Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

United States Studies Databases



See also Databases for United States History

Key databases for United States Studies | News databases | Legal & Government | Statistical Sources |
More databases for United States Studies | Opinion Polls

Key databases for United States Studies  
PAIS : Public Affairs Information Service (1972 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources in current affairs, political science and other disciplines within the social sciences. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in social & sciences.
Terms and Conditions
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 - present)
Built on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts and ABC Pol Sci, this database provides abstracts of the international serials literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration and policy.
Terms & conditions
America : History and Life via Ebsco (1990 - present)
References to the articles, books and reviews on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Terms & conditions
Proquest Central (formerly Proquest 5000)
Multiple partial full text databases covering disciplines within the Social Sciences, including full text of many North American dissertations & theses.
Terms & conditions
ProQuest Social Science Journals
Search a collection of full text journals covering the social sciences.
Terms & conditions

Quickstart Guide
JSTOR
Full-text for major journals in Sociology, Political Science, Language and Literature, Film Studies and related disciplines. Includes key journals in American Studies. The latest five years are not available in this database.
Terms & conditions
Expanded Academic Index ASAP
Abstracts journals including the full-text of 520 journals indexed (last 3 years). Topics covered include humanities, communication studies, social science, science and technology, women studies, sociology, environment, and public affairs.
Terms & conditions
Google Scholar
Searches academic information on the internet. May also allow access to publications to which the University of Sydney Library subscribes.
 
News databases for United States Studies  
America’s Historical Newspapers, (Early American Newspapers 1690-1876)
Search, or browse hundreds of hundreds of historical newspapers via a timeline-based interface. Includes the complete contents of every newspaper.
Key title list
A companion to Early American Imprints
Terms & conditions
Factiva
Full-text news, commentary, pictures and media transcripts from over 8,000 overseas and Australian news media sources.
15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage.
Help (pdf)
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
World News Connection
United States Foreign Broadcasting Information Service (FBIS) compiled from non-U.S. media sources. Includes newspaper articles and television and radio transcripts. Material is translated and either an extract or the full article is available from the database.
Terms & Conditions

Help
Proquest Historical Newspaper Collection
Contains full text and full image articles from major American newspapers: Chicago Tribune (April 23, 1849-Dec. 31, 1986); The New York Times (Sept 18, 1851-Dec. 31, 2004); The Wall Street Journal (July 8, 1889-Dec. 31, 1990). Select required newspaper from drop down database menu.
Terms & Conditions

Help (pdf)
TVNews via Informit Online (September 2007 - present)
An index of Australian television news, current affairs programs, and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks and links to the video files. Provides an Australian perspective on US domestic and foreign affairs. (The local nightly news programmes currently included are broadcast from Melbourne)
Terms & Conditions

Access help
Legal and Government Documents  
Westlaw
Westlaw on-campus

Full text legislation, caselaw and journal articles from the U.S. and other jurisdictions (including Europe, U.K and Australasia) Australian content
 
LII : Legal Information Institute
Compiled and maintained by the Cornell Law School LII provides access to US statutes and court opinions. Legal information is also arranged by topic.
 
LexisNexis
Comprehensive full-text collection of legal material including reported and unreported, statutes, regulations, news and journal articles.
Access problems?
 
ParlinfoWeb
Freely available Australian parliamentary documents including debates (Hansard), media releases,legislation, bills, second readings, explanatory memorandum, senate and house committee transcripts, background papers and research notes. Follow debates that reflect relations beween Australia and the United States. Australian content
Help
United Nations Law Collection via HeinOnline
Includes the United Nations Treaty Series, International Court of Justice, Reports of Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders, and Reports of International Arbitral Awards.
 
Statistical Sources for United States Studies  
US Statistical Abstract : National Data book
The Statistical abstract provides access to an authoritative summary of statistical data on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Data is sources from the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and other Federal agencies and also non-governmental organizations.

ASSDA : Australian Social Sciences Data Archive (1977 - present)
Over 2,000 data sets from Australian and non-Australian Studies. Data is available for research includes opinion polls, electoral studies, education, youth studies, social welfare and social attitudes. Access information is available from the ASSDA website. Australian content

OECD iLibrary
Full-text for all OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) publications, including documents, periodicals and statistical databases.
Terms & conditions

Getting started [pdf]
More useful databases for United States Studies (A-Z)  
American Memory : Historical collections for the National Digital Library
Freely available, full text primary source materials on American history and culture in the Library of Congress.
 
Asia-Studies Full-text currently unavailable
Full-text reports and articles on social, economic, environmental, political and development issues in Asia, Australia/New Zealand, the Americas Pacific Rim countries, and the Pacific islands. Many reports include graphs, tables and statistics. References articles on US and Asia-Pacific Relations.
Help (pdf)
Business Source Premier via Ebsco (1922 - present)
Aggregation of business & economics journals, indexes and abstracts. Includes many full text scholarly journals. Provides company profiles for the world's 5,000 largest companies
Help (pdf)

Terms & Conditions
CIAO : Columbia International Affairs Online (1991 - present)
Published research on international affairs from university research institutes, NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, articles and policy briefs.
Help (pdf)
Digital National Security Archive
De-classified U.S. government documents organised into collections covering world events and U.S policy from WWII onwards.
The Library has full text access to these collections only:
China and the US from hostility to engagement, 1960-1998
Terrorism and US policy, 1968-2002
United States and the Two Koreas: 1969 - 2000
CIA Family Jewels Indexed
 
Early American Imprints Series 1, Digital Evans (1639-1800)
Full text of 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides published in America between 1639-1800.
Terms & conditions
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
A bibliographic index which is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Terms & conditions
Film and Television Literature Index via Ebsco
References articles, reviews, magazines, reports, books and other research material on film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography and the technical aspects.
Terms & Conditions
FIAF : International Film Archive Database (1972 - present)

References articles from academic and popular film journals.
Terms & Conditions
HeinOnline
You may not download or print more than 200 pages per session
Full-text legal journals and other legal documents predominantly US, also includes major international publications, U.S. Presidential Library, Pentagon Papers
HeinOnline Help

FAQ
Libraries Australia
Searches the combined catalogues of Australian libraries and also includes access to other major catalogues and repositories. Australian content
Help
Library of Congress
Library of Congress is a gateway to historical contemporary sources on American history and life. Access to primary documents, photographic material and images relevant to many aspects of US studies.
 
Nineteenth Century in Print : Books and Periodicals
Freely available; a selection of full text books and magazines published in the United States during the nineteenth century, primarily during the second half of the century.
 
Scopus
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Terms & conditions

Interactive Tutorials
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - present)
References articles, conference papers, books and web resources on sociology and other related social science disciplines. Useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles in Sociology.
Terms & conditions

(pdf)
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge

Contains Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-, Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975. It allows the identification of key articles in a discipline and to search by cited reference, that is to trace references that refer to a particular work or author.
Terms & conditions
Opinion Polls  
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at the University of Connecticut is "the largest library of public opinion data in the world."
 

Back to top