Spanish Databases

Ask A Librarian

Return to Spanish Guide

Key databases for Spanish  
Factiva (Good coverage from the mid 1990's - present)
Factiva provides access to recent book, film and theatre reviews from a broad range of Spanish newspapers.
 
Film Index International
References international films and provides bibliographies of particluar films.
 
Historical Abstracts via Ebsco
References research on Latin American and Spanish history.
Terms & conditions
LLBA : Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts via CSA (1960's - present)
References peer-reviewed journal articles, dissertations, books and book review citations. An increasing number of articles are available in full text.
Terms & Conditions
MLA : Modern Languages Association International Biography via Ebsco (1890's - present)
References scholarly works on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics and film in Spanish. MLA contains some full text articles.
Terms & conditions
More databases useful for Spanish (A - Z)  
APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text via Informit Online (1978 - present)
Useful for Spanish-Australian relationships, references articles for over 200 Australian social science and humanites journals. Australian content
Terms & conditions
Dissertation & Theses Full Text via ProQuest
Access to full text doctoral dissertations and master's theses, mainly from US universities.
Terms & conditions
FIAF : FIAF International Film Archive Database via Webspirs (1972 - present)
References over 300 academic and popular Film and Television journals.
Terms & conditions
Google Scholar
Searches academic information on the internet and may allow access to publications subscribed to by the University of Sydney Library.
 
JSTOR
JSTOR provides full text access to the entire archive of key journals in Spanish.
Terms & Conditions.
Project Muse (mid 1990's - present)
Project Muse provides full text access to over 300 peer-reviewed humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Terms & conditions
Sociological Abstracts via CSA (1950's - present)
References articles, books and web resources on Latin American and Spanish social movements.
Terms & conditions

Help
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
One of the largest Humanities and Social Sciences databases with reasonable coverage of Latin American and Spanish Studies. It also provides citation analysis of authors and journals.
Terms & conditions

Help

Back to top