Contact Us / Find Us University of Sydney Library RSS feeds Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

Veterinary AND ANIMAL ScienceS Databases



Key databases for Veterinary Science  
Medline via ovidSP or via ISI Web of Knowledge (1966 - present)
General medical database.
Topics covered: General Veterinary Surgery, Domestic animals, Cats, Dogs, Pharmacology, Anaesthesia, Animal Diseases, Zoonoses, Ethics
Terms & conditions
CAB Abstracts via ISI Web of Knowledge (1910 - present)
Agriculture and veterinary science database. This database covers local and international material on Agriculture, Animal, Veterinary , Plant and Environmental Sciences, Human Health, Food and Nutrition, Leisure and Tourism, Microbiology and Parasitology.
Terms & conditions
Zoological Record (1864 – Present)
Animal biology database.
Topics covered: Exotic Animals, Wild Fauna, Native Animals, Reproduction, Genetics, Ecology, Conservation, Parasitology, Animal Behaviour
Terms & conditions  
BIOSIS Previews via ISI Web of Knowledge (1926 - present)
Main biological sciences database.
Topics covered: Exotic Animals, Wild Fauna, Zoonoses, Anatomy and Physiology, Microbiology, Reproduction, Ethics, Parasitology
Terms & conditions

BIOSIS on Web of Knowledge
Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge (1945-present)
Citation database covering all disciplines, and works cited by other papers.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials
More databases useful for Veterinary Science (A - Z)  
AANRO: Australian Agriculture and Natural Resources Online
A database covering Australian agriculture and natural resources, including journal articles, government publications and reports, and research papers.
Topics covered: Agricultural Animals, Horses, Cattle, Pigs, Sheep, Meat Production, Biosecurity, Conservation. Australian content
 
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts via Proquest (1971 - present)
Topics covered: Aquaculture, Oceanography, Fish, Marine Mammals.
Terms & conditions

Catalyst
Important: Logout out of Catalyst and if you link through to Martindale, close its window when finished.
Catalyst provides quick, easy access to the popular AusDI Independent Drug Monographs, pharmaceutical company product information (PI), consumer medicine information (CMI) leaflets, drug product images, a product identifier module with convenient links to your choice of drug interaction system(s). The Australian independent drug monographs, originally published in the popular AusDI product, include full-text, evidence-based drug and drug-class monographs. Australian content
 
Conference Papers Index via Proquest
A useful resource for finding conference papers as these are not generally included in other databases.
Terms & conditions

Current Contents Connectvia ISI Web of Knowledge
A quick and easy way of keeping up to date with material published in your subject area.
Terms & conditions

Tutorials

CCC Tutorial

Bookmarking the database
Embase.com
A major pharmacological, biomedical and drug information database - the European equivalent of Medline. Contains a large number of full text articles from journals published worldwide.
Terms & conditions

Video Tutorials

Quick Reference Guide
ENDANGER: Threatened Species in Australia via Informit Online (1960 - present)
Covers all threatened Australian plants and animals and includes published and unpublished material. Australian content
Terms & conditions  
Factiva.com (mid-1980s - present)
Full-text news, commentary, pictures and media transcripts from Austrailan and overseas media sources, including the Sydney Morning Herald.
15 concurrent users only. Also use Proquest Newsstand databases for international & recent Australian news coverage. Australian content
Quick Search Tips


Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine.
 
Grazfeed
Grazfeed allows the calculation of the energy and protein requirements of sheep and cattle grazing a particular pasture or lot feed.
Available at Badham and Camden Libraries only. Australian content
 
Invasive Species Compendium Beta
This is an open access reference work covering recognition, biology, distribution, impact and management of the world's invasive plants and animals. It currently covers over 1,500 species with basic summary and detailed datasheets. You can also access over 800 full text articles and 65,000 abstract summaries, with plans to add 10,000 more by the end of 2011. More information
Terms & conditions
Journal Citation Reportsvia ISI Web of Knowledge
Analytical information on journals such as impact factor and citation frequency.
Terms & conditions

Bookmarking the database

Cookie settings for JCR

Impact Factor & Immediacy Index
Livestock Library
Searches Australian industry and government sites for information on our beef and sheep industry.Australian content
 
MIMS Online
Important: please close your browser down to end your MIMS session & enable other users to access MIMS.
An Australian pharmaceutical database. It offers access to information on prescription and non-prescription drugs.

Also try Catalyst, a generic-based drug information resource. It covers a very comprehensive range of drugs including many over the counter (OTC) and hospital use only products. Australian content
Terms & conditions
National Agricultural Library (US) Agricola
A North American agriculture, food and natural resources database.
 
NetLibrary
eBooks covering a large range of topics including agriculture, food and natural resources.

Terms & conditions
Proquest Newsstand databases
Search a wide range of international and Australian newspapers in ANZ Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand, and Proquest Newsstand. ANZ Newsstand covers Australian and New Zealand newspapers published by Fairfax Australia and News Ltd, AAP newswires and ABC transcripts.
Key titles included: The Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Australian (2001- ), Canberra Times (21/5/2007 -), Courier Mail (Feb 2001 -), Sun Herald (1/9/1996 - ), Sunday Age (1/9/1996 - ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1/8/1996). Content list.
Use Factiva for access to ANZ titles prior to these dates. Australian content
Terms & conditions
PsycINFO via OvidSP (1806 - present)
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes literature from disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
Terms & Conditions
PubMed
PubMed for handhelds
National Library of Medicine's free online public access to Medline. See also Medline (Web of Knowledge).
Page expired message
SciFinder Web Version
International chemistry journal articles, conferences, books, reports, patents within the Chemical Abstracts database; Chemical Abstracts from 1907, and Medline from 1966. Subject coverage includes chemical engineering, chemistry, biochemistry, pharmacy, pharmacology, agricultural chemistry, food science and medicine.

Note: New users must register before using the web version. Your UniKey login is required for registration.

This database can only be used by staff and students of the University of Sydney.
Note: Google Chrome not supported. Scifinder System Requirements
More info

How to Guides

Tutorials
Scopus (1841 - present)
Citation database covering all disciplines, works cited by other papers.
Terms & conditions

Interactive Tutorials
VSPO: Veterinary Systemic Pathology Online
Off-campus access
On-campus access
The VSPO is an online series of 800 diagnostic pathology cases developed by the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology (AFIP) and provides a wide range of high quality pathology training material for veterinary pathology.
 
Woolwise
Covers all aspects of wool and the Australian wool industry.
Available at Badham and Camden Libraries only Australian content
 

See also:

Back to top