Law Databases
![]()
Return to
Law Library page
| A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z |
Law Databases by Type
| Journal Databases and News Services | Comprehensive legal Research | Full Text Books and Loose Leaf Collections |
| International Legal Resources |
| Key databases for Law | ||
|---|---|---|
| AGIS Plus Text : Attorney General's Information Service (1975 - present)
References journal articles, government documents, publications from non profit organizations and law reform commissions, on all aspects of law in Australia, New Zealand and the Asia-Pacific. Full-text for selected publications from 1999.
|
Help | |
| AustLII: Australasian Legal Information Institute
Free access to Australasian legal materials. Includes legislation, decisions of courts and tribunals and treaties. Also some secondary materials including journals and law reform commission reports. Some international legal materials also available.
|
Help | |
| CCH Online
This database includes full text of many loose-leaf services published by CCH. Full text of commentary, case law and legislation from CCH Australia Ltd. Covers many legal practice areas arranged by subject heading.
|
Help | |
| HeinOnline
Full-text legal journals and other legal documents predominantly US, also includes major international publications and some Australia Law reviews. Also includes English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1865) |
Help | |
| Law Book Online
Provides access to a collection of Australian legal materials, incluging law reports, journals and loose-leaf titles. Includes the case citator Firstpoint and Laws of Australia.
|
Help
|
|
| LexisNexis AU
Access to the Cases and Legislation, Legal Commentary and sources for specific practice areas. Includes the case citator CaseBase, Halsbury's Laws of Australia, reported and unreported judgments, and full text journal articles from selected journals Browser settings
|
Help | |
| Lexis.com
Full text legislation, caselaw and journal articles from the U.S. and other jurisdictions (including Europe, U.K and Australasia) |
Help with browsers other than Internet Explorer | |
| Westlaw
Full text legislation, caselaw and journal articles from the U.S. and other jurisdictions (including Europe, U.K and Australasia) |
Westlaw QuickGuide | |
| Cases | ||
| AustLII: Australasian Legal Information Institute
Free access to Australasian legal materials. Includes legislation, decisions of courts and tribunals and treaties. Also some secondary materials including journals and law reform commission reports. Some international legal materials also available.
|
Help | |
| Australian Current Law - Reporter via LexisNexis AU
Provides digests of judgments from the High Court, the Federal Court and the State Supreme courts, as well as important decisions from the Family Court, Federal Magistrate's Court, AAT and selected tribunals. Coverage extends back to 1976 for cases and to 1991 for legislation.
|
||
| Casebase via LexisNexis AU
Australian case citator providing details of where a case has been reported and cases where the main case has been considered. Also provides subject access to cases and journal articles which discuss a specific case.
|
Helpsheet | |
| Firstpoint via Law Book Online Online
Combining Australian Case Citator Plus and The Australian Digest, this database cites Australian reported cases and summarises Australian case law developments.
|
Helpsheet | |
|
Law Reports - A-Z
Alphabetical list of Australian and New Zealand Online Law Reports |
||
|
Lawlink
New South Wales Court and Tribunal Decisions (NSW Attorney-General's Department)
|
Help | |
|
Free Web Law
Links to free case law sites via jurisdiction |
||
| Legislation | ||
| AustLII: Australasian Legal Information Institute
Free access to Australasian legal materials. Includes legislation, decisions of courts and tribunals and treaties. Also some secondary materials including journals and law reform commission reports. Some international legal materials also available.
|
Help | |
| Australian Current Law - Legislation
ACL Legislation alerts you to the latest amendments to all Acts, Regulations, Rules and other statutory instruments across all Australian jurisdictions. Coverage extends back to 1976 for cases and to 1991 for legislation.
|
||
| Billsnet
Free access to Commonwealth Bills, EMs and Parliamentary Debates.
|
||
| Capital Monitor's University Intranet
Parliamentary and Legal information from federal and selected State Parliaments. Includes Commonwealth and NSW bills, Commonwealth Government gazettes, tax rulings, acts assented. Full-text available for many publications.
|
Terms and agreement
Content & coverage |
|
| ComLaw
Official source for the full-text of Commonwealth legislation and the Federal Register of Legislative Instruments (FRLI).
|
Help | |
|
Lawlex
Australian legislation, (plus NSW, Qld, NT and Victoria) from Anstat.
|
help | |
| New South Wales Parliament. Bills list.
Free access to NSW Bills, Explanatory notes and Parliamentary Debates.
|
||
| New South Wales Parliamentary Counsel's Office
Official website for New South Wales legislation.
|
||
| Timebase
Australian Commonwealth and State legislation with Caselinks.
|
Help
|
|
|
Free Web Law
Links to free legislation sites via jurisdiction |
||
| Journal databases and News Sources | AGIS Plus Text : Attorney General's Information Service (1975 - present)
References journal articles, government documents, publications from non profit organizations and law reform commissions, on all aspects of law in Australia, New Zealand and the Asia-Pacific. Full-text for selected publications from 1999.
|
Help |
| APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs - Full Text via Informit (1978-present)
References journal articles and other published material in the social sciences and humanities. Selected full-text from 1994/1995.
|
Help | |
| Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection Via CSA Database Platform.
Includes the full-text of journals published by SAGE, covering the subjects of Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence. |
Help | |
| Current Law Journal Content
Free access to the tables of contents pages of selected Australian and international legal journals through Washington & Lee Law School. |
||
| HeinOnline
Full-text legal journals and other legal documents predominantly US, also includes major international publications and some Australia Law reviews. Also includes English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1865) |
Help | |
| Informit Legal Journal Index Library
Includes AFPD - Australian Federal Police Digest; CINCH - Australian Criminology databases; Family Plus; SNIPER - Searchable Networked Intellectual Property Electronic Resource and TAXABS - Australian Taxation Abstracts Database.
|
Help | |
| Factiva.com (mid-1980s - present)
Full-text news, commentary, pictures and media transcripts from Austrailan and overseas media sources Access to the Australian Financial Review and BRW
|
Serach Tips
Company search tips |
|
| Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals via OvidSP
Provides access to worldwide legal literature, covering all forms of foreign (non-Anglo-American)law, including comparative law. Includes British and U.S. articles. |
Terms & conditions | |
| Index to Legal Periodicals via Lexis.com (1978 - present)
Indexing legal lterature, mainly from the United States, includes material from Australia, Great Britain, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand and Puerto Rico. |
Access problems Help with browsers other than Internet Explorer |
|
| International Institute for the Sociology of Law - Journal Articles
a free bibliography |
||
| Kluwer Law Online
A collection of Kluwer law journals spanning a vast array of legal topics. |
||
| LegalTrac (1980 - present)
Indexes law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Includes some Australian content and some full-text articles. |
Terms and conditions | |
| Legal Journals Index via Westlaw
Legal Journal Index indexes articles from legal journals published in the United Kingdom and Europe as well as journals covering topics pertaining to the laws of the European Community and its Member States. |
||
| Mediascan via Informit
Topical subject index for Australian newspapers: Sydney Morning Herald (1995-), The Age (1991-), The Australian (1991-), The Herald Sun (1991-), The Bulletin (1991-), The Courier Mail (1995-), Sunday Mail (1994-), Adelaide Advertiser (1997-), West Australian (1996-1997).
|
Help | |
| ResearchNow - Berkeley Electronic Press Journals
Includes access to the Berkeley Electronic Press Journals and to working paper series, preprints, monographs, and other content from institutional and subject-matter repositories hosted by bepress. |
Terms & conditions | |
| Westlaw's Journals and Law Reviews
select the World Journals tab at the top |
Help | |
|
World News Connectione
A large database of news articles, conference proceedings, and television and radio broadcasts from non-U.S. sources. |
Help | |
| Comprehensive Legal Research | ||
| Australian Legal Words and Phrasese via LexisNexis AU
Provides a comprehensive listing of words and phrases which have either been defined in legislation or judicially interpreted. The publication provides details of where the word or phrase has been defined and often the context in which the term is defined. Browser settings
|
Help | |
| Halsbury's Laws of Australia via LexisNexis AU
Statements of legal principle covering all jurisdictions in Australia. Browse categories or sub-categories or search by legal principle, keyword, phrase, case or legislation. Updated by Australian Current Law: Reporter. Browser settings
|
Help | |
| Laws of Australia via LBC Online
Statements of legal principle covering all jurisdictions in Australia. Browse categories or sub-categories or search by legal principle, keyword, phrase, case or legislation. Updated by Australian Legal Monthly Digest |
Help | |
| bepress Legal Repository
The bepress Legal Repository is a network of law-related research materials. Law schools, research units, institutes, centers, think tanks, conferences, and other subject-appropriate groups post materials to specific publications (e.g., the USC Working Paper Series. |
|
|
| Google Scholar
An academic version of the famous search engine. Also useful for links to references which cite other academic articles. Using this link via the Library website means you can get the full-text of articles in journals to which the Library subscribes.
|
||
| Index to Common Law Festschriften
The Index to Common Law Festschriften is the culmination of a three-year project funded by the Law Foundation and undertaken by a small team at the University of Auckland Library and Law School under the direction of Professor Mike Taggart. Includes bibliographic entries on the literature of the common law. Includes English and foreign language entries. |
||
| Legal Scholarship Network (LSN) - University of Sydney Law School Legal Studies Research Paper Series
This homepage forms a centralised database of the scholarship of all Sydney Law School faculty members, who post their work on SSRN. Part of the Legal Scholarship Network. To obtain password click on 'Free Registration'
|
||
| NELLCO Legal Scholarship Repository
Free access to working papers, reports, lecture series, workshop presentations, and other scholarship created by faculty at NELLCO member schools such as Yale, Cornell |
|
|
| Full text books and Loose Leaf Collections | ||
| CCH Online
This database includes full text of many loose-leaf services published by CCH.
|
Help | |
| Criminal Law Via Law Book Online
A practical guide NSW criminal law. Includes Criminal Law (NSW) and Criminal Procedure (NSW).
|
Help | |
| IEL Labour Law Online
This is online version of the 36 volume looseleaf: International Encyclopaedia of Industrial Labour Law and Industrial Relations. Includes International Monographs, National Monographs, European Works Councils, Legislation, Case Law and Codex. |
Terms & Conditions
|
|
| Making of Modern Law
Fully searchable legal treatises comprising over 21,000 works from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries on British Commonwealth and American law. These include casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches. |
Terms & conditions | |
| Riley Solicitors Manual - online via LexisNexis AU
Includes relevant legislation and commentary on the regulation of the legal profession, professional responsibility and ethics for solicitors.
|
Browser Settings
Help |
|
| Taxpoint
A number of loose-leaf services relating to taxation are available on this database.
|
Help | |
| Uniform Evidence Law via Law Book Online
A practical guide to the New South Wales and Commonwealth Evidence Acts.
|
Help | |
| International Legal Resources | ||
| Asian Law Online
A free bibliography from the Asian Law Centre, University of Melbourne. English language materials on Asian laws (books, chapters in books, journal articles and theses) |
||
|
Australian Treaties Library - via AustLII
The Australian Treaties Library includes treaty texts, indexes, status lists, and explanatory material. Material is provided by the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade.
|
||
| Casetrack
UK database providing access to full text judgements from a variety of UK courts, plus selected judgements from the European Court of Human Rights and the European Court of Justice. A password is required. |
||
|
EUR-Lex
Free database of the European Community's legislation, caselaw and publications |
Help | |
| HeinOnline
This database includes the Foreign & International Law Resources Database, Philip C. Jessup Library and the Treaties and Agreements Library. Also includes English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1865) and Statutes of the Realm (1235-1713). |
Help | |
|
Human rights case digest
A digest of summaries of cases from the European Court of Human Rights |
||
|
International Law in Domestic Courts
Covers international law as applied in the domestic courts of around 70 jurisdictions. |
Terms and conditions | |
| Justis
Justis 2.0 is the online legal library of UK, EU and Irish law dating from 1163 to the present day. It is integrated with JustCite, a legal reference search engine, which provides a fully cross-referenced index to a comprehensive collection of authoritative UK and European legal information. |
Help | |
| Lexis.com
Full text legislation, caselaw and journal articles from the U.S. and other jurisdictions (including Europe, U.K and Australasia) |
Help with browsers other than Internet Explorer | |
| Loislaw
American case law and legislation, plus libraries of US texts and journals by topic and by jurisdiction password required |
Help | |
|
RIA Worldwide Tax Law
Covers major laws including income and corporate tax law, VAT, corporation law, trust law, commercial codes, environmental law, money laundering and other regulations affecting financial transactions, labor law, and bankruptcy. password required |
||
| SourceOECD
Full text database of all OECD publications and databases |
||
| Tax Planning International Library
Includes profiles of 40 key tax regimes, and includes access to documents, forms, treaties. Each country profile gives you information and practical guidance on tax and company structures, including questions such as how to avoid double-taxation, anti-avoidance measures and how taxation of branches differs from that of subsidiaries. Also provides overviews and comparisons of international developments and tax regimes. |
terms and conditions | |
| United Nations Treaty Collection
Website providing full text access to all treaties and international agreements entered into by any Member of the United Nations. The collection is organised into five categories or databases scroll down to 'Access to Databases' Not available off campus |
Treaty Reference Guide UN Treaty FAQs |
|
| Westlaw
Full text legislation, caselaw and journal articles from the U.S. and other jurisdictions (including Europe, U.K and Australasia) |
Westlaw QuickGuide | |
|
WorldLII (World Legal Information Institute) via AustLII
Provides free access to primary and some secondary legal materials from overseas jurisdictions. Includes International law databses. |
Back to top

