Government Subject Databases
The University of Sydney Library provides access to a large number of databases for University staff and students. A full list can be found at Databases and Electronic Resources. The following relate to the study of government, politics, public policy, international relations and related subjects.
Databases
ABI Inform
ABI Inform is a database of bibliographic references and abstracts, with partial full text provision, for journal articles covering business, industry and management.
ABI Inform is a database of bibliographic references and abstracts, with partial full text provision, for journal articles covering business, industry and management.
AGIS: Attorney General's Information Service
and
AGIS Plus Text (Includes the full text of most of the journals in the database.)
Use AGIS and AGIS Plus Text to find references on Australian topics with a legal content.
Subject coverage includes all aspects of law including administrative law, banking, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright law, criminal law, environmental law, family law, human rights, international law, legal aid, and trade practices.
It is a bibliographic database and source documents include over 120 Australian, New Zealand and Pacific law journals, and selected articles from major law journals from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom.
and
AGIS Plus Text (Includes the full text of most of the journals in the database.)
Use AGIS and AGIS Plus Text to find references on Australian topics with a legal content.
Subject coverage includes all aspects of law including administrative law, banking, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright law, criminal law, environmental law, family law, human rights, international law, legal aid, and trade practices.
It is a bibliographic database and source documents include over 120 Australian, New Zealand and Pacific law journals, and selected articles from major law journals from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom.
APAIS: Australian Public Affairs Information Service
and
APA-FT: Australian Public Affairs Full Text (Includes the full text of many of the journals in the database.)
Use APAIS and APA-FT to find references on Australian topics.
This is the main database for Australian politics and public affairs.
The subjects covered are current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics, social sciences.
The geographic coverage is Australia.
It is a bibliographic index to journal articles, newspaper articles, conference papers and books in English.
Information about APAIS
and
APA-FT: Australian Public Affairs Full Text (Includes the full text of many of the journals in the database.)
Use APAIS and APA-FT to find references on Australian topics.
This is the main database for Australian politics and public affairs.
The subjects covered are current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics, social sciences.
The geographic coverage is Australia.
It is a bibliographic index to journal articles, newspaper articles, conference papers and books in English.
Australian bureau of Statistics: ABS
The Australian Bureau of Statistics is Australia's official statistical organisation. The site provides access to the full range of ABS statistical and reference information, including National and State-based statistics, and census data. Statistics are updated weekdays at 11:30am.
The Australian Bureau of Statistics is Australia's official statistical organisation. The site provides access to the full range of ABS statistical and reference information, including National and State-based statistics, and census data. Statistics are updated weekdays at 11:30am.
Asia-Studies Full-text Online
Asia-Studies Full-text Online brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 53 countries from the Asia-Pacific region on a range of business, government, economic, and social issues. Subject coverage include finance, trade, environment, human resources development, best practices in government, fisheries, tourism, education and women's studies. The average study is 100 pages long and contains statistics, research, analysis, and forecasts. Most contain tables, charts, and/or graphs. Country coverage includes all of Asia, Australia/New Zealand, Pacific Rim countries in the Americas, and Pacific islands. Users can browse by country to find country-specific annual statistical overviews. Multi-country and Asia-wide comparisons are also available.
Asia-Studies Full-text Online brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 53 countries from the Asia-Pacific region on a range of business, government, economic, and social issues. Subject coverage include finance, trade, environment, human resources development, best practices in government, fisheries, tourism, education and women's studies. The average study is 100 pages long and contains statistics, research, analysis, and forecasts. Most contain tables, charts, and/or graphs. Country coverage includes all of Asia, Australia/New Zealand, Pacific Rim countries in the Americas, and Pacific islands. Users can browse by country to find country-specific annual statistical overviews. Multi-country and Asia-wide comparisons are also available.
Business Source Premier
This databases indexes and abstracts 3350 business and management journals in such areas as management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting and international business. It provides full text of more than 2800 scholarly publications including the world's top management and marketing journals, many back to 1922 or the first issue. Also provides company profiles for the world's 5,000 largest companies, country economic profiles and reports from EIU, DRI-WEFA, ICON Group and CountryWatch.
This databases indexes and abstracts 3350 business and management journals in such areas as management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting and international business. It provides full text of more than 2800 scholarly publications including the world's top management and marketing journals, many back to 1922 or the first issue. Also provides company profiles for the world's 5,000 largest companies, country economic profiles and reports from EIU, DRI-WEFA, ICON Group and CountryWatch.
Capital Monitor
"Capital Monitor's University Intranet" provides current and historical legal and political and regulatory information. Updated throughout the day, Capital Monitor contains Federal Bills Monitor, Acts Assented 1998-, Proclamations 1997-, Tax Rulings 2000-, High Court rulings 1998-, Budget, 1998 and 2001 Elections, and their Canberra Newsletter. There is also a NSW Bills Monitor, Acts Assented 1999- , and NSW Newsletter. Newsletters contain Press Statements, Policy Changes, New Regulations, Orders, Bills etc. It also tracks information by selected Topics.
Please note: the subscription does not include Capital Monitor Push features which provide email alerts on selected subjects..
"Capital Monitor's University Intranet" provides current and historical legal and political and regulatory information. Updated throughout the day, Capital Monitor contains Federal Bills Monitor, Acts Assented 1998-, Proclamations 1997-, Tax Rulings 2000-, High Court rulings 1998-, Budget, 1998 and 2001 Elections, and their Canberra Newsletter. There is also a NSW Bills Monitor, Acts Assented 1999- , and NSW Newsletter. Newsletters contain Press Statements, Policy Changes, New Regulations, Orders, Bills etc. It also tracks information by selected Topics.
Please note: the subscription does not include Capital Monitor Push features which provide email alerts on selected subjects..
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. Updated monthly.
Note: To view full text off-campus, click CIAO remote access button and register.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. Updated monthly.
Note: To view full text off-campus, click CIAO remote access button and register.
Econlit
Econlit indexes scholarly journals, books and papers relating to the whole field of economics. Topics would include - financial and international economics, electronic commerce, trade, labour relations and industry economics.
Econlit indexes scholarly journals, books and papers relating to the whole field of economics. Topics would include - financial and international economics, electronic commerce, trade, labour relations and industry economics.
Expanded Academic Index ASAP
Use this database to find both scholarly and popular material on most topics related to government and public policy.
The subjects covered are humanities, communication studies, social sciences, science and technology, women studies, sociology, environment, public affairs.
The geographic coverage is international
It indexes and abstracts over 1500 journals, and includes the full-text of 520 journals indexed (Last 3 years)
Information about Expanded Academic Index ASAP
Use this database to find both scholarly and popular material on most topics related to government and public policy.
The subjects covered are humanities, communication studies, social sciences, science and technology, women studies, sociology, environment, public affairs.
The geographic coverage is international
It indexes and abstracts over 1500 journals, and includes the full-text of 520 journals indexed (Last 3 years)
Factiva
The database contains more than 8,000 overseas and Australian newspaper and newswire publications and more than 9,000 web sites. For Australian news sources, the Fairfax publications archive is 13-22 years [SMH 1986+, no full text for AFR or BRW] and the News Limited archive is 8 years [Australian 1996+]. There is also a briefer archive on media transcripts for the ABC, SBS and Channel 9 (up to 1 year archive). Overseas media transcript archives are longer (up to 5 years). Pictures of major news events and reports also are available.
This database also contains Australian business magazines and trade journals and is useful for information about the impacts of Australian government policy on business.
The database contains more than 8,000 overseas and Australian newspaper and newswire publications and more than 9,000 web sites. For Australian news sources, the Fairfax publications archive is 13-22 years [SMH 1986+, no full text for AFR or BRW] and the News Limited archive is 8 years [Australian 1996+]. There is also a briefer archive on media transcripts for the ABC, SBS and Channel 9 (up to 1 year archive). Overseas media transcript archives are longer (up to 5 years). Pictures of major news events and reports also are available.
This database also contains Australian business magazines and trade journals and is useful for information about the impacts of Australian government policy on business.
Family & Society Plus (includes the full-text of many documents)
This database is good for finding materials on Australian government social policy.
The subjects covered are focussed on Australian families. Some examples are children and child development; adolescence and youth; the aged and services to the aged; marriage and divorce; adoption and foster care; child abuse and domestic violence; child care; family economics; counselling and therapy; employment and unemployment; family law; health; housing; minority families; population studies; social change and social issues; social and community
The geographic coverage is Australia
It includes bibliographic references to articles on research, policy and practice issues. Source material is in English.
This database is good for finding materials on Australian government social policy.
The subjects covered are focussed on Australian families. Some examples are children and child development; adolescence and youth; the aged and services to the aged; marriage and divorce; adoption and foster care; child abuse and domestic violence; child care; family economics; counselling and therapy; employment and unemployment; family law; health; housing; minority families; population studies; social change and social issues; social and community
The geographic coverage is Australia
It includes bibliographic references to articles on research, policy and practice issues. Source material is in English.
IFS - International Financial Statistics
This time series database, from the International Monetary Fund, provides a wide range of financial and economic indicators. Data covered includes - exchange rates, IMF accounts, interest rates, government finance, consumer prices, reserves, national accounts and balance of payments, some export and import data.
This time series database, from the International Monetary Fund, provides a wide range of financial and economic indicators. Data covered includes - exchange rates, IMF accounts, interest rates, government finance, consumer prices, reserves, national accounts and balance of payments, some export and import data.
Legaltrac
International coverage of legal journals, produced in U.S. Search results may include full text via Ingenta.
International coverage of legal journals, produced in U.S. Search results may include full text via Ingenta.
MAIS: Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies
Use this database to find material on Australian government multicultural and immigration policies.
The subjects covered include all aspects of multicultural and immigration issues in Australia
The geographic coverage is Australia with some international content relevant to Australia.
It includes bibliographic references to articles, reports and books Print version: MAIS Index: entries from the Multicultural Australia Information System.
Use this database to find material on Australian government multicultural and immigration policies.
The subjects covered include all aspects of multicultural and immigration issues in Australia
The geographic coverage is Australia with some international content relevant to Australia.
It includes bibliographic references to articles, reports and books Print version: MAIS Index: entries from the Multicultural Australia Information System.
MediaScan
Media Scan provides selective topical subject indexing in the following Australian newspapers: Sydney Morning Herald (1995-), The Age (1991-), The Australian (1991-), The Herald Sun (1991-), The Bulletin (1991-), The Courier Mail (1995-), Sunday Mail (1994-), Adelaide Advertiser (1997), West Australian (1996-1997). Indexed are: All page 1 articles (except Sport), All features, editorials, opinions and commentaries, and items on contentious issues, research, new technology, IT, education, Letters to the Editor, cartoons, main international stories, and reports, statistics, opinion polls and research papers.
Media Scan provides selective topical subject indexing in the following Australian newspapers: Sydney Morning Herald (1995-), The Age (1991-), The Australian (1991-), The Herald Sun (1991-), The Bulletin (1991-), The Courier Mail (1995-), Sunday Mail (1994-), Adelaide Advertiser (1997), West Australian (1996-1997). Indexed are: All page 1 articles (except Sport), All features, editorials, opinions and commentaries, and items on contentious issues, research, new technology, IT, education, Letters to the Editor, cartoons, main international stories, and reports, statistics, opinion polls and research papers.
PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service
This is the main database for government and public policy. The subjects covered are contemporary social, economic and political issues, social sciences, business, public policy, government, political science, law, international relations, public administration.
The geographic coverage is international.
It is a bibliographic index to journal articles, government documents, reports, books, year books in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish.
Information about PAIS
This is the main database for government and public policy. The subjects covered are contemporary social, economic and political issues, social sciences, business, public policy, government, political science, law, international relations, public administration.
The geographic coverage is international.
It is a bibliographic index to journal articles, government documents, reports, books, year books in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish.
Social Services Abstracts
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,500 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Information about Social Services Abstracts
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,500 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
SocioFile
Bibliographic references and abstracts to literature of sociology and the related social sciences including the topics aging, AIDS, alcohol abuse, anthropology, cities, communications, counselling, crime, culture, death, demography, drugs, and education. Source material from over 30 languages.
Information about Social Services Abstracts
Bibliographic references and abstracts to literature of sociology and the related social sciences including the topics aging, AIDS, alcohol abuse, anthropology, cities, communications, counselling, crime, culture, death, demography, drugs, and education. Source material from over 30 languages.
SourceOECD
All major OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) documents, periodicals and databases are available online. Databases include Social Expenditure Database, OECD Main Economic Indicators, OECD Economic Outlook among others.
All major OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) documents, periodicals and databases are available online. Databases include Social Expenditure Database, OECD Main Economic Indicators, OECD Economic Outlook among others.
United Nations Treaty Collection
Website providing full text access to all treaties and international agreements entered into by any Member of the United Nations. The collection is organised into five[5] categories or databases.
Website providing full text access to all treaties and international agreements entered into by any Member of the United Nations. The collection is organised into five[5] categories or databases.
Web of Science
This database covers not only the physical sciences, but all aspects of human knowledge. It contains Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index for the years:1985-2000 data, plus all 2001 year-to-date weekly updates. All the key scholarly journals are indexed in this database. There is also the capacity to search by cited reference - that is to trace references that refer to a particular work or author.
This database covers not only the physical sciences, but all aspects of human knowledge. It contains Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index for the years:1985-2000 data, plus all 2001 year-to-date weekly updates. All the key scholarly journals are indexed in this database. There is also the capacity to search by cited reference - that is to trace references that refer to a particular work or author.
World News Connection (WNC)
World News Connection (WNC) information is compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.
World News Connection (WNC) information is compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
The following database is not available via the world wide web, but is networked in the Library and is accessible via the Desktop under Additional Databases
Election Statistics 1998, including 1993 and 1996
See also
Political Economy Databases
Economic Statistics Databases
Law Databases

