Medical Radiation Sciences Databases

Ask A Librarian

Return to Medical Radiation Sciences Guide

Key databases for Medical Radiation Sciences  
Medline via OvidSP (1950 - present)
A major and premier source for the medical sciences.
Provides citations and abstracts to biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. The majority are fulltext.
Terms & conditions

Ovid Basic Helpsheet
CINAHL via OvidSP (1982 - present)
A major resource for allied health professionals and nurses. Includes some full-text articles with coverage of allied health, management, behavioural sciences, biomedicine and education.
Terms & conditions

Ovid Basic Helpsheet
AMED : Allied and Complementary Medicine via OvidSP (1985 - present)
A useful specialised database of citations and abstracts for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians covering allied health and alternative treatments to conventional medicine.
Terms & conditions

Ovid Basic Helpsheet
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
One of the largest Science databases. Provides access to current and retrospective information from high impact research journals. Web of Science also provides citation analysis of authors, journals and subject areas.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials
Scopus
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Terms & conditions

Health & Society Database (H&S) via Informit Online
Local database of health policy, services and the social, psychological, legal and ethical issues associated with health which is of direct importance to Australian people and families. Aboriginal health, health administration and economic issues are a core subject area of the database. Australian content
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for Medical Radiation Sciences (A - Z)  
anatomy.tv
Human anatomy in 3D. Complete anatomical 3D models from skin to bone for various body parts. Includes biomechanical animations, dynamic MRI, and movie clips.
Terms & conditions
Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
A major source of statistical data compiled by Australia's official statistical organisation. Includes Australian census data, National and State based statistics. Statistics are updated weekdays at 11:30am.
Australian content
 
CAM : Complementary and alternative medicine via Pubmed
A useful source which contains citations to journal articles related to complementary and alternative medicine (Cam). A subset of PubMed.
 
Cochrane Library
A reliable source of up-to-date information and evidence based studies designed to support decisions taken in health care.
Terms & conditions

User guide [PDF]
Current Contents Connect via ISI Web of Knowledge
A quick and easy way of keeping up to date with material published in your subject area.
Terms & conditions
Dissertation & Theses Full Text via Proquest
Full text available from 1997 - present
Containing more than 1.6 million Phd and Masters thesis accepted by accredited educational institutions and universities. Check to see what other thesis candidates have done in your field!
(Note: Very large files; may be slow to download off-campus.)
Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
Embase
A major pharmacological, biomedical and drug information database. Contains a large number of full text articles from journals published worldwide.
Terms & conditions

Tutorial
Expanded Academic Index ASAP (1980 - present)
Contains an index, abstracts and full-text. Topics covered include communication studies, social science, science and technology, women studies, sociology, environment, and public affairs.
Terms & conditions
GrantSearch
Australia's most comprehensive index of grant opportunities. Australian content
 
Journal Citation Reports via ISI Web of Knowledge
Discover analytical information on journals such as impact factor and citation frequency.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials

Bookmarking the database
ProQuest 5000
Includes a number of databases across a range of subject areas including business, general reference, education, science, technology and medicine. It provides both abstracts, indexing and full text.
Terms & conditions

Quickstart guide
PsycInfo via OvidSP (1806-present)
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes literature from disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Some full text.
Terms & conditions

User guide
PubMed
A free database offering access to the Medline database of citations and abstracts of biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, and PubMed covers fields related to medicine.
 
ScienceDirect
One of the largest online collections of published scientific research. Good coverage of medical related subjects.
Terms & conditions
University of Sydney Theses
All University theses are listed in the online catalogue. Search by Author, Title, Subject or Keyword.
 
Web of Knowledge
This portal hosts Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, BIOSIS Previews, CAB Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Journal Citation Reports. Its CrossSearch feature allows a "quick overview" search of these databases.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials

Recorded training

Bookmarking the database

Back to top