Political Economy Databases
Return to
Political Economy Guide
| Key databases for Political Economy | |
|---|---|
| APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text (1978 - present)
The main database for Australian politics, public affairs and economics. Bibliographic index to journal articles, major newspaper articles, conference papers and some books. Includes selected full text articles from 1994.
|
Terms & conditions
|
|
Econlit via Proquest (1969 - present)
Abstracts of journal articles, books, theses, conference proceedings, research papers, book reviews and working papers in economic theory and application. |
Terms & conditions |
| Social Theory Brings together an extensive range of influential writings representing the most important trends of sociological thought from the eighteenth century to the present day. |
Terms & conditions |
| Sociological Abstracts (1952-present)
References peer reviewed articles, conference papers, books and web resources on sociology and related disciplines. |
Terms & conditions |
| ProQuest Social Science Journals Searchable collection of social science journals. Disciplinescovered in the collection include: Economics, Gender studies, Policy sciences, Political science, Public welfare, Search a collection of full text journals covering the social sciences. |
Terms & conditions Quickstart Guide |
| Expanded Academic Index ASAP
Abstracts journals including the full-text of 520 journals indexed (last 3 years). Topics covered include humanities, communication studies, social science, science and technology, women studies, sociology, environment, and public affairs. |
Terms & conditions |
| Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 - present)
Built on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts and ABC Pol Sci, this database provides abstracts of the international serials literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration and policy. |
Terms & conditions |
|
The Making of the Modern World: the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature Part I ,1450-1850 & Part II, 1851-1914 The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1850 (and 1851-1914 in Part II) provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more. |
Terms & conditions |
| Historical Abstracts (1954 - present)
This database provides references to articles on economic, labour and political subjects from an historical perspective. |
Terms & conditions |
| More databases useful for Political Economy (A - Z) | |
| AGIS Plus Text : Attorney General's Information Service (1975 - present)
Bibliographic database with selected full text (from 1999) covering all aspects of law including administrative law, banking, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright law, environmental law, human rights, international law and trade practices.
|
Terms & conditions
|
| Asia-Studies Full-text Online Full-text reports from many research institutions in the Asia-Pacific region, covering 53 countries on a a wide range of business, government, economic, and social issues. |
|
| Australian Bureau of Statistics Australia's official statistical organisation. Freely available data for social, health, economic and demographic research and census data for 1996-2006. Links to other statistical agencies via the ABS subject themes page.
|
|
| ABS Census Datapacks Provides access to Census 2006 Community Profile data & digital boundaries "in bulk" See also CData Online.
|
|
| Business Source Premier
Abstracts of journals in nearly every area of business including management, economics and international business, providing full text of the world's top management journals, many back to the first issue. |
Terms & conditions |
|
CData Online 2006
Allows you to create your own tables of Census data on a range of topics such as, age, education, housing, income, transport, religion, ethinicity, occupation and more. ![]() |
|
| CIAO : Columbia International Affairs Online (1991 - present)
Full text database including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. |
|
| Factiva
Full text of more than 8,000 of the world's newspapers, newswires and magazines. For Australian news sources, the Fairfax archive is 13-22 years (SMH 1986+, no full text for AFR or BRW) and the News Limited archive is 8 years (Australian 1996+) 15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage. |
|
| Family: Australian Family & Society Abstracts Database (1980 - present)
Covers published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families. 2011: Family & Society Plus replaced by Humanities & Social Sciences Collection
|
Terms & conditions |
| Humanities & Social Sciences Collection via Informit (1940 - present) Broad subject coverage ensures relevance to users of all interests especially Aboriginal and indigenous studies, arts, history, law, literary studies, media, political science and sociology.
|
Terms & conditions |
| JSTOR Full-text of major academic journals and scholarly literature from around the world in the Social and Political Sciences. Latest five years not available in this database. |
Terms & conditions |
| Legaltrac via Infotrac (1980 - present) indexing legal journals including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. |
Terms & conditions |
|
OECD iLibrary
Comprises full text access to book collections, journal articles, reference titles and statistical databases in School of Business topics |
Terms & Conditions
OECD iLibrary Getting Started [pdf] |
| PAIS : Public Affairs Information Service via Proquest (1972 - present) Bibliographic index to journal articles, government documents, reports, books in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish on contemporary social, economic and political issues and public policy. |
Terms & conditions |
| Proquest Central (formerly Proquest 5000)
Multiple partial full text databases covering disciplines within the Social Sciences, including full text of many North American dissertations & theses. |
Terms & conditions |
| Proquest Newsstand databases Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts. Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list. Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. |
Terms & conditions |
| Social Services Abstracts via Proquest (1980 - present)
Bibliographic coverage of current research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. |
Terms & conditions |
| Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Provides citation and subject searching for articles, books and reviews in the social sciences and related disciplines. Allows the identification of key articles in a discipline and to search by cited reference, that is to trace references that refer to a particular work or author. |
Terms & conditions |
| World News Connection
Information compiled from non-U.S. media sources obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. |
Terms & conditions |



