Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Religious Studies Databases

Key databases for Religious Studies  
ATLA Religion Database via OvidSP (1949 - present)
References to journal articles, books and reviews on religion, biblical studies and related fields, particularly in the West.
Terms & conditions

Help

Cambridge Histories Online
Provides access to the complete series of Cambridge Histories from Cambridge University Press, browsable by 15 key subject areas including Histories of religion, music, theatre, language, the book, literature, science, warfare, and American, British, Economic History.
Please click logout button when finished.
Terms & conditions
Religious Periodicals via ProQuest
Full text of articles from academic and popular journals on religion.
Terms & conditions
Philosopher’s Index via Ovid (1940 - present)
References to journal articles, books and reviews on philosophy and related disciplines.
 
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full text of academic encyclopedias. It includes the Encyclopedia of Religion and the Encyclopedia of Buddhism.
Terms & conditions
Brill Reference Online
Full text of academic encyclopedias. It includes the Encyclopedia of Islam, the Encyclopedia of the Qur’¯an and the New Pauly for Classical mythology.
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for Religious Studies (A - Z)  
Acta Sanctorum
A collection of documents examining the lives of the saints, organised according to each saint's feast day. The text is in Latin.
Terms & conditions

Help
Early Western Korans 1537-1857
Contains all Arabic Koran editions printed in Europe before 1850, as well as all complete translations directly from the Arabic (until about 1860).
System requirements
 
Expanded Academic Index ASAP via Gale InfoTrac (1980 - present)
Full text and abstracts from a large number of multidisciplinary journals.
Terms & conditions
Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine.
 
JSTOR
Full text of major Classics and Ancient History journals. Does not include the current five years of issues.
Terms & conditions
Motif Index of Folk Literature
Stith Thompson’s classification of narrative elements in folktales, ballads, myths, fables, mediaeval romances, example, fabliaux, jest-books and local legends.

Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.
 
Patrologia Latina
The "Works of the Latin Fathers" from about AD 200 to AD 1216. It is the complete electronic version of Migne's 1st edition.
Terms & conditions
Religious and Theological Abstracts (1948 - present)
Provides objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. It currently abstracts more than 400 journals, with summaries produced by a team of scholars from around the world. Coverage includes journals relating to Christianity, Judaism, and other world religions. English language abstracts are provided for articles in French, German, Dutch, Swedish, Norwegian, Afrikaans, Hebrew, Italian, and Spanish.
 
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Contains the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Useful for subject and citation searching for any discipline.
Terms & conditions

Tutorial

Back to top