New eResources

This page lists the most recent subscribed electronic resources.



Terms & conditions
New databases  
Film Platform
An international selection of documentary films for the academic world.
 
American Doctoral Dissertations via Ebsco (1933 - 1955)
Searchable version of the print index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. Note: There are no abstracts or full text. Data available are author, title, subject and university.
Terms & conditions
Applied Science & Technology Source via Ebsco
Research and development within a wide variety of applied science and computing disciplines, including aeronautics, nuclear engineering, and neural networks. Also covers research on the business and social implications of new technologies.
Terms & conditions
Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre Plus via Ebsco
Leading Australasian magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books, including The Australian Financial Review (2/5/2014 - present), and Choice. Also includes biographies, an image collection of over 500,000 photographs.
Terms & conditions
British Education Index via Ebsco
Information on research, policy and practice in all aspects and levels of education and training in the UK. Strengths include aspects of educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs. Sources include education and training journals, mostly published in the UK. Some international literature is included.
Terms & conditions
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text via Ebsco
A comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology.
Terms & conditions
Education Source via Ebsco
Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Terms & conditions
Environment Complete via Ebsco
Covers all areas of environmental research and technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Coverage starts in the 1940s.
Terms & conditions
Health Business Elite via Ebsco
Health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.
Terms & conditions
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text via Ebsco
Comprehensive and authoritative international scholarship on all aspects of theatre and performance.
Terms & conditions
Political Science Complete via Ebsco
PSC has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. Includes full-text journals, reference works books, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Terms & conditions
SocINDEX with Full Text via Ebsco (1908 - present)
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and related fields. Full text of key journals from 1908, abstracts from 1895, books and conference papers, author profiles.
Terms & conditions
Chicago Manual of Style 16th
A footnote and bibliography referencing system. The online version is searchable and provides quick answers to your style and editing questions.
Terms & conditions
Merck Index Online
A core reference tool for searching the analysis of drugs, chemicals and biologicals. Search for compounds, chemical and physical properties, key references or browse different therapeutic categories.
Terms & conditions
Berliner Philharmoniker's Digital Concert Hall
Concert recordings, documentaries, interviews, live streamed performances from the Berliner Philharmoniker

Register for access while on-campus. A pop-up window will appear which prompts you to register with your email address and password or log in with an existing account. After registering / logging in, you can view all concerts, films and interviews in the Digital Concert Hall free of charge on all supported devices from the network of your institution or from home.
Terms of use

Help
Embase via OvidSP (1974 - present) (replacing Embase.com)
A major pharmacological, biomedical and drug information database. The European equivalent of Medline.
Terms & conditions

Guide
BMJ Learning
Sign up for access, and create a profile for personalised, accredited learning.
If you have already registered with BMJ Best Practice, use the same login details.

Evidence-based, independent and peer-reviewed learning modules to keep healthcare professionals up-to-date with the latest advancements in medicine. Videos and audio on key Foundational skills, Surgical skills, ECG skills, and Minor Surgery for GPs.
BMJ Learning guide (YouTube)

BMJ Portfolio guide - YouTube or PDF

Terms & conditions
BMJ OnExamination - Login (once registered)
Registration required. How do I get access to BMJ OnExamination?   Ask Us Now    |   PDF
Available for University of Sydney Medical School Students only.
Medical exam preparation. Pre-clinical practice questions designed to test and improve your knowledge in the early years of Medical School (Medical Student Years 1-3).
Clinically-rich case problems and questions for Medical Student Years 4 and above.
Terms & conditions
UpToDate temporarily unavailable for technical reasons

Due to licensing restrictions, this will be available on our physical campuses for students and staff; off-campus access will be available for students only. No access via the app.
A comprehensive evidence-based Clinical Decision Support tool for use at the point of care. New medical research is integrated carefully into the UpToDate content, with specific recommendations as to how it should be applied clinically. On the toolbar, What's New lists the most important changes and additions to the content in 22 specialties; PCUs (Practice Changing Updates) show research results with important or immediate implications for how clinicians practice.
Features & videos

Manual
ClinicalKey for Nursing
Supports clinical decision-making; makes it easy to find concise answers and deep access to evidence.
Terms & conditions
Medici TV
Live broadcasts and recordings of classical concerts, opera, ballet, master classes and documentaries.
Terms & conditions
Social Work Toolkit
Helps social work students develop the core skills, knowledge, and confidence to succeed on their course and placements. Includes videos, case studies, expert opinion articles and book chapters.
Terms & conditions
Art & Architecture Archive via Proquest (1895 - 2005)
Cover-to-cover scans of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of fine and decorative arts, interior design and architecture, photography.
Terms & conditions
British Periodicals via Proquest (1681 - 1997)
Hundreds of periodicals covering all subjects. Good for study of literature, theatre, politics, religion among other subjects. Access to Collections 1-3.
Terms & conditions
DNSA: Digital National Security Archive via Proquest (1945 - present)
De-classified U.S. government documents organised into collections covering world events and U.S policy from WWII onwards. Accompanied by chronologies, and scholarly overviews. About
Terms & conditions
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive via Proquest(1880 - 2000)
Essential sources for the history of film, broadcasting, popular music and theatre - U.K. and U.S trade and fan publications. Indexing of all ads, reviews, and covers as well as articles.
Terms & conditions
PAO: Periodicals Archive Online via Proquest (1899 - 2000)
Scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Access to Collections 1-5.
Terms & conditions
The Vogue Archive via Proquest (1892 - present)
The full contents of Vogue magazine (U.S. edition). Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included in this record of American and international fashion, culture and society.
Terms & conditions
Women's Magazine Archive via Proquest (1883 - 2005)
Leading U.S and Canadian women’s interest consumer magazines Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, and Parents. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
Terms & conditions
Proquest Historical Newspapers - search all
New additions to our Proquest Historical Newspapers titles:
South China Morning Post (1903-1996)
Chinese Newspapers Historical Collection (1832- 1953) (24 chinese newspapers, published in English or Chinese / English / Russian.)
The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003)
The Times of India (1903-1996)
The Washington Post (1877-1999)
Terms & conditions
John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera
Ephemera published between the eighteenth and early twentieth centuries, ranging from Advertising & consumerism, Nineteenth Century Entertainment, the Booktrade, Crimes, Murders & Executions, to Popular Prints.
Terms & conditions
Early European Books
High resolution images reveal the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to 1700. Access to Collections 1-4.
 
18th Century Fiction
96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles. Key figures covered include Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift.
 
Colonial State Papers
Primary documents for the study of early America - English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.
 
Documents on British Policy Overseas, 1898-1914, 1918-1939, 1945-
Primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office, which form a record of British of peacetime diplomacy and foreign policy.
 
Patrologia Latina
The "Works of the Latin Fathers" from about AD 200 to AD 1216. It is the complete electronic version of Migne's 1st edition.
Note: Cross-searchable with Acta Sanctorum, access includes Brill's edition of Jan Frederik Niermeyer's Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus
Terms & conditions
Palmer Fulltext 1800-1870 & Palmers Index to The Times 1790 - 1905
Fulltext searchable archive the The Times. Cross-searchable with the Official Index to The Times, 1906-1980, and the Historical Index to The New York Times 1863-1905, and 1913 - September 1922.
Terms & conditions
Early Experiences in Australasia: Primary Sources and Personal Narratives 1788-1901 vol 1
First person accounts, in diaries and letters, plus other primary sources and essays, covering the arrival of the first settlers in Australia and New Zealand through to Australian Federation in 1901. Australian content
Terms & conditions
LEGENDcom
The most up to date Australia Migration and Citizenship legislation and policy available, from the Department of Immigration and Border Protection. Australian content
Help
Capital Monitor (1996 - present)
Provides Federal and State parliamentary, political, legislative, regulatory and judicial news and information almost as soon as it is available. Full coverage of Australian Parliaments, government departments, agencies, courts and key stakeholders in public policy. Includes news transcripts.Australian content
Terms & conditions

Content & Coverage
IBISWorld
Major provider of Australian & global industry market research. Access to four modules -
Industry Market Research tab: Australia Industry Reports (ANZSIC,) Australia Specialized Industry Reports, Global Industry Reports.
Industry Risk Ratings tab: Australia Business Environment Profiles Australian content
Terms & conditions
ASTM Standards
ASTM International is an international standards organization that develops and publishes a wide range of voluntary consensus technical standards.
 
Australasian Literature Online 1930 - present
Creative works from throughout Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific Islands, and author interviews. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Classical Scores Library Vols III & IV
An additional two volumes added to our subscription. This is a series of four volumes which provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as lesser-known contemporary works.
(Search with other Alexander St music resources via Music Online)
Terms & conditions

Back to top