Social Work Databases

Ask A Librarian

Return to Social Work Guide
Return to Social Policy Guide

Key Databases | News databases | Statistical databases | Legal & Parliamentary | Health & Palliative Care
Child, Youth, Family | More databases for Social Work

Key databases for Social Work  
Social Work Abstracts (1977 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources on social work, social policy, child, family and community welfare, and other related policy and legislative issues.
Terms & conditions

Help
Social Services Abstracts (1979 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Terms & conditions

Help
Family & Society Plus 1980- via Informit Online (1980 - present)
References research, policy and practice issues relating to Australian families and society. Includes journal articles, government documents and publications from non profit and advocacy organisations. Selected full-text from 2000. Australian content
Terms & conditions
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text (1978 - present)
References journal articles and other published material in the social sciences and humanities. Selected full-text from 1994/1995. Australian content
Terms & conditions
MAIS : Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies (1988 - present)
Covers immigration and multicultural issues, including ethnicity, racism, education, migrant health and welfare, refugees, population studies. Compiled by the Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs Library. References articles and other published and unpublished material. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Help
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources on sociology, social policy and other related social science disciplines. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in Sociology.
Terms & conditions

Help
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities citation indexes, useful for citation and subject searching for articles, books and reviews in the social sciences and related disciplines. Allows the identification of key articles in a discipline.
Terms & conditions

Help
Libraries Australia
Searches the combined catalogues of Australian libraries and also includes Australian Research Repositories Online to the World (ARROW), PictureAustralia, the British Library Catalogue, Consortium of [British] University Research Libraries,Library of Congress Catalogue, and OCLC WorldCat. Australian content
Help
News databases for Social Work  
Factiva
Full-text news, commentary, pictures and media transcripts from over 8,000 overseas and Australian news media sources.
Help
World News Connection
Compiled by the United States Foreign Broadcasting Information Service (FBIS) from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. Material is translated and either an extract, or the full publications is available from the database.
Terms & Conditions

Help
Statistical databases useful for Social Work  
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Australia's official statistical organisation. Freely available data for social, health, economic and demographic research and census data for 1996 - 2006. Links to other statistical agencies via the ABS subject themes page. Australian content
 
Australian Bureau of Statistics SEIFA Socio-Economic Indicators for Areas
ABS ABS indicies whichallow ranking of regions/areas, providing a method of determining the level of social and economic well-being in each region Australian content
 
ASSDA : Australian Social Sciences Data Archive (1977 - present)
Over 2,000 data sets from Australian and non-Australian studies. Data available for research includes census data, opinion polls, electoral studies, education, youth studies, social welfare and social attitudes. Access information is available from the ASSDA website. Australian content
 
ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICSPRI) (1977 - present)
ICPSR maintains and provides access to an archive of social science data for research and instruction. Access to data via ASSDA. Information on data sets aviable from ICPSR website.
 
Source OECD
Full-text for all OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) publications, useful for economic, social data and analysis.
Terms & conditions

Help
World Development Indicators (1997 - present)
Published by the World Bank this database contains 900 indicators organised in six sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links

Available on Library workstations from the "Additional Databases" folder on the PC Desktop.
 
Legal and Parliamentary Databases for Social Work  
AGIS Plus Text : Attorney General's Information Service (1975 - present)
References journal articles, government documents and publications from non profit organizations and law reform commissions. Covers all aspects of the Law in Australia, New Zealand and the Asia-Pacific. Full-text for selected publications from 1999. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Help
AustLII: Australasian Legal Information Institute
Freely available primary legal materials: legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals); and secondary legal publications including law reform and royal commission reports and a substantial collection of law journals. Provides access to the law in other countries via AsianLII, WorldLII, NZLII, BaiLII etc. Australian content
Help
AFPD : Australian Federal Police Digest (1991 - present)
References criminology, law enforcement, law, management and policing issues in the social science. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Help
Capital Monitor's University Intranet (1990 - present)
Parliamentary and Legal information from federal and selected State Parliaments. Includes extracts from debates, press releases, case information, policy and legislative documents. Full-text available for many publications. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Content & Coverage
CINCH : Australian Criminology Database (1968 - present)
References published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime and criminal justice in Australia. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Help
Halsbury's Laws of Australia via LexisNexisAu
Statements of legal principle covering all jurisdictions in Australia. Browse categories or sub-categories or search by legal principle, keyword, phrase, case or legislation. Updated by Australian Current Law: Reporter.
Browser settings Australian content
Help
ParlinfoWeb
Freely available Australian parliamentary documents including debates (Hansard), media releases, legislation, bills, second readings, explanatory memorandum, senate and house committee transcripts, background papers and research notes Australian content
Help
New South Wales Parliamentary & Information Resources
Freely available New South Wales parliamentary documents including debates (Hansard), media releases, legislation, bills, second readings & explanatory memorandum, senate and house committee transcripts, background papers and research papers. Australian content
Help
Health & Palliative Care databases for Social Work  
Ageline via OvidSP (1978 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources on the psychological, policy, health, social, and economic contexts of age and ageing.
Terms & conditions

ATSIhealth : Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Bibliography (1900 - present)
Compiled by Neil Thomson and John Sutherland at the School of Health Studies, Edith Cowan University. References research on all aspects of Indigenous Health in journal articles, theses, unpublished material, government reports, book chapters, books, conference & discussion papers, and statistical documents. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Drug Database (1974 - present)
Alcohol and other Drugs Council of Australia (ADCA) database referencing journal articles, government documents and publications from non profit and advocacy organisations on the psychosocial aspects of drug abuse. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Help
Health & Society Database via Informit Online (1980 - present)
Published by the Australian Institute of Family Studies this database references research on health policy and the social, psychological, legal, and ethical issues of health in journal articles, government documents and publications from non profit and advocacy organisations. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Help
Medline via OvidSP (1990 - present)
References articles in clinical medicine, biomedicine, social and pyschological aspects of medicine and research literature from the allied health fields.
Required Browsers for Ovid
Alerts & saved searches
Terms & conditions

Help
Oxford handbook of palliative care
Clinical,social and ethical dimensions of palliative care.
 
PsycInfo via OvidSP (1806 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources on psychology; social, clinical and cognitive, neuropsychology and and the psychological aspects of social work, psychiatry, sociology, anthropology and education.
Required Browsers for Ovid
Alerts & saved searches
Terms & conditions

Help
Child, Youth & Family Studies databases for Social Work  
Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption via BiblioLine (1965 - present)
References research on the maltreatment, safety, permanency and well-being of children.
Help
Family and Society Studies Worldwide via BiblioLine (1970 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources on range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, policy and social work.
Terms & conditions

Help
Women's Studies International via BiblioLine (1972 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources on sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education


Help
More useful databases for Social Work  
CIAO : Columbia International Affairs Online (1991 - present)
Published research on international affairs, global social policy and governance from university research institutes, NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, articles and policy briefs.
Help
JSTOR
Full-text for major journals in the Social and Political Sciences. Latest five years are not available in this database.
Terms & conditions
Proquest 5000
Multiple databases covering disciplines within the Social Sciences. Also includes digitised collections of key US newspapers, dissertations & theses.
Terms & conditions

Help
Google Scholar
Searches academic information on the internet. May also allow access to publications to which the University of Sydney Library subscribes.
 
Peace Research Abstracts (Trial only) (1963 - present)
References articles and other published material in peace and conflict studies, human rights and other related disciplines. Evaluation Form
Terms & Conditions
Ulrich'sTM International Periodicals Directory
The major source of bibliographic and publisher information on magazines, newspapers, and academic journals.
Terms & conditions
World Wide Political Science Abstracts (1975 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources in Political science and other related social science disciplines. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in Sociology.
Terms & Conditions

Help

Back to top