Occupational Therapy Databases

Ask A Librarian

Return to Occupational Therapy Guide

Key databases for Occupational Therapy  
Medline via OvidSP (1950 - present)
A major and premier source for the medical sciences.
Provides citations and abstracts to biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. The majority are fulltext.
Terms & conditions

Ovid Basic Helpsheet
CINAHL via OvidSP (1982 - present)
A major resource for allied health professionals and nurses. Includes some full text articles with coverage of allied health, management, behavioural sciences, biomedicine and education.
Terms & conditions

Ovid Basic Helpsheet
AMED : Allied and Complementary Medicine via OvidSP (1985 - present)
A useful specialised database of citations and abstracts for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians covering allied health and alternative treatments to conventional medicine.
Terms & conditions

Ovid Basic Helpsheet
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
One of the largest Science databases. Provides access to current and retrospective information from high impact research journals. Web of Science also provides citation analysis of authors, journals and subject areas.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials
Scopus
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Terms & conditions

OTSeeker
A useful resource for finding systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability.
 
JBI COnNECT
An evidence-based health care resource to assist in evaluating evidence for informed clinical decision-making and best practice in health care. It includes evidence summaries in the following areas: Aged Care, Acute Care, Midwifery, Physio, Occupational Therapy, Diagnostic Imaging, with Community Health coming soon. Australian content
 
Health & Society Database (H&S) via Informit Online
Local database of health policy, services and the social, psychological, legal and ethical issues associated with health which is of direct importance to Australian people and families. Aboriginal health, health administration and economic issues are a core subject area of the database. Australian content
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for Occupational Therapy (A - Z)  
AGELINE via OvidSP 1978 - present
The place to start for ageing and gerontology. Provides coverage of ageing in relation to delivery of health care, psychology, public policy and economic contexts.
Terms & conditions
anatomy.tv
Human anatomy in 3D. Complete anatomical 3D models from skin to bone for various body parts. Includes biomechanical animations, dynamic MRI, and movie clips.
Terms & conditions
Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
A major source of statistical data compiled by Australia's official statistical organisation. Includes Australian census data, National and State based statistics. Statistics are updated weekdays at 11:30am.
Australian content
 
Biological and Medical Science databases via CSA
Databases included here: Biological Sciences, Biology Digest, Conference papers index, Medline and Toxline.
Terms & conditions
CAM : Complementary and alternative medicine via Pubmed
A useful source which contains citations to journal articles related to complementary and alternative medicine (Cam). A subset of PubMed.
 
Caresearch
A palliative care resource funded by the Department of Health and Ageing that aims to provide evidence based, quality information to the palliative care community. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Cochrane Library
A reliable source of up-to-date information and evidence based studies designed to support decisions taken in health care.
Terms & conditions

User guide [PDF]
Current Contents Connect via ISI Web of Knowledge
A quick and easy way of keeping up to date with material published in your subject area.
Terms & conditions
Dissertation & Theses Full Text via Proquest
Full text available from 1997 - present
Contains more than 1.6 million Phd and Masters thesis accepted by accredited educational institutions and universities. Check to see what other thesis candidates have done in your field!
(Note: Very large files; may be slow to download off-campus.)
Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
All EBM Reviews: Cochrane DSR, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CLEED, CLCMR, & CLHTA via OvidSP
This multifile database allows you to search simultaneously the seven Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CCTR), NHS Economic Evaluation Database (CLEED), Health Technology Assessment (CLHTA), and Cochrane Methodology Register (CLMCR).
Terms & conditions
Embase
A major pharmacological, biomedical and drug information database. Contains a large number of full text articles from journals published worldwide.
Terms & conditions

Tutorial
ERIC via OvidSP (1966 - present)
Provides extensive access to educational-related literature.
Includes coverage of meetings, conferences, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, books and monographs.
Alternative interfaces are available: ERIC via CSA or ERIC via Proquest
Terms & conditions

User guide
ERIC Web 1966 - present
Provides free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, if available, includes links to full text.
 
Expanded Academic Index ASAP (1980 - present)
Contains an index, abstracts and full-text. Topics covered include communication studies, social science, science and technology, women studies, sociology, environment, and public affairs.
Terms & conditions
GrantSearch
Australia's most comprehensive index of grant opportunities. Australian content
 
HIVA - HIV/AIDS Database via Informit Online
A bibliographic database of journal articles, books and audiovisual titles listed in the catalogues of the NSW HIV/AIDS Library Network. Australian content
Terms & conditions
HM Information Clearinghouse
University of Sydney knowledge based clearinghouse on home modifications for the aged and disabled. Australian content
 
Journal Citation Reports via ISI Web of Knowledge
Discover analytical information on journals such as impact factor and citation frequency.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials

Bookmarking the database
MIMS Online
Australia's most comprehensive and authoritative pharmaceutical database. Provides full information on prescription and non-prescription drugs. Full colour product identification pictures are available.
Terms & conditions
NICAN
Contains sport and recreation information for people with disabilities Australian content
 
Oshrom: CISDOC via SilverPlatter (1960 - present)
Contains references from over 35 countries to key literature on safety and health at work.
 
Oshrom: HSELINE via SilverPlatter (1977 - present)
Covers Occupational Health and Safety journal article, publications, conference proceedings for the UK.
 
Oshrom: MHIDAS via SilverPlatter (1960 - present)
Major Hazard Incident Data Service developed by AEA Technology on behalf of the Major Hazards Assessment Unit of the United Kingdom Health and Safety Executive (HSE).
 
Oshrom: Medline OEM via SilverPlatter (1965 - present)
Medline database subset that covers occupational and environmental medicine.
 
Oshrom: NIOSHTIC2 via SilverPlatter (1960 - present)
Covers aspects of workplace safety and health literature. Includes occupational medicine, physiology and ergonomics.
 
Oshrom: RILOSH via SilverPlatter (1975 - present)
Contains information on health and safety. Including workplace disability issues, safety engineering and workers' compensation.
 
ProQuest 5000
Offers a number of databases across a range of subject areas including business, general reference, education, science, technology and medicine. It provides both abstracts, indexing and full-text.
Terms & conditions

Quickstart guide
PsycBITE : Psychological Database for Brain Impairment Treatment Efficacy
Catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI).
 
PsycInfo via OvidSP (1806 - present)
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes literature from disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Some full text.
Terms & conditions

User guide
PubMed
A free database offering access to the Medline database of citations and abstracts of biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, and PubMed covers fields related to medicine.
 
ScienceDirect
One of the largest online collections of published scientific research. Good coverage of medical related subjects.
Terms & conditions
Standards Australia
Provides access to the complete collection of current Australian Standards, Draft Standards, and handbooks
Australian content
Terms & conditions
University of Sydney Theses
All University theses are listed in the library catalogue. Search by Author, Title, Subject or Keyword.
 

Back to top