Nursing Databases


For a subject overview: Nursing Subject Guide

Mosby's Nursing Consult now ClinicalKey Nursing
Brings online books, journals, practice guidelines, drugs, news and evidence-based resources together in an integrated online interface to help nurses and students efficiently find answers to clinical questions.

Terms & conditions
Key databases for Nursing  
Cinahl via Ebsco
The place to start for nursing and allied health research
Searching Cinahl

Searching CINAHL (iResearch)
Medline via OvidSP (1946 - present)
A major resource for biomedicine and health. (See also PubMed)
Terms & conditions
Scopus
13/1/14: Internet Explorer 11 not supported, use alternative browser
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Terms & conditions

Interactive Tutorials
PsycInfo via OvidSP (1806 - present)
Contains links to selected full text on psychology; social, clinical, cognitive and neuropsychology; psychiatry, sociology, anthropology and education. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
9/7/2013: If you are unable to export 999 records from PsycINFO, it is most likely due to the large size of cited references in some of the records. Use the "Select fields to display > Custom fields" option, & exclude the "Cited References" field. It will then export all 999 records.
Terms & Conditions
Global Health via OvidSP (1910 - present)
An international public health databases with coverage of communicable, tropical and parasitic diseases, human nutrition, community health and mediciinal and poisonous plants.
Field guide

Terms & conditions
SocINDEX with Full Text via Ebsco (1908 - present)
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and related fields. Full text of key journals from 1908, abstracts from 1895, books and conference papers, author profiles.
Terms & conditions
Sociological Abstracts via Proquest (1952 - present).
International literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Terms & conditions
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database via OvidSP
An evidence-based health care resource to assist in evaluating evidence for informed clinical decision-making and best practice in health care. It includes evidence summaries in the following areas: Aged Care, Acute Care, Midwifery, Physio, Occupational Therapy, Diagnostic Imaging.
Australian content
 
Australian Medicines Handbook
Provides concise practical, reliable, comparative drug information to promote quality use of medicines in Australia. Australian content
 
eTG Complete (Australian Therapeutic Guidelines)
Print copies also available at the SciTech Library
Australian Therapeutic Guidelines summarises current available evidence for the management of patients with specific conditions. The recommendations are based on the latest international literature, interpreted by Australian experts.Australian content
 
MedicinesComplete (2006 - present)
Access to several major resources in pharmacy and pharmacology.
Terms & conditions
Health Collection - search via Informit Online
Health Collection - browse titles
A full-text allied health database. Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Terms & conditions
ClinicalKey for Nursing
Supports clinical decision-making; makes it easy to find concise answers and deep access to evidence.
Terms & conditions
BMJ Case Reports
Access over 6000 peer-reviewed case reports across all medical sciences specialties.
An institutional subscription to BMJ Case Reports entitles the users to:
Reuse any of the published material for teaching and personal use without any further permission
Submit an unlimited number of cases (contact your Academic Liaison Librarian)
Overview of BMJ Case Reports | How to write a fulltext case report | How to submit a full text case report
Terms & conditions

User Guide [pdf]
BMJ Best Practice
A point of care decision-support tool. Provides access to reliable, up-to-date information structured around the patient consultation assisting students and clinicians with diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment decisions.
Terms & conditions

Video tutorial
UpToDate temporarily unavailable for technical reasons

Due to licensing restrictions, this will be available on our physical campuses for students and staff; off-campus access will be available for students only. No access via the app.
A comprehensive evidence-based Clinical Decision Support tool for use at the point of care. New medical research is integrated carefully into the UpToDate content, with specific recommendations as to how it should be applied clinically. On the toolbar, What's New lists the most important changes and additions to the content in 22 specialties; PCUs (Practice Changing Updates) show research results with important or immediate implications for how clinicians practice.
Features & videos

Manual
More databases useful for Nursing (A-Z)  
Newspapers & Current Affairs see News Services databases  
AccessPhamacy
AccessPharmacy is a comprehensive resource for pharmacy education which features searching by core curriculum topic or across leading pharmacy online references; browsing by organ system; and review of textbooks.
Terms & conditions`
AGELINE via Ebsco (1978 - present)
Covers social gerontology, which is the study of aging in psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts. Australian content
 
AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine via OvidSP (1985 - present)
Covers a selection of journals in complementary and alternative medicine.
Terms & Conditions
APA-FT: Australian Public Affairs Full Text via Informit Online (1978 - present)
Australian literature of the social sciences and humanities.
Australian content
Helpsheet
Terms & conditions
ATSIhealth via Informit Online (1900 - present)
Covers Australian Indigenous health.
Australian content
Helpsheet
Terms & conditions
AusDI
Important: Logout out of AusDI by closing the browser window.
AusDI provides quick, easy access to the popular AusDI Independent Drug Monographs, pharmaceutical company product information (PI), consumer medicine information (CMI) leaflets, drug product images, a product identifier module with convenient links to your choice of drug interaction system(s). The Australian independent drug monographs include full-text, evidence-based drug and drug-class monographs.
Scroll down on the Product Tour tab to watch the Product Overview, & for more help. Australian content
 
AusportMed via Informit Online (1989 - present)
AusportMed covers all aspects of medical and health issues in Australian sport. A subset of the AUSPORT database.
Australian content
Helpsheet
Terms & conditions
Australian Bureau of Statistics : ABS
The Australian Bureau of Statistics is Australia's official statistical organisation. The site provides access to ABS statistical and reference information.
Australian content
 
Australian Medicines Handbook
Note: the Browser Instruction page displays by default the first time AMH is accessed on a computer. Most browsers ( & all Library browsers) have javascript and cookies enabled by default, so you may simply click the "continue" link.
Provides concise practical, reliable, comparative drug information to promote quality use of medicines in Australia. Australian content
 
BIOSIS Previews via Web of Knowledge (1926 - present)
A major resource for all biological sciences and particularly useful for searching experimental research.
Terms & conditions

Training (YouTube)

BIOSIS controlled vocabulary
Caresearch
A palliative care resource funded by the Australian Department of Health and Ageing that aims to provide evidence based, quality information to the palliative care community.
Australian content
Terms & conditions
ClinicalKey
Contains cross-searchable, key resources for the medical sciences. Includes journals, textbooks, reference books, practice guidelines, medical & surgical videos and images.
Terms & conditions

User guide
Cochrane Library via Wiley Interscience
A collection of evidence-based databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence used to make informed decision-making in the provision of healthcare. In addition to the Cochrane reviews, it provides other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials. All material is full-text.
Terms & conditions

Introduction to Cochrane (3 mins)


Searching & MESH ( 3:40 mins)
Current Contents Connect via Web of Science (1998 - present)
A quick and easy way of keeping up to date with material published in your subject area.
Terms & conditions

Training (YouTube)
Current Protocols via Wiley Interscience
Access thousands of authoritative, peer-reviewed, easy-to-follow, and frequently updated protocols.
Terms & conditions
Dissertation & Theses Full Text via ProQuest
An authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities.
Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
Drug Database (DRUG) via Informit Online (1974 - present)
References to works on the psychosocial and treatment aspects of alcohol, drug and tobacco use and misuse.
Australian content
Terms & conditions
Dynamed
A Point of Care (PoC) resource which summarises and synthesizes the evidence-based research for thousands of topics, presenting summaries which are easy to find, read, and apply. Designed to follow the patient consultation from presentation through differential diagnosis, treatment and follow up. It includes detailed drug information, medical calculations, and regular evidence alerts.
Terms & conditions
All EBM Reviews: Cochrane DSR, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CLEED, CLMCR, & CLHTA via OvidSP
This multifile database allows you to search simultaneously the seven Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CCTR), NHS Economic Evaluation Database (CLEED), Health Technology Assessment (CLHTA), and Cochrane Methodology Register (CLMCR).
Terms & Conditions
Embase via OvidSP (1974 - present)
A major pharmacological, biomedical and drug information database. The European equivalent of Medline.
Terms & conditions

Guide
Expanded Academic Index ASAP(1980 - present)
Topics covered include humanities, communication studies, social science, science and technology, women studies, sociology, environment, and public affairs.
Terms & Conditions
Family - Australian Family & Society Abstracts Database via Informit Online (1980 - present)
Comprehensive index and abstracts database which covers research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Tutorials:
Basic
Advanced
Families & Society Collection via Informit Online (1976 - present)
Family provides published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families.
Terms & conditions
Google Scholar
Good for broad searches of scholarly literature from both free and subscription sources. For search results which highlight the articles available to you through Library subscriptions, use the links on our website to Google Scholar, or enable Google Scholar settings. Also useful to find references which cite other academic articles.
 
Health & Society Database via Informit Online (1980 - present)
Health & Society Database (H&S) is a subset of Australian Family & Society Abstracts (FAMILY), produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies. It covers health policy and services and the social, psychological, legal, and ethical issues associated with health and Australian families.
Australian content
Terms & conditions
Health Books and Journals @ Ovid
Search all of the University of Sydney online books and journals available through Ovid.
 
Health Issues in Criminal Justice (CINCH-Health) via Informit Online (1968 - present)
This database focuses on health issues involved in the Australian crimal justice system.
Australian content
Terms & conditions
Health Services/Technology Assessment Text (HSTAT)
Includes clinical practice guidelines, consumer health brochures, evidence reports and technology assessments from contributers such as the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) and the National Institutes of Health (United States).
Helpsheet
HIV/AIDS Database (HIVA) via Informit Online (1980 - present)
Deals with the clinical, nutritional, medical, social and psychological aspects of HIV/AIDS - as well as the relationship between alcohol and other drugs to HIV/AIDS.
Australian content
 
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection via Informit (1940 - present)
Broad subject coverage ensures relevance to users of all interests especially Aboriginal and indigenous studies, arts, history, law, literary studies, media, political science and sociology. Australian content
Terms & conditions
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts via OvidSP (1950 - present)
Provides worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and Health related literature.
Terms & Conditions
Journal Citation Reports - old version via Web of Science
Journal Citation Reports - new version via Web of Science - click Subscriber login button

Discover analytical information on selected journals such as impact factor and citation frequency.
Terms & conditions

Training (YouTube)

Tutorials

JCR training videos
Maternity and Infant Care via OvidSP (1971 - present)
Indexes journals, books, and grey literature relating to the midwifery profession, pregnancy, labour, birth, postnatal care, and neonatal care and the first year of an infant's life.
 
MIMS Online
Important: please close your browser down to end your MIMS session & enable other users to access MIMS.

An Australian pharmaceutical database offering access to information on prescription and non-prescription drugs.
Also try AusDI, a generic-based drug information resource. It covers a very comprehensive range of drugs including many over the counter (OTC) and hospital use only products.
Terms & conditions

Training video
Mosby's Index
Mosby's Index (Elsevier) covers over 3,000 peer-reviewed and electronic only journals in the fields of Nursing and Allied health, utilising a version of the EMTREE thesaurus enhanced for Nursing.
Terms & conditions
Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies (MAIS) via Informit Online (1988 - present)
AAll aspects of Australian immigration and multicultural issues.
Australian content
 
Pre-Medline via OvidSP
PreMEDLINE is the in-process database for MEDLINE. It provides basic information and abstracts before a record is indexed with MeSH heading(s) and added to MEDLINE.
Terms & Conditions
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health
Includes e-journals, Evidence-Based Resources from the Joanna Briggs Institute, and the Medcom Video Training Programs Collection
Terms & conditions

Quick Start Guide
PubMed
PubMed for handhelds
Note: If you wish to email records to yourself from PubMed, this is only available on-campus via this on-campus link
National Library of Medicine's free online public access to Medline. See also Medline (Ovid)
Tutorial
Rural and Remote Health Database (RURAL) via Informit Online (1966 - 2006)
Covers topics such as education for rural medical practice, indigenous peoples health, rural and remote area nursing and health care.
Australian content
Terms & conditions
Springer Protocols
Contains peer reviewed laboratory research protocols, dealing principally with topics in molecular biology and biomedicine. Also available in the Library catalogue .
Terms & conditions

Quick guide
TOXNET(1965 - present)
A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas.
Helpsheet
TVNews Archive via Informit Online (September 2007 - 2012
TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs programs, and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks and links to the video files.

Provided access is restricted to University of Sydney staff and students, the material is used for educational purposes and the Copyright Part VA Warning Notice is displayed, possible uses of TVNews items include:
  • lecturers downloading a news items to a workstation and showing this in a class or tutorial
  • lecturers loading a number of news stories into a Learning Management System such as Blackboard or WebCT and making these available online to students
  • students viewing the items online or saving a copy on their workstation for later viewing
Australian content
Terms & conditions

Access help
Web of Science - Search all databases
This portal hosts Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, and via the Additional Resources tab, Journal Citation Reports. Its CrossSearch feature enables a "quick overview" search of these databases and also searches Agricola and Pubmed.
Terms & conditions

Training (YouTube)

Recorded Training
Web of Science Core Collections
Contains Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-, Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975.
Terms & conditions

Training (YouTube)

Tutorial

Back to Top