Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Microscopy and Microanalysis Databases



Return to Microscopy and Microanalysis Guide

Key databases for Microscopy and Microanalysis  
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Contains Science Citation Index Expanded 1945 - present, Social Sciences Citation Index 1956 - present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 onwards. Updated weekly, it allows users to search current and retrospective information from more than 8,500 journals, across more than 230 disciplines. Also allows cited reference searching to track a paper's influence.
Terms & conditions
Medline via Web of Knowledge (1950 - present)
Contains bibliographic references and abstracts to articles in a range of languages on topics such as clinical medical information, biomedicine, including the allied health fields, biological and physical sciences.
Helpsheet (pdf)
BIOSIS Previews via ISI Web of Knowledge (1926 - present)
Contains 15 million records including citations to journal articles on biology, botany, zoology, microbiology, clinical and experimental medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, instrumentation and methods.
Terms & conditions
Inspec via Ovid SP (1969 - present)
Contains bibliographic references and abstracts to more than 4,200 journals and more than 2,000 conference proceedings, books and reports on topics including physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control and information technology.
Terms & Conditions
Compendex Plus via EI Village
A comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines.
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for Microscopy and Microanalysis (A - Z)  
IEEE Xplore
Full-text access to IEEE and IEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters and conference proceedings published since 1988, plus selected content back to 1950 and all current IEEE standards.
 
ASTM Digital Library
A repository of technical content covering a wide range of materials and industries, including Special Technical Publications, manuals, technical papers and journals from the standards development organization American Society for Testing and Materials.
Note: Current ASTM Standards are available on request from Library ASTM request - library_astm@usyd.edu.au
Your request must be sent from your university email account.
You cannot access current standards from the database, you need to request them via email.
Terms & conditions
Google Scholar
The academic version of the famous search engine. Also useful for links to references which cite other academic articles. Using this link via the Library website means you can get the full-text of articles in journals to which the Library subscribes.
 
Current Contents Connect via ISI Web of Knowledge (1998 - present)
A bibliographic and alerting service which indexes more than 3800 science, social science, arts and humanities journals. It provides access to the table of contents of journals together with complete bibliographic information about each article.
Terms & Conditions

Tutorial
SciFinder Web Version
International chemistry journal articles, conferences, books, reports, patents within the Chemical Abstracts database; Chemical Abstracts from 1907, and Medline from 1966. Subject coverage includes chemical engineering, chemistry, biochemistry, pharmacy, pharmacology, agricultural chemistry, food science and medicine.

Note: New users must register before using the web version. Your UniKey login is required for registration.

This database can only be used by staff and students of the University of Sydney.
Note: Google Chrome not supported. Scifinder System Requirements
More info

How to Guides

Tutorials

Back to top