Physics and Astronomy Databases

Ask A Librarian

Return to Physics Guide

Key databases for Physics & Astronomy  
Inspec via OvidSP (1969 - present)
Subject coverage: physics, electronics, communications, electrical engineering, control engineering, information technology, computers, control engineering, and the applications of computers to a wide variety of disciplines.
Terms & conditions
Lecture Notes in Physics (2000 - present)
The series Lecture Notes in Physics (LNP) reports on new developments in physics research and teaching.
NASA ADS Abstract Server
The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project which maintains three bibliographic databases: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and ArXiv e-prints.
 
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
One of the largest Science databases with good coverage of physics, and astrophysics. It also provides citation analysis of authors, journals and subject areas.
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for Physics & Astronomy (A - Z)  
ANSTI - Australian Nuclear Science & Technology Information
Contains Australian scientific and technical literature covering the broad spectrum of nuclear science research and development, with special emphasis on its peaceful applications. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Current Contents Connect via ISI Web of Knowledge
A quick and easy way of keeping up to date with material published in your subject area.
Terms & conditions
Encyclopedia of Astronomy & Astrophysics Online
This unique encyclopedia covers the entire field of astronomy & astrophysics and is frequently updated with new material. More than 800 experts in their respective fields create this unparalleled resource in scientific publishing.


User manual [PDF]
Encyclopedia of Modern Optics
Subjects covered: light and optics, lasers, optical fibers, optical materials, and applications of all these in control and manufacturing, data processing and storage, applications in environment, engineering, defence, ocean study, medicine and biology.
Terms & conditions
INIS Online DB: International Nuclear Information System (1970 - Present)
Contains bibliographic records on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology, also economic and environmental aspects of all non-nuclear energy sources.
 
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a Web database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
Terms & conditions
Scirus
Scirus is a web search engine focussing primarily on the sciences that filters out non-scholarly material.
 
Scopus
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Terms & conditions

Back to top