American Poetry Full-text Database
Full text of more than 200 American poets.
Terms & conditions.
America’s Historical Newspapers, (Early American Newspapers 1690-1876)
Search, or browse hundreds of hundreds of historical newspapers via a timeline-based interface. Includes the complete contents of every newspaper.
Key title list
A companion to Early American Imprints
Terms & conditions
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text via Informit.
Contains the journal indexing of the APAIS bibliographic database 1978-, with the addition of scanned images of the top 200 journals indexed from 1994/95. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Australian Texts via SETIS
Includes the Australian Literary and Historical Texts, Australian Classic Works, Novels from the Australian Cooperative Digitisation Project 1840-45 and Australian Poets: Brennan--Harford--Slessor.
 
Bible in English
Twenty-one different versions of the English Bible, including two that contain just the Gospels, and William Tyndale's translation of the Pentateuch, Jonah and New Testament.
 
Dissertation & Theses Full Text
Access to full text doctoral dissertations and master's theses, mainly from US universities.
Terms & conditions
DOE: Dictionary of Old English
Searchable vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language, from the letters A to G.
Terms & conditions
Early English Prose Fiction : EEPF via SETIS
Over 200 works of prose fiction dating from 1500-1700. It includes Elizabethan fiction, Jest Books, collections of short pieces and novellas, Restoration fiction and works of popular fiction.
 
Early American Imprints. Series 1, Evans (1639- 1800).
Full text coverage of American history and literature from the colonial period up to the eighteenth century.
Terms & conditions
Help
Eighteenth Century Fiction : ECF via SETIS
Eighteenth Century Fiction includes 96 complete works in English prose from the period 1700-1780, by writers from the British Isles.
 
Eighteenth Century Journals Portal I-IV via Adam Matthews
Consists of newspapers and periodicals published between 1860 - 1820, drawn from major Library collections.
Terms & conditions
English Poetry Full Text Database via SETIS
This database comprises the works of almost 1,350 poets from 600-1900. Certain categories of material have been excluded from the database: translations into English verse after 1800, hymns published after 1800, works in languages other than English, verse drama intended for the stage, and poems never published or only published in contemporary newspapers, journals or miscellanies.
 
English Prose Drama Full Text Database via SETIS
More than 1,600 plays written by more than 350 different authors from the Renaissance to the end of the nineteenth century. The database includes plays, masques, entertainments, and certain closet dramas.
 
English Verse Drama Full Text Database via SETIS
More than 2,000 works by around 450 named authors and approximately 230 anonymous works, from the Shrewsbury Fragments of the late thirteenth century to the end of the nineteenth century.
 
Expanded Academic Index ASAP via Gale
Access to abstracts from more than 1500 journals and to the full-text of over 500 journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Terms & conditions.
Factiva (Good coverage from the mid 1980's - present)
Full text access to news, recent book, film and theatre reviews from International and Australian news papers and new media sources.
15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage.
 
FIAF : FIAF International Film Archive Database via OvidSP (1972-present)

References over 300 academic and popular Film and Television journals.
Terms & conditions
Film Index International
References international films and provides bibliographies of particular films.
 
Google Scholar
Searches academic information on the internet and may allow access to publicatins subscribed to by the University of Sydney Library.
 
IMB : International Medieval Bibliography
References jurnals citations, conference proceedingsand festschriften on all aspects of the European Middle Ages.
 
JSTOR (1990-up to the last five years)
JSTOR provides full text access to the entire archive of key journals in the Humanities.
Terms & conditions.
LEME : Lexicons of Early Modern English
An historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically-valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth and Restoration periods.
Terms & conditions
Libraries Australia
Searches the combined catalogues of Australian libraries and can also provide access to the British Library Catalogue, Library of Congress Catalogue and OCLC WorldCat. Australian content
Help
LLBA : Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts via Proquest (1960's -present)
references abstracts to peer-reviewed journal articles, dissertations, books and book review citations. An increasing number of articles are available in full text.
Terms & conditions
Literary Manuscripts (Berg)
Manuscripts and personal documents by and about major Victorian authors, from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection.
Terms & conditions
Medieval Family Life via Adam Matthews
The Paston Family Papers have long been a subject of both literary and historical interest. They are Britain’s first surviving records of private correspondence, describing everyday life in East Anglia during the Wars of the Roses and the Black Death. Plus four other valuable collections relating to medieval families in Essex, Oxfordshire, Yorkshire and Warwickshire, c1400-1490.
Terms & conditions
Medieval Travel Writing via Adam Matthews
The full-text and images of European travel writing manuscripts from the later medieval period, with a focus on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia.
Terms & conditions
Middle English Compendium
Access to three major Middle English electronic resources, - Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.
Terms & conditions
Nineteenth Century Fiction : NCF via SETIS
This database includes the major prose fiction of the Romantic and Victorian periods, as well as many neglected or little-known works, most of them out-of-print or difficult to find. Nineteenth Century Fiction includes 250 complete works of prose fiction from the period 1781-1901, by writers from the British Isles.
 
OEC : Old English Corpus via SETIS
This edition of the Corpus has been constructed from a version supplied by the Dictionary of Old English project in November 2004.
 
OED : Oxford English Dictionary
Access to the 20 volume Second edition.
Terms & conditions
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Biographies from Britains's past covering the fourth century BC to 2001.
 
Oxford Reference Online : Premium plus Western Civilization Collection
Includes over 1 million entries across 25 subject areas - everything from architecture to zoology as well as access to guides on English grammar and usage and over 130 dictionaries.
Terms & conditions
Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers, 1500-1700 via Adam Matthews
The goal of the Perdita Project was to identify and describe all manner of writing by early modern women from diaries to works of drama. Perdita Manuscsripts links the detailed catalogue descriptions with complete digital facsimiles of the original manuscripts. The result is a resource which is indispensable for anyone interested in women and women's writing in Early Modern Britain.
Terms & conditions
Project Muse (Mid 1990's onwards)
Project Muse provides full text access to over 300 peer-reviewed humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Terms & conditions
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape
Discover the working methods of Romantic poets and trace the evolution of celebrated verse. Presenting the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, this digital collection offers students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey.
Terms & conditions
Shakespeare
Access to major editions and adaptations of Shakespeare including the First Folio (1623) and Bell's acting editon of plays (1774).
 
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History.
Brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Includes manuscripts, diaries and correspondence, drawings, guidebooks,postcards and photographs.
Terms & conditions
Web of Science via platform (1990-present)
One of the largest Humanities and Social Sciences databases with reasonable coverage of English Studies. It also provides citation analysis of authors and journals.
Terms & conditions

Help
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Access to annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced from 1971.
Terms & conditions

Back to top