Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Museum Studies Databases



Return to Museum Studies Guide

Key databases for Museum Studies  
ABM : ART Bibliographies Modern via Proquest (1970's - present)
References journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catlogues, PhD dissertations, and exhibitions reviews on all forms of contemporary art.
Terms & conditions
BMUSE : Museology Database (1910's - present)
References material from international sources, including the UNESCO-ICOM Museum Information Centre, the Library of the Canadian Conservation Institute (CCI), and the Library of the Direction des Musees de France.
Terms & conditions
AHB : Australian Heritage Bibliography via Informit Online (1987 - present)
Produced by the Australian Heritage Commission, AHB references published and unpublished material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
Art Index via Ebsco (1929-present)
A good starting point for research in art, design and architecture. Indexes articles, reviews, exhibitions and images in art journals.
Terms & conditions
Grove Art Online via Oxford Art Online
Useful for quick information on artists, art movements and the visual arts in general. Also includes links to images in external web sites.

Terms & conditions
More databases useful for Museum Studies (A - Z)  
AHRR : Australian Historic Records Register via Informit
References articles, images, reviews and exhibitions from journals on the subjects of art, design and architecture.
Terms & conditions
AMOL : Australian Museum & Galleries Online
Australia's only peer-reviewed online museum journal. Australian content
 
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text via Informit
Contains the journal indexing of the APAIS bibliographic database 1978-, with the addition of scanned images of the top 200 journals indexed from 1994/95. Australian content
Terms & conditions
ARTstor
Useful international collection of digital art images drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections and art reference libraries.
ARTstor has specific technical requirements.
Terms & conditions
BHA : Bibliography of the History of Art
Wide ranging art history index, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present.
Includes both BHA (covering 1990-2007) and the International Bibliography of Art (IBA), covering the years 2008 and part of 2009. The Répertoire de la litterature de l’art (RILA), one of the predecessors of BHA, with records that cover 1975-1989, will be online by May 1 2010. Please also use ABM : ARTBibliographies Modern, for current material after 2009, & JSTOR for earlier material
 
CHIN : Canadian Heritage Information Network
Promotes the development, the presentation and preservation of Canada's digital heritage.
About
Dissertation & Theses Full Text via ProQuest
Access to full text doctoral dissertations and master's theses, mainly from US universities.
Terms & conditions
Expanded Academic ASAP via Gale
Access to abstracts from more than 1500 journals and to the full-text of over 500 journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Terms & Conditions.
Factiva (mid 1980's - present)
Access to articles, and reviews from national and international newspapers and news services.
15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage.
 
Google Scholar
Searches academic information on the internet and may allow access to publications subscribed to by the University of Sydney Library.
 
JSTOR
Useful for the full-text of back issues of academic journals across the arts and sciences.

Terms & conditions
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
One of the largest Humanities and Social Sciences databases, it also provides citation analysis of authors and journals.
Terms & conditions

Help

Back to top