Medical Humanites Databases

Ask A Librarian

Information incon For Library assistance in relation to a specific Elective Unit of Study please contact the relevant Subject/Faculty Librarian.

Databases

Database name Search the database Helpsheet Full text
AGIS Plus Text: Attorney General's Information Service
The AGIS database plus more than 120 full text legal journals from Australia, New Zealand and the Asia-Pacific region.
Journals available in full text
open database

Password

Terms & conditions


Helpsheet
Yes
Anthropology Plus
Bibliographic references to articles and essays in English and other European languages relating to biological, cultural, physical and social anthropology from 1969 -
NEW: Use the Ask A Librarian link in Anthropology Plus to contact your University of Sydney librarian.

Information about Anthropological literature : ANL
open database   No
ATLA Religion Database
Bibliographic references to journal articles, collections of essays, Festchriften, conference proceedings, congresses and book reviews on religion, religious scholarship, biblical studies and related fields, particularly in the West. information about ATLA Religion Database
open database

Terms & conditions

Ovid Basic Helpsheet

Required browsers
No
Australian Family and Society Abstracts: FAMILY
A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families.
New:Family Plus Information about Australian Family and Society Abstracts: FAMILY
  Helpsheet No
CINCH: Australian Criminology Database
A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime and criminal justice.
open database
Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
No
EEBO: Early English Books Online
Access the full text of over 125,000 titles published in English between 1473 and 1700.
open database  
Terms & conditions

Yes
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Use Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. Based on The English Short Title Catalogue, it includes every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. As well as books and directories it covers sheet music, pamphlets and advertisements.
open database  
Terms & conditions


Terms & conditions

Yes
Expanded Academic Index ASAP
Contains an index and abstracts to over 1500 journals including the full-text of 520 journals indexed (last 3 years). Topics covered include humanities, communication studies, social science, science and technology, women studies, sociology, environment, and public affairs Information about Expanded Academic ASAP
open database


Terms & conditions

Results may include full text via Ingenta. Post-graduates and staff may request pay-per-view Ingenta articles from Interlibrary Loans
Some
Family & Society Plus 1980- via Informit Online
Family & Society Plus is an indexing and full text database that provides access to the scanned images of articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families. Family & Society Plus is based on the FAMILY database.
Subject coverage includes research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families. Some examples are children and child development; adolescence and youth; the aged and services to the aged; marriage and divorce; adoption and foster care; child abuse and domestic violence; child care; family economics; counselling and therapy; employment and unemployment; family law; health; housing; health policy and services; minority families; population studies; social change and social issues; social and community services; and sexual attitudes and behaviours.
open database
Terms & conditions

2000-
Historical Abstracts
Covers world history (1450 to the present), excluding America, including cultural diplomacy, economics, international relations and politics. information about Historical Abstracts
open database  
Terms & conditions

No
LegalTrac
A journal index. Contains some abstracts, including major Australian legal journals. Topic area is law information about LegalTrac
open database
 
Terms & conditions

Some
Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts: LLBA
Abstracts of journal articles, citations of relevant dissertations, book review citations, book abstracts and abstracts of association papers on linguistics. information about Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts: LLBA
open database Helpsheet Some fulltext
MLA: Modern Languages Association International Bibliography via Ebsco
Contains bibliographic references to scholarly works in French, English, German, Italian and other languages on the topics of linguistics, literature, literary theory and criticism and folklore.
information about MLA: Modern Languages Association International Bibliography
open database
Terms & conditions

 
No
MLA Directory of Periodicals via Ebsco
Contains information on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals. This information has been gathered by the MLA staff with the cooperation of MLA bibliographers and the editors represented in these listings. Over 7,100 titles are included; of these, over 4,400 are currently indexed. The entries list editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, and submission guidelines. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted.
open database  
Terms & conditions

 
Philosopher's Index
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
information about Philosopher's Index
open database   No
Sociofile/Sociological Abstracts
Bibliographic references and abstracts to literature of sociology and the related social sciences including the topics aging, AIDS, alcohol abuse, anthropology, cities, communications, counselling, crime, culture, death, demography, drugs, and education. Source material from over 30 languages.
information about Sociofile/Sociological Abstracts
open database

Terms & conditions

Helpsheets
No
Web of Knowledge
This portal hosts Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, BIOSIS Previews, CAB Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Journal Citation Reports. Its CrossSearch feature enables a "quick overview" search of these databases and also searches Agricola and Pubmed. The databases link to full text on some other platforms. Undergraduates not enabled to access all full text on ScienceDirect.
open database
Terms & conditions

Tutorials Tutorial

Recorded Training

Bookmarking the database
Links to some full text
Web of Science
Contains Science Citation Index Expanded 1945-, Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975. Updated weekly, it allows users to search current and retrospective information from more than 8,500 journals, across more than 230 disciplines. Also allows cited reference searching to track a paper's influence. Links to full text on some other platforms. Undergraduates not enabled to access all full text on ScienceDirect.
open database
Terms & conditions

Tutorials
Links to some full text
Women's Resources International
Includes over 232,000 records drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases. No userid and password available.
open database  


No

Back to top

Web Sites

Medical Ethics
Star Icon url: http://www.library.usyd.edu.au/subjects/medicine/links/ethics.html

NYU School of Medicine (this site has a Medical Humanities directory)
Star Icon url: http://endeavor.med.nyu.edu/lit-med/lit-med-db/topview.html

University of California, Irvine
Star Icon url: http://www.ucihs.uci.edu/com/medhum/links.html

American Society for Bioethics and Humanities
Star Icon url: http://www.asbh.org/

The Journal of Medical Humanities
Star Icon url: http://mh.bmjjournals.com/

The journal Literature and Medicine
Star Icon url: http://www.calliope.jhu.edu