Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Performance Studies Databases



Go to Performance Studies Guide

Key databases for Performance Studies  
IIPA : International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (1864 - present)
Provides indexing, abstracts and full-text to over 240 international periodicals, covering a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry.

IIPA and IIMP may be searched together
Terms & Conditions

Quick Start Guide
Ausstage
Freely available gateway to the Performing Arts in Australia, including a directory of people, organisations, theatre productsions and events. Australian content
 
Australia Dancing
Freely available site providing access to both current and historical information about dance in Australia. Australian content
 
Cambridge Histories Online
Provides access to the complete series of Cambridge Histories from Cambridge University Press, browsable by 15 key subject areas including Histories of the theatre, music, religion, the book, literature, language, science, warfare, and American, British, Economic History.
Please click logout button when finished.
Terms & conditions
Dance on Disc
The complete catalogue of the Dance Collection of the New York Public Library on CD-rom.

Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.

Project Muse
Full text of peer-reviewed humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers. It includes the "Theatre Journal" and "TDR: The Drama Review".
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for Performance Studies (A - Z)  
AEM : Arts and Entertainment Managementvia Informit Online (1982-2000)
References to journal articles, chapters and reports on arts and entertainment management. Australian content

Terms & conditions

Helpsheet
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Textvia Informit Online (1978-present)
Contains APAIS: Australian Public Affairs Information Service 1978 to present, which indexes articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities. It also includes full text articles 1994/1995 to present, from the top 200 journals indexed.
Journals available in Full Text
Journals indexed
Australian content

Help
ARTbibliographies Modern : ABM
References to journal articles, chapters and reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, including performance art.
Terms & conditions

Help
ARTstor
A searchable repository of digital images and related data, drawn from different sources

Technical requirements:
Flash Player: Version 6 or above; Java: Sun Version 1.3 or above; Pop-up blocking software: Must be disabled or set to allow pop-up windows from www.artstor.org; Cookies: Must be enabled. More...
Terms & conditions
Dissertation & Theses Full Text
Major source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full text is available from 1997 to the present.

Note: It contains very large files; may be slow to download off-campus.

Terms & conditions

Help
Expanded Academic Index ASAPvia Gale Infotrac (1980-present)
Full text and abstracts from a large number of multidisciplinary journals.
Terms & conditions
Factiva
Full text newspaper articles and pictures of over 8,000 international newspaper and newswire publications, from mid-1980s onwards. Excellent for reviews and opinion pieces.

15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage. Note: Click Logout when finished.
User Guide

Quick Search Tips

Browser Help
Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine.
 
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection - search via Informit Online
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection - browse titles
This provides access to full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. The broad subject coverage ensures relevance to library users of all interests especially Aboriginal and indigenous studies, arts, history, law, literary studies, media, political science and sociology. Australian content
Terms & conditions
IIMP : International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text(1864-present)
References, with some full text, to journal articles, chapters and reviews on nearly all aspects of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes.

IIPA and IIMP may be searched together.
Terms & Conditions

Quick Start Guide
JSTOR
Full text of major humanities journals. Does not include the current five years of issues.
Terms & conditions
Literature & Culture Collection via Informit Online (1940 - present)
Offers a number of Australia’s best known literary and art magazines that help define Australia’s literary and cultural heritage. Includes Meanjin and Media International Australia (MIA) backfiles.
Complementary access for 2012. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Tutorials:
Basic
Advanced
London Low Life via Adam Matthews
A full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.
Terms & conditions
Mass Observation Online with Update I & II via Adam Matthews
Mass Observation was a pioneering social research organisation whose papers provide insights into the cultural and social history of Britain from 1937 to 1965. Mass Observation Online offers an unparalled insight into everyday life in the 1930s and 1940.
Terms & conditions
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Victorian Popular Culture: Sensation, Spiritualism and Magic & Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks
An archive of original materials for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Terms & conditions
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Contains the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Useful for subject and citation searching for any discipline.
Terms & conditions

Tutorial

Back to top