Peace and Conflict Studies Databases

Ask A Librarian

Return to Peace and Conflict Studies Guide


Key databases for Peace and Conflict Studies  
World Wide Political Science Abstracts (1975-present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources in Political science and other related social science disciplines. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in Peace & Conflict Studies.
Terms & Conditions

Help
Sociological Abstracts (1952-present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources on political science, sociology and peace & conflict studies and other related social science disciplines. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in Peace & Conflict studies.
Terms & conditions

Help
PAIS : Public Affairs Information Service (1972-present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources in international policy & governance issues, political science and other disciplines within the social sciences. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in the Peace & Conflict Studies.
Terms & Conditions

Help
CIAO : Columbia International Affairs Online (1991-present)
Published research on international affairs from university research institutes, NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, articles and policy briefs.


Help
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text (1978-present)
References mainly Australian journal articles and other published material in the social sciences and humanities. Selected full-text from 1994/1995. Australian content
 
Agreements, Treaties and Negotiated Settlements Database
Online gateway linking "current information, historical detail and published material relating to agreements made between Indigenous people and others in Australia and overseas" Australian content
 
JSTOR
Full-text for major journals in the Social and Political Sciences. Latest five years are not available in this database.
Terms & conditions
Web of Science
Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities citation indexes, useful for citation and subject searching for articles, books and reviews in the social sciences and related disciplines. Allows the identification of key articles in a discipline.
Terms & conditions

Help
Proquest 5000
Multiple databases covering disciplines within the Social Sciences. Also includes digitised collections of key US newspapers, dissertations & theses.
Terms & conditions

Help
Google Scholar
Searches academic information on the internet. May also allow access to publications to which the University of Sydney Library subscribes.
 
News databases for Peace and Conflict Studies  
Factiva
Full-text news, commentary, pictures and media transcripts from over 8,000 overseas and Australian news media sources.
Help
World News Connection
Compiled by the United States Foreign Broadcasting Information Service (FBIS) from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. Material is translated and either an extract, or the full publications is available from the database.
Terms & Conditions

Help
Statistical databases useful for Peace and Conflict Studies  
ASSDA : Australian Social Sciences Data Archive (1977-present)
Over 2,000 data sets from Australian and non-Australian Studies. Data available for research includes opinion polls, social attitude surveys, electoral studies, education, youth studies, social welfare and social attitudes. Access information is available from the ASSDA website. Australian content
 
Source OECD
Full-text for all OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) publications, useful for economic and social, data and analysis. Includes publications on violence, social cohesion and human rights.
Terms & conditions

Help
More databases for Peace and Conflict Studies (A - Z)  
Asia-Studies Full-text Online
Full-text reports and articles on social, political, environmental, political and issues pertaining to ethnic conflict, sustainable peace and development in Asia, Australia/New Zealand, the Americas Pacific Rim countries, and the Pacific islands. Many reports include graphs, tables and statistics.
Help
Capital Monitor's University Intranet (1990-present)
Parliamentary and Legal information from federal and selected State Parliaments. Includes extracts from debates, press releases, case information, policy and legislative documents. Full-text available for many publications. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Content & Coverage
Communication & Mass Media Complete via Ebsco (1915-present)
References articles, conference papers, magazines and books in media studies, journalism, ethical aspect of the media and the making documentaries and media coverage of current conflicts.
Terms and Conditions
Econlit via CSA (1963-present)
References articles, conference papers, magazines and books in the economic aspects of conflict. Useful for locating academic journals in peace and conflict studies.
Terms and Conditions
Historical Abstracts
References articles, reviews and conference papers on world history (1450 to the present), excluding America, includes cultural & social history.
Terms & conditions
Libraries Australia
Searches the combined catalogues of Australian libraries and also includes Australian Research Repositories Online to the World (ARROW), PictureAustralia and other major Library catalogues. Australian content
Help
MAIS : Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies (1988-present)
Covers immigration and multicultural issues, including ethnicity, racism, refugees, and resettlement issues. Compiled by the Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs Library. References articles and other published and unpublished material. Australian content
Help
ParlinfoWeb
Freely available Australian parliamentary documents including debates (Hansard), media releases,legislation, bills, second readings, explanatory memorandum, senate and house committee transcripts, background papers and research notes Australian content
Help
United Nations Treaty Collection Homepage (Scroll down and click on Access to the database)
Treaty Reference Guide Home Page
Full text access to all treaties and international agreements entered into by any Member of the United Nations.
Terms & conditions

>Direct Access to database

Frequently Asked Questions

Back to top