Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Music Databases



Return to Music Guide

Key databases for Music  
amp: Australian Music Presented
amp is a growing online collection of Australian classical and experimental music drawn from the ABC's vast archive of music recordings. Australian content
 
Australian Composers Online
A new TIES Grant teaching resource initiative of the University Library making available more than 200 e-scores of works by a selection of leading Australian composers, contemporary and historical, in downloadable PDF format.
Click the Limit/Sort Search button at the top of the screen to search for specific composers or works.
Terms & conditions
Cambridge Companions Online - Music
Cambridge Companions are lively introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods. They contain essays written to appeal to student readers. Together the chapters add up to a systematic critical account of, for example Plato, Luther, Tom Stoppard or Stravinsky, the French Novel or Jewish American Literature.
Access to Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics, and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture, and Companions in Music.
Terms & conditions
Cambridge Histories of Music via Cambridge Histories Online
Provides access to the complete series of Cambridge Histories from Cambridge University Press, browsable by 15 key subject areas including music, performing arts, American, British, & economic History, Histories of science, the book, literature, religion, language, and warfare.
Please click logout button when finished.
Terms & conditions
Classical Music Library
Classical Music Library is a large streaming database of Classical music recordings from eminent labels including Hyperion, Sanctuary Classics, Hänssler Classic, and many more. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers.
(Search Classical Music Library and Classical Scores Library together via Music Online)
Terms & conditions
Classical Music in Video
A database of classical music performances in streamed video. Performances range across all genres – symphonic, chamber, oratorio and solo. It also contains masterclasses and interviews with eminent international performers and teachers. The time period covered is from medieval times to the 21st century and the videos stem from the 1950s up to contemporary recordings.
(Search together with our other music resources from Alexander Street via Music Online)
Terms & conditions
Classical Scores Library
Includes the major composers and many lesser known composers and works, from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Some major contemporary Australian composers are included. Content includes in-copyright material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series.
(Search Classical Music Library and Classical Scores Library together via Music Online)
Terms & conditions
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
An important information resource for ethnomusicological research providing a comprehensive guide to music of all the world’s peoples. Contributions from over 700 world experts. (Search it via Music Online to capture results from other Alexander St databases)
Terms & conditions
Grove Music Online via Oxford Music Online
Comprises the full-text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition.
Full-text search is possible. Includes illustrations and sound samples.
Terms & conditions
IIMP : International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Covers nearly all aspects of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes.

IIPA and IIMP may be searched together.
Terms & Conditions

Quick Start Guide
IIPA : International Index to Performing Arts Full Text(1864 - present)
Provides indexing, abstracts and full-text to over 240 international periodicals, covering a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry.

IIPA and IIMP may be searched together.
Terms & Conditions

Quick Start Guide
Music Index via Ebsco (1973 - present)
Indexes book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
Terms & Conditions
Naxos Music Library
A collection of audio music containing the complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 400 independent labels such as ARC, Berlin Classics, BIS, Capriccio, Chandos, CPO, EMI Classics, Erato, Haenssler Classic, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naïve, Naxos, Nimbus, Ondine, Teldec, Vanguard Classics, Virgin Classics and Warner Classics; includes classical music, historical recordings, jazz, world and folk music, along with textual notes on the works being played and biographical information on composers or artists.
 
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises the catalogues of Blue Notes Records, 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz and over 180 other labels. New content is added continuously. Fantasy labels include Prestige, Debut, Riverside, Stax, Volt, Specialty, Pablo and more. Over 13,000 jazz artists are represented on more than 6,400 albums.
 
Opera in Video
Contains video of many of the most significant opera performances from the world’s best performers, conductors and opera houses around the world. Contains operatic repertoire from the Baroque era through to the twentieth century. (Search it via Music Online to capture results from other Alexander St databases)
Terms & conditions
Oxford History of Western Music Online
Online version of the celebrated 6 volume Oxford History of Western Music: a comprehensive reference tool which includes illustrations and 1,800 musical examples.
Terms & conditions
Oxford Music Online
Oxford's portal for reference works on music. Includes Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music Includes illustrations and sound samples.
Terms & conditions
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature via Ebsco (1967 - present)
Compiled by the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, this large bibliography provides broad international coverage including records in over 100 languages from journals, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, Festschriften etc.
Terms & Conditions
More databases useful for Music (A - Z)  
APA-FT: Australian Public Affairs Full Text via Informit Online (1978 - present)
A good starting point for articles on Australian music as well as humanities, literature, politics, history, social sciences, culture and public affairs. It includes full text articles 1994/1995 -, from the top 200 journals indexed. Australian content

Terms & conditions Helpsheet
Dissertation & Theses Full Text
Major source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full text is available from 1997 to the present.

Note: It contains very large files; may be slow to download off-campus.

Terms & conditions

Help
Eighteenth Century Collections Online via Gale Infotrac
Access digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. Based on The English Short Title Catalogue, it includes every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. As well as books and directories it covers sheet music, pamphlets and advertisements.
Terms & Conditions
Expanded Academic Index ASAP via Gale Infotrac (1980-present)
Full text and abstracts from a large number of multidisciplinary journals.
Terms & conditions
Factiva
Full text newspaper articles and pictures of over 8,000 international newspaper and newswire publications, from mid-1980s onwards.
For Australian news sources, the Fairfax publications archive includes The Sydney Morning Herald 1986+, Australian Financial Review 1987+, BRW 1989+, and the News Limited archive includes The Australian 1996+.
15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage.
Note: Click Logout when finished.
User Guide

Quick Search Tips

Browser Help
Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine.
 
Index to Printed Music
The Index to Printed Music (IPM) is an invaluable resource for music students and researchers. IPM is the only online resource for finding individual pieces of music printed in standard scholarly editions, with over 307,000 index records of individual music works including collected works.
Terms & conditions
IPA Source
A large library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera aria, art song, and Latin liturgical texts (with phonetic transcriptions and English translations).
Terms & conditions
JSTOR
Full-text of major academic journals and scholarly literature from around the world, covering music and other disciplines.
the last five years are not available in this database except for journals published by the University of Chicago and University of California.

Terms & conditions

 
MusicAustralia
Find music scores, sound recordings, websites and a range of other music-related material held by a large number of Australia's cultural institutions or described by specialist music services. Both heritage and contemporary music are covered. Australian content
 
Music Online
Cross-search Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, and Opera in Video.
Classical Music Library is a large streaming database of Classical music recordings; Classical Scores Library includes the major composers and many lesser known composers and works, from the Renaissance to the 21st century.
Terms & conditions
Oxford Music Online
Comprises the full-text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition.
Full-text search is possible. Includes illustrations and sound samples.
Terms & conditions
Oxford Scholarship Online
Full text books online with a large selection of economics, finance, philosophy, religion, music, legal, and political science titles.
Please click Logout when finished
Terms & conditions
Percussion Orchestrations
A database of Timpani and Percussion requirements for orchestral repertoire.
Terms & conditions
Project Muse
Full text of peer-reviewed humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
Terms & conditions
Proquest Central
A very large multidisciplinary service including multiple databases. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively including business and economics, social sciences , news and world affairs, technology, health and medical, and more.
Access for Alumni
Terms & conditions

Quick Start Guide
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
RILM, RIPM, RISM, Music Index, and Film & Television Literature Index combined search via Ebsco
Search these databases together, or use their individual links.
Terms & Conditions
RIPM : Répertoire international de la presse musicale via Ebsco (1800 - 1950)
An international annotated bibliography of writings on musical history and culture, found in music periodicals published in seventeen countries. Treating primary source material, RIPM indexes the content of complete runs of journals, including articles, reviews, news columns, miscellaneous items, surveys of the press, bibliographies, iconography and advertising.
Terms & Conditions
RISM: International Inventory of Musical Sources after 1600 via Ebsco
Find musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory and libretti stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections. Provides full bibliographic records of manuscripts written mainly between 1600 - 1850.
Terms & Conditions
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Contains the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Useful for subject and citation searching for any discipline.
Terms & conditions

Tutorial

Back to top