Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Pharmacy Databases

Ask A Librarian

Return to Pharmacy Subject Guide

Key databases for Pharmacy  
AccessPharmacy via McGraw Hill (2007 - present)
A comprehensive pharmacological and pharmacy resource which includes: Clinical Sciences; Social, Behavioral, and Administrative Pharmacy Sciences; Pharmaceutical Sciences and Basic Biomedical Sciences.
 
AMH - Australian Medicines Handbook
Authoritative educational resource of independent drug information for prescribing and dispensing. Australian content
 
BMJ Best Practice
A point of care decision-support tool. Provides access to reliable, up-to-date information structured around the patient consultation assisting students and clinicians with diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment decisions.
Terms & conditions

Video tutorial

Catalyst
Important: Logout out of Catalyst and if you link through to Martindale, close its window when finished.
Catalyst provides quick, easy access to the popular AusDI Independent Drug Monographs, pharmaceutical company product information (PI), consumer medicine information (CMI) leaflets, drug product images, a product identifier module with convenient links to your choice of drug interaction system(s). The Australian independent drug monographs, originally published in the popular AusDI product, include full-text, evidence-based drug and drug-class monographs. Australian content
 
Embase.com (1966 - present)
Authoritative biomedical and pharmacological resource indexing 4000+ journals in the fields of Drug Research, Radiology and Nuclear Medicine, Pharmacology, Pharmacy, Pharmacoeconomics, Pharmaceutics and Toxiology.
Terms & conditions

Video Tutorials

Quick Reference Guide
eTG Complete, 2007
Provides clinical guidelines on analgesia, antibiotics, cardiovascular, respiratory, endocrinology, neurology, gastroenterology, dermatology, palliative care, psychotropics; and drug prescribing in pregnancy and breastfeeding.
 
MDConsult - Drugs
MD Consult – Drugs database searches generic and brand name drugs, investigational medications, neutraceuticals, and nutritional products. FDA Approvals and Safety Notices are added when announced by the US Food and Drug Administration or a specific drug manufacturer.
Terms & conditions
MedicinesComplete (2006 - present)
Access to several major resources in pharmacy and pharmacology.
Terms & conditions
Medline via OvidSP (1950 - present)
Authoritative medical resource covering research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services. (See also PubMed)
Terms & conditions

Ovid Basic Helpsheet (pdf)
PubMed
Pubmed for handhelds
Provides public access to Medline and additional resources. See also Medline (Ovid)
Page expired message
MIMS Online
Important: please close your browser down to end your MIMS session & enable other users to access MIMS.
An authoritative and comprehensive pharmaceutical database.

Also try Catalyst, a generic-based drug information resource. It covers a very comprehensive range of drugs including many over the counter (OTC) and hospital use only products. Australian content
Terms & conditions
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts via OvidSP (1950 - present)
Covers clinical and technical drug information, pharmacy practice, legislation, pharmaceutical education, and legal aspects of pharmacy and drugs.
Terms & Conditions

Ovid Basic Helpsheet (pdf)
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews via OvidSP
Consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases produced by the Cochrane Collaboration.
User Guide
More databases useful for Pharmacy (A - Z)  
APAIS-Health (Australian Public Affairs and Information Service via Informit Online (1978 - present)
Covers the legal, social, economical and ethical aspects of health and medicine. Australian content
 
AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine via OvidSP (1985 - present)
Coverage includes Complementary medicine, Physiotherapy, Occupational therapy, Rehabilitation, Podiatry, and Palliative care.
Terms & Conditions

Ovid Basic Helpsheet (pdf)
BIOSIS Previews via ISI Web of Knowledge (1926 - present)
Comprehensive index to life sciences and biomedical research.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials

BIOSIS controlled vocabulary
British Pharmacopoeia
Authoritative resource for government official directions for the identification of samples and preparation of medical compounds.
Login required on-campus
Access problem? Delete your browser cookies and temporary internet files. (For Internet Explorer 7: Tools > Internet Options > Browsing History)
&nbsp
Burgher's Medicinal Chemistry and Drug Discovery, 2008 via Wiley Interscience
Broad coverage of medicinal chemistry and drug discovery resources.
Terms & conditions
Cinahl via Ebsco (1982 - present)
CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Terms & conditions

Searching Cinahl

Searching CINAHL (iResearch)
Clinical Evidence via PubMed Central (2003 - to two years ago)
BMJ Clinical Evidence systematic reviews summarise the current state of knowledge and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of clinical conditions, based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature.
Terms & Conditions

Ovid Basic Helpsheet (pdf)
Current Contents Connect via ISI Web of Knowledge (1998 - present)
Indexes tables of contents and bibliographic records for scholarly journals covering all academic disciplines.
Terms & Conditions

Tutorials
Drug Database (DRUG) via Informit Online (1974 - present)
Indexes articles from published and unpublished material on the psychosocial aspects of drug use and misuse. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Druginfo Portal (NLM)
Drug Information Portal - U.S. National Library of Medicine - Access to over 12,000 drugs.
 
Drugs, Supplements, and Herbal Information via MedlinePlus (2007-present)
Covers information on prescriptions and medications through two drug resources: USP DI and Advice for the Patient. Information on herbs and supplements are provided by Natural Standard.
 
All EBM Reviews: Cochrane DSR, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CLEED, CLCMR, & CLHTA via OvidSP
This multifile database allows you to search simultaneously the seven Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CCTR), NHS Economic Evaluation Database (CLEED), Health Technology Assessment (CLHTA), and Cochrane Methodology Register (CLMCR).
Terms & Conditions
Factiva.com
Covers local and international news publications, commentary, pictures, company information and stock quotes. Contains business information for pharmacy practice.

15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage.
User Guide (pdf)

Quick Search Tips (pdf)

Advanced Search Quick Reference (pdf)

Company Search Tips (pdf)
Google Scholar
A search engine for scholarly literature from broad disciplines of research including pharmacology and medicine.
 
Harrison's Online via Access Medicine
Access the complete contents of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine.
 
Health Collection - search via Informit Online
Health Collection - browse titles
A full-text allied health database. Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles. Australian content
Terms & conditions
HerbMedPro
Provides access to the scientific data underlying the medicinal use of herbs. From the American Botanical Council.
 
Informa Healthcare
Pharmaceutical, life science and medical journal titles. Database offers a comprehensive one stop-shop with the ability to search through more than 276,000 articles for relevant content.
Terms & conditions

Journal Citation Reports via ISI Web of Knowledge
Provides bibliometric analyses of citations in the Science Citation Index using quantitative tools for ranking, evaluating, categorizing and comparing journals.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials

Bookmarking the database
Merck Index
The Merck Index Online is the online counterpart to the printed edition of The Merck Index, an internationally recognized, one-volume encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals
 
MDConsult
Daily drug updates include customisable patient handouts and peer-reviewed clinical practice guidelines.
Terms & Conditions
Medical Evidence Matters
Scroll down the initial list of databases to click Medical Evidence Matters.
Allows you to assess therapy options for known medical conditions by comparing outcomes from the peer-reviewed literature. Results are organized into summary tables and graphs.
Terms & conditions
NLM Chemical Information via US National Library of Medicine
Includes:
ChemIDplus
Provides access to searching other databases for information about a given chemical.
NCI-3D
includes information compiled from the US National Cancer Institute.
AIDSDrugs Structures
Includes a table of substances referenced in the NLM AIDSDRUGS file with viewable structures.
 
Oxford Reference Online
Includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri and guides, across 25 subject areas in Food and Nutrition, Medicinal Drugs, Medicine, Nursing, Psychology, Public Health, Sports Science & Medicine
Terms & Conditions
Help
Pharmaceutical News Index via Proquest (1974 - present)
The database covers pharmacological news, research, and regulatory information. Includes the most important specialized publications in the pharmaceutical, health care, biotechnology, and medical device industries.

Terms & conditions

Quickstart Guide
Pre-Medline via OvidSP
PreMEDLINE is the in-process database for MEDLINE.
Terms & Conditions

Ovid Basic Helpsheet (pdf)
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
PsychiatryOnline
Features a collection of psychiatric references, including ejournals and self-assessment tools. Includes e-books in clinical psychopharmacology; DSM-IV and related resources.
Terms & conditions
PsychINFO via OvidSP (1806 - present)
Covers psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences and related fields such as medicine, neuroscience and psychiatry.
Terms & Conditions

Ovid Basic Helpsheet (pdf)

Tutorial - Produced by the School of Psychology, University of Sydney.
PubChem (NLM)
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.
 
SciFinder Web Version
International chemistry journal articles, conferences, books, reports, patents within the Chemical Abstracts database; Chemical Abstracts from 1907, and Medline from 1966. Subject coverage includes chemical engineering, chemistry, biochemistry, pharmacy, pharmacology, agricultural chemistry, food science and medicine.

Note: New users must register before using the web version. Your UniKey login is required for registration.

This database can only be used by staff and students of the University of Sydney.
Note: Google Chrome not supported. Scifinder System Requirements
More info

How to Guides

Tutorials
Scirus
A search engine covering the sciences and filters out non-scholarly material.
 
Scopus
Covers published material in the humanities and sciences; provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Terms & Conditions

Interactive Tutorials
STAT!Ref
Covers the areas of medicine, pharmacy and health sciences.
 
Taylor and Francis
Covers the areas of psychology, psychotherapy & Jung, education practice, education theory, health & society, and medicine & pharmacology.
 
TOXNET
A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas.
 
ISI Web of Knowledge
A portal which hosts Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, BIOSIS Previews, CAB Abstracts, MEDLINE, and via the Additional Resources tab, Journal Citation Reports.
Terms & Conditions

Recorded Training

Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge (1975 - Present)
Accesses current and retrospective works including cited reference searching to track a paper's influence.
Terms & Conditions

Tutorial

Back to top