Library access to the Australian Financial Review and BRW
- Electronic access to the full-text of the Australian Financial Review, BRW, and other Fairfax Business Media publications through Factiva.com is no longer available. For more details see the Background information below.
- Abstracts (summaries) of the AFR are still available in Factiva.com from 1-1-2007 onwards.
- The Library is looking into providing extended access to AFR abstracts via ABIX (Australian Business Index).
- Academics wishing to provide electronic access to AFR articles for teaching purposes via eReserve should contact their Home Library ereserve staff for advice.
- The Sydney Morning Herald, The Age, and other Fairfax titles will continue to be available in Fairfax.com
Interim arrangements for Library access
Locate your articles in Factiva.com, then use the Library's hardcopy and microfilm to view the full text.
To find articles published January 2007 onwards search the AFR abstracts in Factiva.com.:
- Abstracts of issues of the Australian Financial Review published January 2007 onwards, will be available in Factiva.com by 7.30 am each publication day.
- To browse the abstracts in Factiva.com:
- type its code rst=afnr in the search box, and select your time period from the Date picklist
- To search the abstracts,
- click the + icon next to Source
- type australian financial review in the Find a Source box
- Enter
- Publication: Australian Financial Review (Abstracts) is displayed
- click the triangle icon beside the name to load the code for this publication in the Free text box
- add your search words in the Free text box after the code with and, eg type, and university of sydney
- click Run Search
Locate the full text in the Library:
- Australian Financial Review:
- Print copies of the Australian Financial Review are available in the Serials Room, level 3 of Fisher Library in wooden trays which are to the right as you walk in the door. Print copies are held for approximately three months until they are replaced by microfilm.
- The microfilm copy is at 079.94 14 in the Audio-Visual department, level 3 of Fisher Library. Currently the most recent available is December 2006.
- BRW:
- Print copies of BRW in Fisher Research and Current Serials at the call number 052 93
Background
As of 2 April 2007, the archives for all Fairfax Business Media sources have been deleted from Factiva.com: Australian Financial Review, BRW, Financial Review Smart Investor, MIS, CFO, Asset plus the discontinued sources Shares and Personal Investor.
It is also being removed from all other third-party providers of electronic content.
Fairfax Business Media have not yet developed an alternative electronic product for these business titles which has pricing, licencing, and access arrangements suitable for academic libraries.

