Physics Databases

This guide lists the relevant databases for Physics. A full list of databases is available from the database home page.

All databases listed are available via the Internet. To access a database, click on the connect link of the corresponding database. If you are using an Internet Service Provider other than the University of Sydney you will either need to use the Remote Access System or apply for a userid and password.

Additional information relating to physics can be found on the Physics Subject Guide.

Database name Search the database Helpsheet Full text
Inspec 1969- via Ovid
Contains bibliographic references and abstracts to more than 4,200 journals and more than 2,000 conference proceddings, books, and reports on topics including physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control and information technology.information about Inspec
Open database
   
Current Contents Connect via ISI Web of Knowledge
CCC is the same database as Current Contents on the Ovid platform. It is a bibliographic and alerting service. It indexes more than 3800 science, social science, arts and humanities journals. It provides access to the table of contents of journals together with complete bibliographic information about each article
Open database
CCC Tutorial
CCC Help (printable version)
Bookmarking the database
No
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a Web database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet Postgraduates and academics may request a password to view the full text of unsubscribed titles on ScienceDirect
Open database
x Some
Web of Science
Contains Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1985. Updated weekly, it allows users to search current and retrospective information from nearly 8,500 journals, across more than 230 disciplines. Also allows cited reference searching to track a paper's influence. Links to full text on some other platforms.
Open database ISI Helpsheet

Citation searching

Bookmarking the database
Links to some full text
IEEE Xplore
Access to approximately 108 Journal titles (IEEE All Society Periodicals package) and to 130 conference titles (IEEE Proceedings Order Plan. The Library has full text access to IEEE titles, from 1998 only.
IEEE publications include subjects such as electrical engineering, computer science, biotechnology, telecommunicatons, ocean research, aviation, energy and photonics. No userid and password available for off-campus access. Off-campus access via Remote Access system only.
open database   Yes
Expanded Academic Index ASAP
Contains an index and abstracts to over 1500 journals including the full-text of 520 journals indexed (last 3 years). Topics covered include humanities, communication studies, social science, science and technology, women's studies, sociology, environment and public affairs information about Expanded Academic Index
Open database
x Some
Dissertation Abstracts
Contains more than 1.6 million entries. An authoritative service for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. 47,000 new dissertations and 12,000 new theses are added to the database each year. information about Dissertation Abstracts
Open database
x No

x = option not available

Back to top