Psychology Databases

Ask A Librarian

Return to Psychology Guide

Key databases for Psychology  
PsycINFO via OvidSP (1806-present)
The major database for Psychology produced by the American Psychological Association. It contains bibliographic references and abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and technical reports. Source material comes from a wide range of languages. Contains links to selected full text. Covers psychology: social, clinical, cognitive and neuropsychology; psychiatry, sociology, anthropology and education.
Terms & conditions
PsycBOOKS via OvidSP
PsycBOOKS is a full-text database of books and chapters produced by the American Psychological Association.
Terms & conditions
PsycARTICLES via OvidSP
PsycARTICLES is a full-text database of journal articles produced by the American Psychological Association. From the search screen tick the PsycARTICLES limit box.
Terms & conditions
PsycCRITIQUES via OvidSP
PsycCRITIQUES is a full-text database of book reviews produced by the American Psychological Association. Films, software and other media are also reviewed.
Terms & conditions
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Contains full text information about and reviews of all english language standardized test. Covers educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology and related areas. Only one user permitted at a time so if you get a busy message please logoff and try again later. Be sure to click Logoff at the end of your session.
Terms & conditions

Web of Science
Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities citation indexes, useful for citation and subject searching for articles, books and reviews in psychology, mental health and related disciplines. Allows the identification of key articles in a discipline.
Terms & conditions

Help
Scopus
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Terms & conditions

Medline (1950-present)
Medline is the major database for clinical medicine, it is produced by the National Library of Medicine, USA.
Terms & conditions

Help
Science Direct (1950-present)
Science Direct is a database of full text journal articles produced by the publisher Elsevier.
Terms & conditions

Help
Dissertation & Theses Full Text
Contains over 2.3 million dissertations and theses from around the world; includes abstracting and indexing. Electronic full text available from 1997- . Note: The full text files are very large.
Terms & conditions

Cinahl
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) provides coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.
Terms & conditions
Libraries Australia
Searches the combined catalogues of Australian libraries and also includes Australian Research Repositories Online to the World (ARROW), PictureAustralia, the British Library Catalogue, Consortium of [British] University Research Libraries,Library of Congress Catalogue, and OCLC WorldCat. Australian content
Help
More databases for Psychology (A - Z)  
ABI Inform
Bibliographic references and abstracts, with selected full text, to journal articles covering business, industry and management. Covers organisational psychology, mentoring and coaching psychology.
Terms & conditions
Academic Research Library
Search on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
Terms & conditions
Business Source Premier via Ebsco (1922 to present)
Bibliographic references and abstracts to journal articles covering business, industry and management. Includes many full text scholarly journals.

Terms & conditions
Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption via BiblioLine (1965-present)
References research on the maltreatment, safety, permanency and well-being of children.

Help
Comdisdome
Comdisdome is an information service for speech-language pathologists, audiologists, and students in the field of Communication Sciences and Disorders.

Terms & conditions
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : text revision, DSM-IV-TR
Electronic version of 2000 edition published by the American Psychiatric Association.

Terms & conditions
EMBASE.com
EMBASE is an international pharmacological and biomedical database indexing medical and drug information from 70 countries.
Terms & conditions
Encyclopedias - online
Links to a range of Online Encyclopedias in the Library's collection.
 
ERIC: Educational Resources Information Center (1966-present)
via CSA
via OvidSP
via PROQUEST
via WEB
References journal articles and unpublished documents on educational theory and practice. Indexes research on education policy and practice in development contexts.
 
Expanded Academic ASAP (1980-present)
Topics covered include humanities, communication studies, social science, science and technology, women studies, sociology, environment, and public affairs.
Terms & conditions
Family & Society Plus (1980-present) via Informit Online
References research, policy and practice issues relating to Australian families and society. Includes journal articles, government documents and publications from non profit and advocacy organisations. Selected full-text from 2000. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Journal Citation Reports - Science Edition and Social Sciences Edition 2000 -
Includes bibliometric analyses of citations found in both the Science and Social Sciences Citation Index by providing quantitative tools for ranking, evaluating, categorizing, and comparing journals.
Cookie settings for JCR
Terms & conditions

Tutorial
Philosopher's Index
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
 
PILOTS Database (1871-present)
The goal of PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) is to to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
Terms & conditions
PsycBITE
Contains published evidence-based empirical reports on the effectiveness of non-pharmacological interventions for the psychological consequences of acquired brain impairment.
 
PsychiatryOnline
PsychiatryOnline features DSM-IV-TR and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including ejournals and self-asssessment tools.
Terms & conditions
Sage Psychology Collection via CSA
A full text ejournal collection. Covers 30 journals published by SAGE and participating societies.
 
Scirus
Use Scirus, a science-specific Internet search engine, to find reports, articles and patents. Scirus is free but much of the full text material is not freely available without a subscription. Use the links to Scirus on the Library website when you are off-campus, and you will be able to access the full text of articles in journals to which the Library subscribes.
 
Sociofile/Sociological Abstracts
Bibliographic references and abstracts to literature of sociology and the related social sciences including the topics aging, AIDS, alcohol abuse, anthropology, cities, communications, counselling, crime, culture, death, demography, drugs, and education. Source material from over 30 languages.
Terms & conditions

Help
Taylor and Francis Online eBook Library
Taylor and Francis Online eBook Library is a collection of 600 titles covering the areas of psychology, psychotherapy & Jung, education practice, education theory, health & society, and medicine & pharmacology.
Reading Taylor & Francis ebooks

Back to top