Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Sociology and Social Policy Databases



Return to Sociology and Social Policy Guide

Key databases for Sociology and Social Policy  
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources on sociology and other related social science disciplines. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in Sociology.
Terms & conditions

JSTOR
Full-text for major journals in the Social and Political Sciences. Latest five years are not available in this database.
Terms & conditions
Social Theory
Brings together an extensive range of influential writings representing the most important trends of sociological thought from the eighteenth century to the present day.
Terms & conditions
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection via Informit (1940 - present)
Broad subject coverage ensures relevance to users of all interests especially Aboriginal and indigenous studies, arts, history, law, literary studies, media, political science and sociology. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Family: Australian Family & Society Abstracts Database via Informit Online (1980 - present)
References research, policy and practice issues relating to Australian families and society. Includes journal articles, government documents and publications from non profit and advocacy organisations.
2011: Family & Society Plus replaced by Humanities & Social Sciences Collection Australian content
Terms & conditions
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text (1978 - present)
References journal articles and other published material in the social sciences and humanities. Selected full-text from 1994/1995. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Human Rights Documents Online
Human Rights Documents Online (HRDO) will ultimately contain all human rights documents collected by the Human Rights Internet (HRI) in Ottawa in Canada since 1980. These documents emanate from 483 non-governmental human rights organizations (NGOs) worldwide, some of which have a universal scope, whilst others focus on the attainment of human rights in a specific area of the world.
Terms & conditions
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities citation indexes, useful for citation and subject searching for articles, books and reviews in the social sciences and related disciplines. Allows the identification of key articles in a discipline.
Terms & conditions

Help
ProQuest Social Science Journals
Search a collection of full text journals covering the social sciences.
Terms & conditions

Help
Proquest Central (formerly Proquest 5000)
Multiple databases covering disciplines within the Social Sciences. Also includes digitised collections of key US newspapers, dissertations & theses.
Terms & conditions

Help
Google Scholar
Searches academic information on the internet. May also allow access to publications to which the University of Sydney Library subscribes.
 
News databases for Sociology  
Factiva
Full-text news, commentary, pictures and media transcripts from over 8,000 overseas and Australian news media sources.
15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage
Help
World News Connection
Compiled by the United States Foreign Broadcasting Information Service (FBIS) from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. Material is translated and either an extract, or the full publications is available from the database.
Terms & Conditions

Help
Statistical databases useful for Sociology  
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Australia's official statistical organisation. Freely available data for social, health, economic and demographic research and census data for 1996-2006. Links to other statistical agencies via the ABS subject themes page. Australian content
 
ASSDA : Australian Social Sciences Data Archive (1977 - present)
Over 2,000 data sets from Australian and non-Australian Studies. Data available for research includes opinion polls, electoral studies, education, youth studies, social welfare and social attitudes. Access information is available from the ASSDA website. Australian content
 
CData Online 2006
Allows you to create your own tables of Census data on a range of topics such as, age, education, housing, income, transport, religion, ethinicity, occupation and more. Australian content
 
OECD iLibrary
Full-text for all OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) publications, including documents, periodicals and statistical databases.
Terms & conditions

Getting started [pdf]
More databases for Sociology (A - Z)  
AGIS Plus Text : Attorney General's Information Service (1975 - present)
References journal articles, government documents and publications from non profit organizations and law reform commissions. Covers all aspects of the Law in Australia, New Zealand and the Asia-Pacific. Full-text for selected publications from 1999. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Help
Agreements, Treaties and Negotiated Settlements Database
Online gateway linking "current information, historical detail and published material relating to agreements made between Indigenous people and others in Australia and overseas" Australian content
 
Capital Monitor's University Intranet (1990 - present)
Parliamentary and Legal information from federal and selected State Parliaments. Includes extracts from debates, press releases, case information, policy and legislative documents. Full-text available for many publications. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Content & Coverage
CIAO : Columbia International Affairs Online (1991-present)
Published research on international affairs from university research institutes, NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, articles and policy briefs.


Help
CINCH : Australian Criminology Database (1968 - present)
References published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime and criminal justice in Australia. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Help
Communication & Mass Media Complete via Ebsco (1915 - present)
References articles, conference papers, magazines and books in media studies, journalism, publishing, public relations and related disciplines. Useful for locating academic journals in media and communications.
Terms and Conditions
Everyday Life and Women in America, c.1800-1920 via Adam Matthews
Documents the social and cultural forces that shaped the everyday lives of Americans from 1800 to 1920. It provides: fully-searchable access to 75 rare periodicals, rare pamphlets, hundreds of monographs illuminating all aspects of family life, essays, sS=trong coverage of prescriptive literature and manuals for domestic management.
Terms & conditions
Libraries Australia
Searches the combined catalogues of Australian libraries and also includes Australian Research Repositories Online to the World (ARROW), PictureAustralia, the British Library Catalogue, Consortium of [British] University Research Libraries,Library of Congress Catalogue, and OCLC WorldCat. Australian content
Help
London Low Life via Adam Matthews
A full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.
Terms & conditions
MAIS : Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies (1988 - present)
Covers immigration and multicultural issues, including ethnicity, racism, education, migrant health and welfare, refugees, population studies. Compiled by the Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs Library. References articles and other published and unpublished material. Australian content
Terms & conditions

Help
Mass Observation Online with Update I via Adam Matthews
Mass Observation was a pioneering social research organisation whose papers provide insights into the cultural and social history of Britain from 1937 to 1965. Mass Observation Online offers an unparalled insight into everyday life in the 1930s and 1940.
Terms & conditions
Peace Research Abstracts (1963 - present)
References articles and other published material in peace and conflict studies, human rights and other related disciplines.
Terms & Conditions
PAIS : Public Affairs Information Service (1972 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources in international policy & governance issues, political science and other disciplines within the social sciences. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in the social & political sciences.
Terms & Conditions
ParlinfoWeb
Freely available Australian parliamentary documents including debates (Hansard), media releases,legislation, bills, second readings, explanatory memorandum, senate and house committee transcripts, background papers and research notes Australian content
Help
Proquest Military
Search a comprehensive collection of material on military subjects such as defense, aeronautics and space flight, civil engineering, political science, and more.
Terms & conditions
World Wide Political Science Abstracts (1975 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources in Political science and other related social science disciplines. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in Sociology.
Terms & Conditions
United Nations Treaty Collection
Once at the site click the Databases tab. The databases are listed on the left of screen: UNTS Database, LNTS Database.
Full text access to all treaties and international agreements entered into by any Member of the United Nations.
Terms & conditions

Treaty Reference Guide

Frequently Asked Questions

Back to top