News Services Databases

Ask A Librarian

Key databases for News Services  
Factiva
A current affairs and company information database. It includes major newspapers, news wire services and business journals world wide.

Click Logout when finished.

Access to the Australian Financial Review and BRW
User Guide (pdf)

Search Tips (pdf)

Company Search Tips (pdf)
Mediascan via Informit Online (1991 - present)
Indexes articles from Australia's major daily newspapers, and is specifically designed for students and researchers in Australian secondary schools, TAFE institutes and universities. Useful for locating material not available in Factiva, such as cartoons. Australian content
Terms & conditions (pdf)
World News Connection via Dialog (1995 - present)
Search non-U.S. media sources for full-text and summaries of news and newspaper articles.
Terms & conditions
AUSCHRON : A Chronology of Australian Historic and Current Events via Informit Online (1992 - present)
Offers a listing of significant events in Australian history with emphasis on current happenings. Useful for quickly pinpointing when an event occurred. Australian content
Terms & conditions (pdf)

Helpsheet
Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle is published every weekday in the U.S. and features news and information for university faculty members and administrators.
The Arts & Letters Daily is an index of articles on culture and ideas drawn from international newspapers.
Terms & conditions
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (search all)
Contains the full text and full image articles from major American newspapers:

Chicago Tribune (April 23 1849 - Dec 31 1985)
The New York Times (Sept 18 1851 - Dec 31 2002)
The Wall Street Journal (July 8 1889 - Dec 31 1988)

ProQuest's historical collections cannot be searched in combination with their current collections.
Terms & conditions
The Times Digital Archive via Gale Infotrac, (1785 - 1985)
A full-image online archive of every page published by The London Times.
Terms & conditions

Helpsheets

Back to top