Electronic databases - General information

What are they for?

Electronic databases can be searched for individual articles and papers by topic or author. If you cannot find an article from your reading list in e-reserve or an e-journal, you should try electronic databases. By searching an appropriate database, you may find other articles on the same topic, or by the same author.

Some of the articles you find will not be available through the library, some will only be available in print, but many can be accessed electronically. This will allow you to find research material on your topic in addition to the articles on your reading list.

Before you start, please refer to the information about off-campus access.

How can I access them?

The most appropriate databases are listed under databases & electronic resources > by subject: project management. All are available online, click the name of the database to access it.

How do I select the most appropriate database?

The database descriptions indicate the subject coverage, date range and whether access to full text is available.

How do I search the database?

Search by keyword or phrase; use truncation; use Boolean operators to combine search terms; search by author or publication. The next part of this tutorial is a brief introduction to database searching.

How can I access the full text of the articles?

After you have searched the database, examine your results. If you are using a full-text database, look for the direct links from the article description to the full text, either in html or pdf format. Examples are ScienceDirect, Business Source Premier, Agile Project Management Online Resource Center. Other databases may have direct links to the full text, and/or links to the library catalogue. Look for 'holdings', 'library holdings','check University of Sydney holdings', 'check for holdings' or similar captions. If the library has an electronic subscription for the journal and the year/volume/issue that you require, you can access the journal online. Please refer to notes about electronic journals.

prev page     next page