Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Media and Communications Databases



Return to c Media and Communications
Return to Journalist's Library Toolbox

Key Databases
News databases | Legal & Parliamentary | Statistical Databases | Film Studies databases for Media & Communications | Strategic Public Relations - Company Information | more databases for Media & Communications

Key databases for Media and Communications  
Communication & Mass Media Complete via Ebsco (1915-present)
References articles, conference papers, magazines and books in media studies, journalism, publishing, public relations and related disciplines. Useful for locating academic journals in media and communications.
Terms and Conditions
Worldwide Political Science: WPSA via Proquest
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources in current affairs, political science, media and other disciplines within the social sciences. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in media and social & sciences.
Terms & Conditions
Sociological Abstracts (1952-present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources on social and political aspects of the media and society and other related disciplines within the social sciences. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in Media and Communications.
Terms & conditions

APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text (1978-present)
References journal articles and other published material in media studies and the social sciences and humanities. Selected full-text from 1994/1995. Australian content
 
Film &amp Television Literature Index
References journals, books, magazines and reviews in the creative, literary, social, political and historical aspects of television, films and film making.
Terms & conditions
JSTOR
Full-text for major journals in Sociology, Political Science, Language and Literature, Film Studies and related disciplines. Latest five years are not available in this database.
Terms & conditions
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities citation indexes, useful for citation and subject searching for articles, books and reviews in the social sciences and related disciplines. Allows the identification of key articles in a discipline.
Terms & conditions

Help
Proquest Central (formerly Proquest 5000)
Multiple databases covering disciplines within Media Studies and the Social Sciences and Humanities. Also includes a digitised collection of dissertations & theses.
Terms & conditions

Help
Google Scholar
Searches academic information on the internet. May also allow access to publications to which the University of Sydney Library subscribes.
 
Newspaper databases for Media and Communications  
Factiva
Full-text news, commentary, pictures and media transcripts from over 8,000 overseas and Australian news media sources.
15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage.
Help
Financial Times Historical Archive 1888 - 2007
Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2007, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page.

Cross-search the Financial Times Historical Archive and The Times Digital Archive with NewsVault
Terms & conditions
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
TVNewsvia Informit Online (September 2007 - present)
An index of Australian television news, current affairs programs, and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks and links to the video files. Provides an Australian perspective on US domestic and foreign affairs. (The local nightly news programmes currently included are broadcast from Melbourne)
Terms & conditions

Access help
World News Connection
United States Foreign Broadcasting Information Service (FBIS) compiled from non-U.S. media sources. Includes newspaper articles and television and radio transcripts. Material is translated and either an extract or the full article is available from the database.
Terms & Conditions

Help
Proquest Historical Newspaper Collection
Contains full text and full image articles from major American newspapers: Chicago Tribune (April 23, 1849-Dec. 31, 1986); The New York Times (Sept 18, 1851-Dec. 31, 2004); The Wall Street Journal (July 8, 1889-Dec. 31, 1990). Select required newspaper from drop down database menu.
Terms & Conditions

Help
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985
Full-image archive of every page published by The Times(London) from 1785-1985. The text within the images is fully searchable at the article level. Additional options enable searching of nearly all newspaper content. Results are displayed at the article level and users may view the article or the full page upon which it appeared.

Cross-search the Financial Times Historical Archive and The Times Digital Archive with NewsVault
Terms & Conditions

Help
Parliamentary & Legal Databases for Media and Communications  
AustLII : Australasian Legal Information Institute
Freely available primary legal materials:-legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals); and secondary legal publications including law reform and royal commission reports and law journals. Provides access to the Law of other countries. Australian content
Help
ParlinfoWeb
Freely available Australian parliamentary documents including debates (Hansard), media releases,legislation, bills, second readings, explanatory memorandum, senate and house committee transcripts, background papers and research notes Australian content
Help
Statistical Databases  
ASSDA : Australian Social Sciences Data Archive (1977-present)
Over 2,000 data sets from Australian and non-Australian Studies. Data is available for research includes opinion polls, electoral studies, education, youth studies, social welfare and social attitudes. Access information is available from the ASSDA website. Australian content
 
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Australia's official statistical organisation. Freely available data for social, health, economic and demographic research and census data for 1996-2006. Links to other statistical agencies via the ABS subject themes page. Australian content
 
OECD iLibrary
Full-text for all OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) publications, including documents, periodicals and statistical databases.
Terms & conditions

Getting started [pdf]
First: Facts on International Relations and Security Trends
Data from a range of organisations compiled by SIPRI (Stockholm Institute on Peace Research) on conflicts, arms transfers and military expenditure, hard facts on states and international organizations, economic and social statistics and chronologies.
 
Strategic Public Relations  
Business Source Premier
References and abstracts industry and international business, includes full text for many key journals. Company profiles for the world's 5,000 largest companies, country economic profiles and reports
Terms & Conditions
Connect 4
Australian Company Information. (USYD subscriptions indicated with a red star). Includes Annual Reports(publicly listed companies) 2003 - present, Boardroom (senior salary packages), Company Prospectuses 1994- present, Mergers & Acquisitions, New Issues, & Takeovers 1997 - present. Australian content
Terms & Conditions
GMID : Global Market Information Database via Euromonitor
Log-in required on-campus
Tip - if search times out, try drilling down using subject headings to select topics & countries
Research material for business intelligence on countries and markets. Includes historical statistics and forecasts, analysis of consumers' lifestyles, company profiles and information sources, plus full-text market analysis.
 
ASX Company Research
Inclides price, company and trading information for companies listed on the Australian Stock Exchange.
 
Hoovers Company Records
Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.
Terms & conditions
Kompass
Australian and Global information on over 1.8 million companies, 750,000 trade & brand names, 3.6 million executive names.
Terms & Conditions
FinAnalysis
Detailed financial information for a twelve year period for all companies listed on ASX. Includes market data, reporting and peer analysis.
 
Margaret Gee's Australian Media Guide
Contains detailed information on every major Australian media outlet - from television stations and newspapers, to press agencies. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Film Studies databases for Media and Communications (A-Z)  
Australian Screen
View clips from Australian film and television produced over the last 100 years. Includes curator's notes, synopsis and production details. Australian content
Help
Film Index International
Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute, this database references research material on the entertainment industry, films and film makers.
Terms & conditions
FIAF : International Film Archive Database via OvidSP(1972-present)

References articles from academic and popular film journals.
Terms & Conditions
Film and Television Literature Index via Ebsco
References articles, reviews, magazines, reports, books and other research material on film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography and the technical aspects.
Terms & Conditions
More useful databases for Media and Communications (A-Z)  
Asia-Studies Full-text currently unavailable
Full-text reports and articles on social, economic, environmental, political and development issues in Asia, Australia/New Zealand, the Americas Pacific Rim countries, and the Pacific islands. Many reports include graphs, tables and statistics.
Help
AUSTLIT : Australian Literature Gateway
References to the work Australian authors and their works, includes; criticism, correspondence and interviews as well as providing details and locations of theses dealing with Australian literature. Australian content
Help
BAS : Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971-present)
References primarily western-language articles and book chapters on social sciences and humanities research pertaining to all parts of Asia.
Terms & conditions
CIAO : Columbia International Affairs Online (1991-present)
Published research on international affairs from university research institutes, NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, articles and policy briefs.


Help
Libraries Australia
Searches the combined catalogues of Australian libraries and also includes access to other major catalogues and repositories. Australian content
Help
MAIS : Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies (1988-present)
Covers immigration and multicultural issues, including ethnicity, racism, education, migrant health and welfare, refugees, population studies. Compiled by the Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs Library. Australian content
Help
Margaret Gee's Australian Media Guide
Contains detailed information on every major Australian media outlet - from television stations and newspapers, to press agencies. Australian content
Terms & conditions
MLA : Modern Languages Association International Bibliography (1988-present)
References to scholarly works in literature, linguistics and folklore in English, French, German, Italian and other languages on the topics of literature, literary theory and criticism, genres, linguistics and folklore.
Terms &amp Conditions
PAIS : Public Affairs Information Service (1972-present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources in current affairs, political science and other disciplines within the social sciences. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in social & sciences.
Terms & Conditions
Victorian Popular Culture: Sensation, Spiritualism and Magic & Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks via Adam Matthews
Victorian Popular Culture contains a wide range of source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930, and shows how interconnected these worlds were
Terms & conditions

Back to top